We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and nice Pizza”

Wijaya Beach Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 134 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Seafood, European, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
552 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great food and nice Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The view is great and the vibe is just what your looking for in a fun tropical cabana style place.. right on the beach.. cold beers and good food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    221
    57
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cool place to relax in front of the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Wijaya is a casual place to have a drink while enjoying the sea breeze and a great view over the ocean. Lounge chairs seem to have been there forever and when you are relaxing on these you also wish you could stay there for quite a long time... food is a bit slow to get to you but it is simple, good food, a level above most seaside, locally managed places on the way from Galle to Mirissa... I don't think there is an attitude problem with the service, I just think waiters have a laid back style which could appear as discourteous to some but in reality it is quite neutral, as most of the time they don't want to interfere with the clients or display emotions that could be taken the wrong way. It may be also they are just physically tired of all the surf they do across the place every day... ;-) anyway we felt good at Wijaya, it is not a top notch restaurant, it is a down to earth place with drinks and food more appreciated for its location than anything else.
Many families go there to play with their children in a natural sea water pool in front of the place, but watch out for any drainage water coming from inland - sometimes it seems there is used water flowing into that natural pool... last time we were there the water was clear. In any case I'd advise parents to make their children wear long swimsuits with t-shirts, which also helps to protect against the strong sun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So many great features one huge flaw away from fabulous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stunning location, clean, lovely sun loungers, great menu if a bit over priced but the service was so loaded with a bad attitude I would not return which is a shame because I wanted to love it. The staff were so unfriendly and borderline rude it put all the other great aspects of this place in the shade, why when they had so much working for them they acted like they resented their customers, we even tried to charm to see if we could win them over and establish a rapport it was received like syphilis in a brothel. So much for that we left with a sour taste and a wast of charm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chilled, relaxed, good food in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've had drinks and dinner at Wijaya a few times and are never disappointed. It's a great spot right on the beach with a cool vibe about it. Great, casual, dining with excellent food including amazingly good pizzas and the best cocktails we had anywhere in Sri Lanka. If fine dining is what you're after this won't be your thing. But if watching the sun go down with a chilled drink in hand followed by some tasty food in a relaxed setting sounds good, then you'll love Wijaya.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKAnnaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge portions and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stopped at Wijaya Beach for lunch. The staff was nice to prepare dishes with chicken, instead of fish/sea food. It was not only tasty but also huge! the view of the sea was very pretty. While the food was getting prepared, we enjoyed a walk on the beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ajtkhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wijaya Beach Restaurant also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Wijaya Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing