We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay but good...”
Review of Fort Fifty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Fifty Inn
Ranked #83 of 154 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you are a solo female traveller like myself you will want to consider this place for your stay. It's clean, has hot water and wifi. The staff is also helpful. I felt safe staying here! The bathroom is a bit small but after a long day of tuk tuk and bus fumes, the hot water is refreshing. And the water can be really hot!

Room Tip: Ask for toilet paper to be put in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beentheredonethat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and spacious with hot water, free wifi, air con, mossie net and satellite tv. We found the room to be good value for the price we paid. Manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. No mossies!

The bathroom was a bit small, but not an issue.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vivvy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 1 night here as part of a 2 week trip and it was the worst accommodation we experienced in Sri Lanka. The room smelt very musty, the mattresses were damp, there were no towels or mosquito nets, the food was not good and the toilet didn't flush. The location however was good.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Good location in centre of Galle Fort area so great for walking round the Fort area. Room is small and stuffy with no outside window or view. Air con not very efficient. Bed pretty uncomfortable. Staff seem to be all the one family and are friendly. Shower good and hot. Wifi ok in reception area. Food not good. We had a group dinner there and got a typical Sri Lankan curry with very little meat. Not one of our better curries in Sri Lanka. One of the poorer hotels we stayed in while travelling round Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marklucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed this guesthouse for two days. The room was very nice, clean and cozy, and hot shower and wifi are available and its quality is far beyond the room price. The location of this guesthouse is very good and easy access to everywhere in the fort. There are many nice cafe and resturants on the same street. The manager, Priyanca is very friendly and helped me a lot such as checking airline customer service number, introducing reasonable accommodation in Melissa and giving me information of the festival and more. I really appreciate friendly and warm service of service staffs of this GH. I am very happy to stay here and hope I could come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorita_yossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have nothing much to say about the rooms at Fort fifty. It was very very very basic and cramped but clean. We crashed there for a few hours just to sleep and there was construction work happening and it was not a good idea to stay there atleast. We did not look it up before heading there as staying at Galle was a last minute decision. This hotel was recommended by the auto guys and since we did not have a choice and were very tired, all that we could do was plain check in early in the morning and crash. but our sleep was ruined by the construction work next door.

On the contrary, the hotel staff were very accommodating, helping us with places to visit and hanging out at the lobby doing nothing but sip on a beer and eat Srilankan omelettes (Indian masala omelette).

It is a decent place to crash for a bit but please check if there is any construction activity nearby else it will ruin your sleep.

There is nothing great to say about Fort Fifty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_bubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was the worst hotel we stayed in on my trip to Sri Lanka, the location is excellent as in the heart of galle fort....but.. My bed and pillows stank so bad I could hardly sleep, the air con didn't work and there was construction noise from hotel next door to finish things off. We also had a meal there as part of a group and I have to say this was also very good and a number if yes had dodgy stomachs the next day.

I don't mean to be unkind as people who worked there were very nice but in a place like Galle you need things like a fresh bed and pillows to keep up with the competition
.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere until the up the quality of thus hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Gems
0.2 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Sega BnB
Sega BnB
#25 of 169 in Galle
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 154 in Galle
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Old Dutch House
New Old Dutch House
#87 of 154 in Galle
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Fifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Fifty Inn

Address: 50 Leyn Baan Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $40 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fort Fifty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing