We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop”
Review of Cafe Punto

Cafe Punto
Ranked #19 of 137 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must stop”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great little restuarant the best chicken we had and seems a funny thing to say but most of the placescwe ate the meat was not that great
Very inexpensive and a great sri lankan curry

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    58
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good, authentic Sri Lankan food at rock bottom prices”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner here and were quite pleased. He had the grilled chicken with boiled veg and I had the special chicken curry. Portions were humongous, and yet it only set us back about $10US. If you order the curry, definitely get the "special" curry, as it comes with the house specialty - mango chutney. Worth the visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank missponthepiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect find”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great affordable little restaurant. Food is superb, service great, and you will go back. The devilled chicken or prawn dishes are a must try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZVantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food we've had in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We ate here two nights in a row while staying in Galle - the vegetable curry is by far the best we've had in Sri Lanka, and maybe even anywhere! The food was absolutely delicious (not too spicy) and very reasonably priced. It's run by a really genuine and kind couple. They deserve to do really well! Service was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junglebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excelent food, resonable prices!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We found this place cause is near to our hotel on Pedlar St. It is a small place with just 6-7 tables but it's really clean and chich.
We ate here good Sri Lanka food and also chinese and I must say the vegetable fried rice is really good.
The vegetable soup is soo gelly and spicy which makes it delicious and it is served with toasted bread and butter.
I defenetly recommand this place in the fort zone where everything is so expensive because of the turists.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Punto also viewed

Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Cafe Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing