We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place in the heart of Galle Fort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seagreen Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 167 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The room at the Seagreen Guesthouse was very comfortable. It was spacious with a very comfortable bed, good AC, and a very good bathroom. The owner was away most of our stay, but his brother--who runs the restaurant next door--was very helpful.
We stayed here the last two days of our month's trip in Sri Lanka. We went from Galle directly to the airport rather than staying in Colombo. With the new road it is about a two and a half hour trip.
The Seagreen Restaurant is a small, modest affair, but the food is quite good. Try the seafood soup.
One problem with the guesthouse design is that, while they have a large terrace overlooking the sea, it is virtually useless most of the day as it is totally exposed to the sun,.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 552 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Naman was great and organised a car to collect us from the airport at midnight. The rooms were basic and good value for money. We had the one on the roof, probably the best in the house. The resturant next door serves excellent food - our first experience of egg hoppers - fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our first two nights in Sri Lanka and we found this guest house above our expectations. Galle is very straightforward and uncomplicated and this was reflected in our accommodation. Simple guest house with very attentive and helpful owner. Brother's next door for local food, try not to venture into European as it is dissapointing. Sitting on the roof terrace in the evening we shared some whisky with the owner and his friends - the chief of Police and local prison officer! We were in safe hands and made very welcome. The last post was played at 10pm from the local barracks which gave a surreal colonial feel - rushed back on the second night to hear again but this time the player was not so competant! A real introduction to Sri Lankan life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great location, great room. Naman was very helpful. We took the train back to Negombo. Naman gave us a lot info and advice. Because we left so early in the morning to the train station, Naman kindly drove us there. Good service. The restaurant next door run by Naman's brother. The food is delicious, but a little slow. Fort is pretty small. But if you have time, strongly suggest you stay longer to enjoy the ocean view, and spend some time on all kinds of small shops. unfortunately, some shops do not open on Sunday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the start of our trip around Sri Lanka. Booking was very efficient, which was quite unusual for Sri Lanka, and Naman was always very prompt in replying to my emails and also reconfirmed our reservation a couple of times beforehand.

The location in the fort is great, only 2 minutes from the walls and 5 minutes from nearby cafes and restaurants, and mainly quite quiet The grassy area outside the hotel seemed to be used by school groups every morning for drumming practice, so there wasn't much opportunity for relaxing in the morning - although to be fair, this is the same all over Sri Lanka!

We were a bit disappointed with the rooms themselves, which are very basic with concrete walls & floor, no views and little furnishing. Everything was clean enough, but it wasn't really somewhere you wanted to spend any time in other than sleeping. We also felt that the room was quite overpriced at 5,000 rupees, especially as breakfast was not included. We ate breakfast one morning at the cafe next door, which was very tasty but again, not cheap at 1,100 rupees for two people.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Galle, but would probably look for rooms with a bit more character next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Galle Fort. Great staying in Fort area, was surprised how quiet it was with not many tourists, so most restaurants quiet - do go everyone, Galle Fort has a nice feel to it. Seagreen room was great, especially do buy the breakfasts - the woman that cooks it is lovely and it is a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent some lovely five days in Galle Fort in the end of January 2013, staying in Seagreen Guest House. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathrooms were really modern and nice! Mr Naman and his boys were very helpful and reliable and we felt safe. Naman´s brother has a restaurant next door and it was easy to have breakfast just around the corner. The roof terrace was nice, but really hot during the day time - but we enjoyed the famous Galle Fort sunset in the evening.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms and want more privacy, try to book the two rooms in the top floor! But remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PirkkO49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 26 in Galle
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 167 in Galle
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 167 in Galle
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 167 in Galle
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#1 of 167 in Galle
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagreen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagreen Guesthouse

Address: 19b Rampart Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $52 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seagreen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagreen Guesthouse Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing