We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and friendly hosts and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seagreen Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 117 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlestown, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly hosts and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Seagreen Guesthouse offers the best of everything - friendly and helpful staff, great location - opposite park with ocean views - modern spacious rooms, clean and modern bathroom. Great location within the fort and great food available next door, but the restaurant does charge that pesky 10 percent service charge. However, it is very convenient with friendly owner. Loved sitting and talking to Naman and Maike and finding out more about Galle. We have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse. We felt lucky there was a vacancy and loved our stay there!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    110
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
284
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The rooms and hospitality was excellent, good location inside the fort and tasty food next doors.
At the end of the day, grab your book and sit on the terrace, watch some locals play a game of cricket before watching the sunset. Your rupies are worth spending here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grodan-boll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were lucky to find free rooms in this guesthouse and we were very pleased with our choice. Guesthouse is on the sideroad of the inner city of Galle with view of greenery and ocean. The owners are beautiful people and very helpful in every way. Rooms are nicely furnished, quite spacious with good facilities. Next or part of the guesthouse is a restaurant with very good choice of food for reasonable prices. Overall we would highly recommend this place to everyone looking for not too expensive but very comfortable place to stay. Hope we'll go back once again.

Room Tip: top rooms have sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

In writing this review I really can't add much more than what others have already said, however I still feel compelled to express how lovely the owners, and every member of staff really are. If we had several thousand dollars to spend we could have tried plusher, more luxurious hotels in the old City but we felt privileged to be staying within the old city walls for a fraction of the price in ultra clean and modern rooms, and with hospitality that money can't buy.

I cannot recommend it enough.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Like everyone is saying, Seagreen is great in virtually every aspect! But I doubt if everyone knows how nice the Seagreen people really are. Well, I have a story to tell. Two weeks ago, upon checking in at Seagreen, mom and i were warmly greeted by Noman and his dog. Then we went out strolling. Unfortunately, my mom slipped, and had her ankle dislocated. She was in great pain and could not walk, not even stand. We really did not expect any accident and did not know what to do. Desperately, we called Seagreen for help. The moment we approached Seagreen, Noman was already waiting outside. I knew immediately he was the man to trust. Noman drove us to the hospital, took us to the emergency room to see the specialist, walked back and forth between rooms and counters to help us deal with local people, smoothe the complex procedures, and request quality and efficient treatment for my mom. And his wife - a very very nice lady - was also there accompanying my mom when I went to different counters, offered comforting words and warm encouragement. They said that they were ready to offer any kind of help, all I had to do was ask. In the midnight after the treatment, Noman came to pick us up and drove us back to Seagreen. The next morning, Noman contacted travel agency to consult about the flight ticket reschedule issues for us and arranged a minivan to take us to the airport. The minivan driver was extremely considerate and drove quite steadily instead of rushing on the highway. My mom and I want to thank Noman and his wife for all the things you had done for us. Most of all, thank you for making sure my mom receive proper treatment in time. Now her leg is recovering well. How could we have managed there in a foreign country without you? Yet we felt terribly sorry for causing you so much trouble. I would also like to thank the two guys from Seagreen for carrying mom up/downstairs. (Besides, we want to thank the doctors and nurses in the hospital, very professional and helpful.) We do regret missing the beautiful scenery in Galle fort, yet we feel quite lucky to get to know the people in Seagreen and all the other good people who offered help.
P. S. Staying in the airconned room is enjoyable. The pine-apple pancakes there were awesome.

Room Tip: considering booking in advance even in low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a lovely couple, a warm welcome, great rooms, fabulous view from the roof terrace... Couldn't do enough to keep their guests happy. Delicious food next door... what more could you want?! And I thought the concrete look was dead trendy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAsiaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked Seagreen Guesthouse in a bit of an emergency! Having arrived at a B&B that was not to our standard at all, and so needing somewhere else to stay. We didn't realise til we got there, but Seagreen Guesthouse was actually in our Lonely Planet guide, and for good reason.

The lovely couple who own it (we stayed here for one night only as it was all they had so forgive us for not remembering their names!) were absolutely lovely. They were helpful and smiley and kind. The boys they employed were also so sweet and helpful.

The whole place was spotless and well decorated. The roof terrace was a real treat, and next door is a family run restaurant serving amazing food and they are also so kind and lovely!

When we had to move to a new guesthouse and weren't feeling very well, they directed us next door to somewhere else splendid (Fort De 19) and helped us carry our bags. Really recommended! Oh, and the location is just great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralikestosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#2 of 117 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagreen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagreen Guesthouse

Property: Seagreen Guesthouse
Address: 19b Rampart Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seagreen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagreen Guesthouse Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing