We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tasty food”

Mama's Galle Fort Roof Cafe
Ranked #38 of 136 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, tasty food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had lunch on the roof terrace, really good location and the food was nice although they were sold out of a lot of things, a victim of their own popularity!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    134
    64
    45
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a gem, as you wind your way up the staircase to the roof top don't be surprised If the tables are full. Very popular restaurant. The service was a little slow due to the number of patrons but the atmosphere was good fun, and the waiters ran to keep up with the demand. The food was delicious. We ate here several times and loved the views of the mosque and lighthouse.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
288 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great views, great value”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent views over Galle rooftops to sea. Recommend Mamas Jumbo Curry, enough for two people, includes seven veg dishes and a meat/fish curry for 950 LKR ($7-8 AUS).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanberraMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very disorganized”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Popular restaurant, but extremely disorganized. We wanted to eat there, but they tooled us it was full so we could eat downstairs. After waiting 20 mins for the menu, and another 20 minutes for them to come back to us, they said we had to sit upstairs. So we went upstairs, got seated at a table with two other surprised guests that were finishing their desert. After waiting 10 more minutes they tooled us that they needed the table for 4 other guests, so we had to sit on another table, at which two other guests also was waiting for table. After one hour, we decided to maybe go elsewhere, so we paid our two soft-drinks. Of course they added 10% service charge on top of that. Don't think we will come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorerkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, good for a drink”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Mama's galle has a great rooftop terrace, with a nice view over Galle Fort and the sea. Very nice and comfortable to have a drink and relax. We ordered the rice and curry one night, this was ok, but not very tasty, we've had much better curries in Sri Lanka, perhaps they listen too much to comments of Europeans not liking the strong tastes and spices.

Although the curry was not that amazing we joined the day after mama's cooking class. It was really nice to goand buy fish, meet the fishermen, go to the Dutch market and buy vegetables and then prepare it with mama Galle and her daughter. We didn't do too much ourselves, we mostly looked, but this was fine. Afterwards we ate our food, which was again rather tasteless with a bit too much salt. But it was a nice way to spend the morning in Galle.

Helpful?
Thank Jan-WillemMalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Galle Fort Roof Cafe also viewed

Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Mama's Galle Fort Roof Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing