We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute Luxury and Privacy in Sri Lanka”
Ambassador's House - Entrance at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ambassador's House - Entrance at night
Ambassador's House - Pool and bedrooms Ambassador's House - Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Ambassador's House - Entrance at night
Ambassador's House - Pool and bedrooms
Ambassador's House - Pool
Ambassador's House - Courtyard at dusk
Ambassador's House - Living room at dusk
Ambassador's House - Dinner setting
Ambassador's House - Roof terrace sitting area
Ambassador's House - TV room
Ambassador's House - Master bedroom
Ambassador's House - Master bathroom
Ambassador's House - Guest bedroom one
Ambassador's House - Guest bathroom two
Ambassador's House - Guest bedroom three
Ambassador's House - Guest bathroom three
Ambassador's House - Pool aerial at night
Ambassador's House - Guest bedroom two
Ambassador's House - Guest twin bedroom
Ambassador's House - Chairs below stairs
Ambassador's House - Courtyard tree canopy
Ambassador's House - Entrance veranda at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
redotrip
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Luxury and Privacy in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What an Experience,,,After a Fantastic Safari and Coastal Tour for 6 Days we arrived at Galle Fort to The Ambassadors House. From the time we arrived and were welcomed by Loku and her Staff we were in Heaven. After a detailed tour of this Beautiful 5 Bedroom Residence by Loku were left to relax and enjoy a Swim and explore the House before Lal delivered a tray of Gin and Tonics to us at the Pool.
We were summoned to Dinner around 8pm which was magnificent and after that retired for the Evening.Morning arrived to the Aroma of a Tray of Coffee by the Pool.
Breakfast was server at 8am and again delicious. Jaya our Chef spoke to us after Breakfast to discuss the Dinner Menu for that evening, After the previous nights Feast we decided to leave the arrangements to him for the next 6 days. We chose to stay with Sri Lankan Food throughout and he didn't dissapoint. Every Evening we savoured wonderful 2 and 3 Course Meals. No need for a Menu here, leave it to Chef Jaya. Breakfast choices excellent also.
We explored around the Fort daily so usually returned mid afternoon to enjoy the Pool. Lal was on hand for our Afternoon Coffee and Pre Dinner Gin and Tonic Tray's , always so prompt.
The House was always spotlessly clean and Beds very Comfortable.
We didnt want to Leave !!
A Very Big Thank You to Loku, Lal, Jaya, Yasitha and Kavindu, Superb Service.
We Will Return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad D
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding luxury for a group stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Four nights at Ambassador's house after a week of chaos and traffic traveling around southern Sri Lanka was the perfect end to the trip. The villa has lots of space for everyone to hang out, or get some peace and quiet. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. All of the meals prepared by the chefs were exceptional and there was enough space to eat in a different spot each night! The location is ideal, in a quiet street in the middle of Galle Fort with everything you need within walking distance. Really cannot recommend Ambassador's House enough. We have even tried to book another say, but the dates weren't available!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2017
Thank you so much taking the time to share your high recommendation of Ambassador's House. We are pleased that we gave you the perfect end to your trip in Sri Lanka. Feel free to contact us to check availability for your next holiday. We look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suman_ind...
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ideal for a group stay”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Ambassador's House is a 5 BR property with a spacious siting area Dining facilities and a small private pool. The staff is efficient and cordial, the beds are comfortable and the linen was clean.
Three rooms are on the ground floor and two on the first floor. No lifts there.
The location is close to the water front and also to the tourist specific shopping areas. No of eateries are in close vicinity but the chef at the property is competent and one can have a great meal cooked to perfection.
The only issue which could be a cause of concern for some is the high level of mosquito repellents in use which although a necessity, but lead to some discomfort.
The staff went beyond their call of duty to book seats for us on a whale watching trip at an extremely short notice. They even went on to provide us packed picnic breakfast very early in the morning to ensure we got tastier and more hygienic stuff than what was offered on the ferry.
Overall a surely recommendable rental property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much for your warm words sharing your high recommendation of Ambassador's House. On behalf of Loku and the entire villa staff, we eagerly await your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional. You wouldn’t believe you can stay in a villa like this within the Galle Fort!”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My work colleagues and I should have realised from the name Ambassador’s House (historically once the residence of the Sri Lankan Ambassador to Pakistan, Iraq and Bangladesh we understand!) that we were in for something special, but this villa took our breath away upon entering the gates. The sheer size and majestic nature of the property right in the Galle Fort is one that needs to be seen to be believed!

From the impressive entrance, to the expansive living, dining, and courtyard areas, the property seems to just keep opening up as you continue to walk through and explore. The designer was truly a master of his craft, as every foot of space has been cleverly (and stylishly) utilised to maximise the sense of space for guests to enjoy.

With each room obviously painstakingly cared for with attention to detail in keeping the authenticity of the colonial style of the villa throughout, there were exquisite modern luxury touches added such as a brightly coloured plush lounge with flatscreen TV, and sunbed rooftop lounges overlooking the private pool. The pool! Such an impressive and inviting pool situated in the courtyard, you almost feel as if you are swimming in the glorious water feature of an old romance novel.

We unfortunately only had a short stay, but had a lovely chat with the manager and definitely see ourselves coming back again – and this time bringing with us our family and friends to truly relish in the old style charm of the place! Ambassador’s House is such an impressive property that channels traditional Sri Lanka essence for all its guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The courtyard and private pool
Liked least: Mosquitos were around (but these were in the outdoors of all of Galle Fort)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your warm words detailing your exceptional stay at Ambassador's House. On behalf of Loku and the entire villa staff, we eagerly await your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning house in the heart of Galle”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed at Ambassador's with a group of friends. This is an exceptionally beautiful property, tastefully decorated and well appointed. We were very well looked after by all the staff. The chef was fantastic, and I would definitely recommend sampling the Sri Lankan breakfast (we did so every day!) and at least one Sri Lankan rice and curry feast. All in all, an amazing stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doobaz8
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An excellent stay in one of the best!”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This incredible property situated in a perfect location on Lighthouse Street in Galle Fort is magnificent and is only enhanced by the amazing staff that ensure it is tip top. This private villa is easily one of the best that is available at The Fort with 5 beautifully appointed bedrooms and I must say, equipped with one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on. Filled with some beautiful antiques, the villa exudes a majestic aura of bygone days. A lovely pool is situated towards the rear of the property and is an ideal space to relax and congregate after exploring the Fort and is a welcome respite from the heat. As the home is designed with courtyards and open spaces, expect lovely breezes and some cute birds and squirrels to visit.
You will be well taken care of by Loku the villa manager and an amazing staff including in my opinion one of the best chefs in Sri Lanka. The food was spectacular and easily the best we have tried in Galle. Don't bother going out to look for great Sri Lankan cuisine - your best bet is right here at Ambassadors House. We all loved this fantastic place and were actually very sad to leave. This was really an excellent stay and one of the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, service and the food!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghail...
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in Galle Fort”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were a family group visiting Galle after a family birthday party in Nuwara Eliya.

We chose this house as it catered for a large group and it looked full of atmosphere. We were not disappointed. It's a beautiful house, with spacious rooms, a large living area and a small pool. It's also well located for exploring the streets of the fort area.

The staff were friendly but not overly so and left us to do our own thing. Our cook was excellent and we ate several super meals in the house.

Loku was our housekeeper, and Rob the villa manager. We only met on arrival and on the day we left, but we had contact details should we have needed to contact either of them.

The house was well appointed and tastefully decorated. The living room area could do with another portable fan perhaps. It was extremely hot when we were there, and a little difficult to keep cool.

A couple of comments I would make on the property - it needs a lick of paint here and there, and the beautiful wooden floors could do with some attention and a good polish. The towels should also be replaced. Threadbare, grey looking towels and towels with holes are not acceptable in a property such as this! These are meant are constructive comments and nothing more.

We had a fantastic stay and we would certainly go back.

A last note - we booked the property through Elite Havens and our contact was Cara. She was very efficient and thorough and I am sure we will use Elite Havens again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and suggestions after your birthday celebration at our villa. On behalf of Ambassador's House and Elite Havens, please visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing