We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa, exceptionally well-run”
Review of Why House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Why House
Ranked #1 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

From NRC Scotland UK

Why House is an exceptionally beautiful place in an exceptionally beautiful country, but even more importantly it is exceptionally well run. The staff are unfailingly attentive, courteous and smiling, and the food is delicious - my compliments to Ravi the head-chef, and also to Dushan for the best Japanese meal I have tasted. But above all my compliments to the management, who not only maintain the highest standards but do so with a seemingly effortless mix of efficiency, good humour and charm. "Gihing ennang" (I will come again) !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We, family with two teenagers, spent 4 nights here. We pre booked 3, but loved it so much we stayed one night longer. The location is great, away from the noise, but close to the buzz.
Surfing at nearby beaches, visiting Galle etc.
The two main house suites where fantastic, the whole atmosphere is very welcoming.
It was the kids favourite place in SL, also because Henrietta and her staff spoiled us all with great food and great service.

Room Tip: we got a last minute deal, so value was good :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GHWHolland w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have never before written a review, however after staying at The Why House felt compelled to do so. My husband and I along with our three children (8, 6 and 4) recently stayed for 7 nights at The Wonderful Why House and from arriving after a 7 hour drive from the hill country, we were warmly received by Sanath and Jelly the dog!!

Sanath and the team were fantastic, they made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Every day we were lucky enough to choose our own menu (perhaps as for the majority of our stay we were fortunate enough to have the villa to ourselves). The food surpassed our expectations and the children loved everything from Baboo's amazing pancakes to the home-made chocolate mousse! I was eager to see a Sri Lankan curry in the making so Ravi and his team invited me to watch them prepare the evening's meal which was amazing.

Henrietta arrived two days before our departure and again went over and above the call of duty. She even kindly took the children to her friends house to see some new born puppies which was one of the highlights of their whole trip!

The villa is gorgeous and tastefully furnished. We stayed in the Garden Villa which had an adjoining room for the children. A day is easily passed lounging by the pool and if you feel more adventurous there are so many things to do. We even wanted to extend our stay!

We like to travel as a family and always say there are too many places in the world to head back to the same place twice, however The Why House really is the exception .. we will definitely be back!

Thank you again to Henrietta, Sanath and the team for our best family holiday!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, although we liked the Garden Villa to have interconnecting rooms for the childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LocaMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Located in thalpe, just off the beaten path, the Why house is synonymous with "weekend getaway in paradise." I spent my last weekend in Sri Lanka at the Why house and it was nothing short of perfect. From Henrietta's warm welcome to Jelly showing us to our cabanas, my first impression was nothing less than perfect. We arrived in the evening and stayed at the cabanas adjoining the well lit pool and the leaning palm trees. The property is simple yet tasteful with wide open spaces, a cool expanse of leaning palm trees and a landscape that overlooks stunning views oflush, green paddies for miles.

I love una and had many plans for the weekend but just ended up staying in at the why, including an extra day. Jelly was an additional treat and the staff take very good care of you. We stayed in the cabanas which were the very best way to spend a lazy weekend on the coast.

I will definitely go back when I next visit and the why also works well as your home away from home...a place where dreams are made of, get clicking and book your weekend getaway asap!

Room Tip: The bathrooms in the cabanas are a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is my upteenth time to visit and stay with Why and they are still amazing with their service and food. Noticed that they have made a few improvements, two of the rooms can now be attached for small families, and they have added nice little touches with a more complete amenities set.

Swimming pool is always clean and at the right temperature, and food is among the best I've tried in Sri Lanka. This trip, I have also tried their Japanese dinner, which is lovely and unexpected. We were treated to a feast of fresh sashimi, dainty sushi, succulent udon and perfectly battered tempura. I have tried other japanese restaurants in Colombo which I thought was overrated, but at Why, they go the extra mile to make sure that the food standards are always above

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've stayed in most of the villas in the area, stop looking and book your room at Why ViIla. A luxury villa you instantly feel at home in, and never want to leave. I stayed at Why House for the second time last weekend, and despite all the great things to do and see close by in Galle and Unawatuna, we barely left the property. We stayed in one of the two pool cabanas, and it was perfect with a large sleeping area, and a just as equally large bathroom and shower area. Everything is very clean, comfortable, and tastefully designed.

We spent most of our weekend lounging in the big comfy sunbeds by the pool, which is beautiful, very big, and surrounded by amazing gardens and tropical views. The staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating, always ready to provide a delicious snack or a cold drink, or whatever else you might want.

If you stay here you will leave refreshed, relaxed, and eager to return. Someday I hope to live in a place just like this.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are massive and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Sri Lanka back to China and we are now reflecting on our experience.
It was not our first choice but it turned out to be the best choice.
We were collected at the airport and driven to the residence early in the morning by Prabath and Saneth who remained our drivers for our ventures.
The new highway from the airport was partially open and this mostly vacant road allowed for a comfortable drive.
Arriving late our main concern was getting some sleep so we were shown to our well presented room.We stayed in a double suit with a pleasant shower and reading area with french doors opening to a breakfast patio.
The residence is well presented and maintained. All staff are courteous and do not fuss unnecessarily.
Breakfast was made and served on the dining pavilion by Baboo and was both well made and tasty in fact we enjoyed our meals very much even partaking in some foods beyond my normal palete which were exceptional Saneths' devilled prawns in particular. Why house also recommended for us and took us to eat at local key hotels which were all great. It is rare to find a place so comfortable in itself that it would take you out to eat rather than getting you to have all your meals with them especially when there own food is of such high quality.
The pool is actually quite large and suitable for lapping or just drifting.
Do try the local fire dancers as they are really quite fun. This was arranged to proceed our dinner and was a great appetizer although our meal thankfully was not so flambe.
We also had a short bike ride arranged which is not too hard ( my wife had to concede defeat on one bank only) the ride was interspaced with the guide pointing out this and that.
Our hostess Henrietta was quite delightful and was pre-emptive to our requirements
As always the judge of any place is whether you would return or not and without a doubt we would but, would add more time to explore farther afield.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnthonyandDanqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
5.6 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
5.7 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 25 in Galle
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 25 in Galle
275 reviews
2.4 mi away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#17 of 25 in Galle
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Why House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Why House

Address: Mihiripenna | Talpe, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range: $274 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why House is located within a three acre private walled garden of peace and tranquility only a ten minute walk from the beautiful beach of Wijaya and a fifteen minute drive to the world heritage site Galle Fort. Our aim is to give you a fun and relaxed holiday experiencing within the luxury of a boutique hotel with the informality of a private home. Children are welcome and supervision by the staff is available. A manager’s house and 24 hour security is on-site. This picturesque property can sleep up to 20 guests, with 8 double en-suite rooms with private terraces. We have 2 Cabanas, 3 Main House Suites and 3 Garden Villa rooms available. Each individually designed room has satellite TV and DVD player (with film library), free Wi-Fi, mini fridge and luxuriously built en-suite bathrooms. An entertainment and outside dining pavilion that surrounds the large swimming pool are available to all guests within the extensive landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Why House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing