We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Micro-oven heated food for the price of a fresh meal!”

Mama's Galle Fort Roof Cafe
Ranked #36 of 139 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Micro-oven heated food for the price of a fresh meal!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice scenery on a rooftop with views over the lighthouse to drink a coconutmilk or a beer but don't consider eating there... As it was a top choice according to Lonely Planet we tried it out, but eventually regretted it: biryani was extremely dry: microwave heated rice with peas... you can eat that a LOT better elsewhere! The curries of the day at the other hand were completely overcooked (ready after 2 minutes ??) and not so tasty as we were used to after 2 weeks Sri Lanka! Go there for a drink but consider eating elsewhere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maarten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    136
    67
    45
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good rooftop open air restaurant for Sri Lankan food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Very good restaurant and recommend that you stick to the set Sri Lankan curries which they specialise in and are excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A place where the atmosphere is nice and the food hard to forget”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose this restaurant as it was Top Choice on the Lonely Planete and in all honesty this time we were rewarded. This place has a nice relaxing atmosphere and the rooftop is absolutely stunning.
We had no words when the curry landed on our table. Out of the 14 days spent in Sri Lanka, this was undoubtedly the best curry we had. Mildly spicy, very tasty, cooked with love. It is served on the typical little bowls and we had the chance to taste palm, beetrot, dhal, aubergine curries together with chicken meat and fish.
The owner is a sweet sri lankan lady who we went to thank after the meal. We also found out her son spent a few years in Milan (he speaks perfect italian!) - he took us to the brand new ice cream shop he recently opened in Galle and that was also very good. We felt cuddled after a few hour walk tour of the Fort and I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Fantastic cooking course and lunch (They have moved to 27 Church St!!)”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We first had a great lunch at Mama's and then I learned of their cooking course which is a great deal at R3000. The cooking course was the highlight of my time in Galle, especially with the 1-2-1 personal attention from Mama.

Cooking course began at 0930 and it was just me - the lessons are 1 on 1. We went to the market to buy spices and vegetables as Mama does everyday for the restaurant. All the shopping and tuk tuk to the market are included. Mama and her daughter showed me where to buy the food, what is good, explained the spices and all the ingredients. We also went to the fish market to see what's good for the day. After about an hour of learning, we then we back to the kitchen where I helped and took notes on 9 different curries! Amazing! I learned so much and asked so many questions.

I then ate some of the lovely dishes and the rest were served to paying customers and to my friend that dropped by. It was a fantastic course in a lovely setting with Mama and her daughters who really care.

The location has moved and unfortunately they lost the roof terrace. To make things confusing, the old location still has the name Mama's - the new owners need to remove this and perhaps benefiting from the confusion! Nonetheless, the food is wonderful and for R 550 for a set curry and rice lunch, it's a steal.

I really recommend the cooking course or if you just want lunch, it's great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely rooftop restaurant, serving delicious rice and curry and very refreshing jugs of lime juice. Yes, you have to climb up some beautifully preserved steep steps, and yes, the terrace is partially surrounded by windows, but it's a lovely, friendly place, and one of the nicest lunches we had in Sri Lanka.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Galle Fort Roof Cafe also viewed

Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Mama's Galle Fort Roof Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing