We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood in a great setting”
Review of The Fort Printers

The Fort Printers
Ranked #9 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
608 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
“Seafood in a great setting”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The restaurant belongs to the hotel of the same name. Its an old building from the European colonial days, tastefully renovated. The food here is simply delicious. We had the jumbo prawns and lobster curry. It is pricey for Sri Lanks, but you wont be complaining!
Tables are available in a courtyard and in a dining room. The heat even at night can be oppressive, so choose your seat wisely

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    96
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great treat ”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The printers is a beautiful place to eat with very attentive staff. The menu had a really good range of foods, many with their own twist. The beetroot gaspacho was great! I had the tuna which was delicious and cooked exactly to my liking, although may be a little pink for some. It is a little fancy compared to most restaurants around Sri Lanka and is a little more expensive but well worth paying for a little treat during your stay and still beats European prices by a long long way! I would definitely recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
892 reviews
603 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Dining with friends, nice fan, good food!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We all enjoyed our dinners here last night. We each had different choices, lobster, yellow tuna, chicken, prawn curry. All dishes were served with small plates of additions for flavors. We topped it off with house made ice-cream...try the mango!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“supurb”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

stumbled quite literally across this little gem tonight, the exterior and gorgeous lighting, terrace and colonial feel drew us in. We enquired as to suitability for children as we are traveling with 3 and they made sure the children ate a healthy meal something i have had trouble with in sri lanka- there is only so many fries, pizza and pasta you can give a kid in one week!For the kids they made steamed potaotes, salad and freshly crumbed chicken breast. They inhaled it! we ordered some starters the prawn samosas where a standout, followed by a lamb tagine and a fish curry. Both simple and excellent, very good quality produce, fresh and gorgeous. Service quick, efficient and freindly (most service we have found in Sri lanka is very friendly )The building itself is stunning, huge marble tiles, beautiful high ceilings, white washed and dark wooden features. If you want to be looked after with non intrusive service, excellent quality food, beautiful surrounds and well priced then this is a beauty. Well done Fort printers!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacsea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant for Dinner”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Restaurant has a nice private outdoor courtyard area which is lovely for dinner. Food and service were both extremely good indeed - would recommend

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fort Printers also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to The Fort Printers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing