We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mango House
Nearby Hotels
Deco On 44(Galle)
$85
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$180
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$198
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Fortaleza(Galle)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amangalla(Galle)
$550
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
199
67
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
67
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely gardenbalcony roomboutique hotelgalle fortmangoquiet side streetpowerful showersri lankasmall balconybreakfast was deliciousentrance hallfamily roomthe ground floorfour poster bedpeaceful havenan oasissmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 279 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night in March 2014 and really loved it. It is a lovely little boutique hotel and the managers (Hugh and Sofie) have really made every effort with every aspect of the hotel. We were in the “worst” room – a double on the ground floor without outside space - but it was still great (although there was a slight smell of damp when you first entered the room, this soon went with the dehumidifier and air con). An excellent bed and the shower was little bit of heaven. You can see the effort they have gone to with all the little touches – little ceramic pots of soaps / shampoo etc., safe, refillable drinking water and the design throughout the hotel. A little oasis. We also loved our omelette and breakfast rotti and the coffee was some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireHDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review! We really enjoyed having you stay and are happy you liked Mango House.

We have been very careful to make sure all our rooms have the best amenities and live up to our guests’ expectations – it’s a work in progress for us and we love when guests notice even the smaller details ☺

Thank you so much for your recommendation and you are always warmly welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Mango house. The location in Galle Fort is great, in a charming old-style street. The hotel is simple but beautifully-decorated and comfortable, with a charming front garden which is lit up at night. The service is warm and friendly - Perera in particular took very good care of us! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTravelalot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

It was lovely having you stay as well and thank you so much for your great review and recommendation!

We are happy you had a good time with us and you are more than welcome back should you find yourselves in the south of Sri Lanka again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This converted villa is airy, light, clean and extremely tastefully done. It really is the perfect place to stay in the Galle Fort. The staff and management are extremely helpful and make you feel at home. It is nicely located and priced too :) Would recommend it to anyone wanting to spend a few nights in the fort,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianiSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

It was such a joy getting to know you and what a great afternoon on the veranda we had!

Thank you both so much for your great company and thank you for the lovely review! I am really hoping we’ll be able to come visit you in Kenya – your place there sounds amazing.

Till then you’re always welcome back to Mango House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Home away from Home. Mango House is an oasis in Galle fort. The beautiful garden brings

you tranquility. Tastefully designed Old Dutch architecture paired with comfortable interior

gives a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the open verandah. Thanks

to Udara, very friendly & helpful soul of the House. Hugh, the GM, makes you feel at home.

Well maintained, clean & cosy Mango House is well worth a visit.

Don Henry B.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We were very happy you felt Mango house offered you tranquillity and an oasis – something we can all use once in a while ☺

We would also like to thank you for your warm recommendation and hope you will come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

A fantastic stay, fantastic staff in a superbly clean hotel.
The rooms are a little on the small side for a longer stay (we were there for 11 nights) but the breakfast is top.
Galle Fort is very picturesque but a bit on the quiet side.
Thanks to all of the staff for a really happy stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agusta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoHouse, Owner at Mango House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

It was a real pleasure having you both stay with us – and thank you so much for the brilliant review. It feels all empty without you here – and we’ll miss you!

We are happy you liked the house and that breakfast was satisfactory! We are now experimenting with homemade croissants – nothing better than warm croissants in the morning.

It’s true that the Fort goes very quiet in the evening – we recommend Unawatuna beach with its restaurants and bars for a fun night out (!)

You are always welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews