We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the money”
Review of Fort Bliss Galle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort Bliss Galle
Ranked #3 of 137 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worth the money”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the old fortress. There a lot of restaurants all around. The room is big and for the first time in the region everything work (AC, shower). The hotel is run by 2 young boy who are charming and devoted to make are stay perfect.

Perfect for a couple who want to just be there...

Room Tip: there is a room with a full view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    102
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
154
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bochum, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Thanks to Sagara from the Fort Bliss, We had a very nice stay at the hotel on the 10th and 11th of january 2012. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast was nearly the best on our trip and we had a very good time. The service is very good and 'Mr. Sagara' was really wonderful. Always friendly and helpful, not only because we came in with his friend Mr. Lal.
We recommend the hotel to everyone who likes to stay in the fort of Galle.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The place has potential but it wasn't really thought through when the place was turned to a hotel. The airconditioning unit in my room was installed to take the air from the bathroom, which meant that when you cool the room the bathroom ends up boiling hot. The windows from the bathroom open to the main reception room with no glass, just shutters. The room also has two other windows into the main reception room so you hear everything going on downstairs, including the staff watching sports. The room was full of mosquitos and I asked it to be sprayed, this was clearly not done despite the promises and I spent the night chasing mozzies.
The room looked nice though, bathroom was very nice (except for being boiling hot) and the place very clean.
I was in two minds about booking this or the Fort Printers.... and after popping my head to printers I know I made the wrong choice, it just wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortBlissGalle, Owner at Fort Bliss Galle, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
We sincerely apologise for any inconveniences that you have experienced. The air conditioner has been relocated to a more appropriate place. The window in the bathroom could have been closed easily, a task that the staff would have done for you. Concerning the mosquitoes, a miscommunication had taken place as they would have been pleased to help.Regarding Fort Printers, it is a much bigger establishment so a comparison would be rather unfair. Thank you for your valued comments as it helps us improve and deliver the best possible experience. We do hope you rethink and give us the opportunity of hosting you again on your next visit to Galle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Absolutely loved it! Perfect location, nice small cozy colonial home, spotless rooms and wash room, the boys did a wonderful job on the service. A must you if stay in Galle.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingridpali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Thank-you for a fantastic stay. We booked the entire villa and loved every moment of our stay there. Sagara and Jayanta were awesome hosts and the fresh fruits and juice at breakfast was delicious. Anything we wanted was arranged for us, and the ambiance was just beautiful and relaxing.
Since we a big group of friends we made quite a lot of noise and mess :p but everyone was very accommodating. The free wifi, lcd tv and cable were just added perks - and our rooms were clean and comfortable with absolutely nothing lacking in them.
If anyone of us ever returns we will be sure to stay only at Fort Bliss - loved the decor, the hospitality and the location. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saman Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We love it at Fort Bliss! Sagara and Jayanta welcomed us like long lost friends and family and made us feel at home instantly! The food was the best we've had in sri lanka (and we've tried alot of different food) - the hopper at breakfast was amazing!
This has been the most memorable part of our journey and we will return to Galle and stay here again. Our friends and family will stay too!
We looked at other boutique hotels in Galle and Fort Bliss is far better an experience than the others that may be impersonal. At Fort Bliss you get style, warmth, great people and delicious food! An inspiring place to be- we could have stayed longer!
Thank you for making the last leg of our journey memorable! We will see you again soon and take away fond memories of our stay at Fort Bliss!

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated stylishly. The rooms on the 2nd floor provide views of the fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortBlissGalle, Owner at Fort Bliss Galle, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the delightful review and giving us such positive ratings. We were simply thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Fort Bliss and had such a wonderful holiday. Making the last leg of your holiday a delight was a pleasure and we were overjoyed that you were pleased with the rooms, food and simply the overall experience. The management were glad that you felt so at home and comfortable, and would love to have you back along with your friends and family during your next visit to Galle, Srilanka.

Fort Bliss Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2011

An amazingly designed and articulate hotel that provides people with an unique stay.The house is very luxurious and emits a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achilles373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
521 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#4 of 137 in Galle
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#1 of 137 in Galle
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Bliss Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Bliss Galle

Property: Fort Bliss Galle
Address: 84 Lighthouse Street | Fort, Galle 1992, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Bliss Galle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Bliss Galle, a breath taking Dutch-style colonial villa situated in the paradise Fort of Galle, a UNESCO world heritage site. Overlooking the green swept ramparts and armed with an electrifying sea view, the villa is a sight to behold. Antique furniture alongside intricate Moroccan lamps adorn this exquisitely decorated four bedroom getaway. Modern facilities such as A/C, ceiling fans, hot water, Wi-Fi and cable TV in the lounge area are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort Bliss Galle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing