We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best authentic cafe in Galle”
Review of Royal Dutch Cafe

Royal Dutch Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Owned by Fazal Badurdeen who is a well known story teller about Galle. Serves the "best tea" in town as weel Owned by Fazal Badurdeen who is well known for his stories about Galle Fort. Serves the "best tea in town" as well as lunch and dinner.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best authentic cafe in Galle”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stopped at the Royal Dutch Cafe for some afternoon tea after walking around Galle. It's a cosy little cafe with a great vibe. We had delicious coconut rottis and mango chutney with a pot of black tea. Everything on the menu is fairly priced and they don't add a hefty tax to the bill so it's up to you tip as you please. We also bought little trinkets for our flatmate, all of which were very reasonably priced.

The owner was super friendly and open to sharing his experiences with us. We had a lovely conversation about Galle and its history as well as the community there. When we said we were looking for a spices shop, the owner walked us to a small shop down the same street that had everything we wanted (and more! Ginger coffee anyone?) all at local prices.

We would definitely recommend this place for its authenticity and charm. So many of the cafes in Galle Fort are soulless but the Royal Dutch Cafe is a very welcomed exception.

-Love from Lebanon

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Naziha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    63
    12
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food and super friendly owner”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very good restaurant! The food is tasty, fresh and prepared as per your taste (not spicy/medium spicy/spicy). You've got here possibilities to have indian tea (which is not so easy in Sri Lanka)! Fazal, the owner, knows a lot about India and could even interact with you in hindi, tamil, sinhala, etc. :) He's super friendly and even dropped me and my brother to our hotel in the evening (which was located in Ahangama) as he had to go to Mirissa for bringing some tea to a foreign friend of him staying there during holidays... We really enjoyed his spontaneity, conversation and generosity :) Hope you get to meet him too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, small café with home charm”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I came to this cafe´ following our guide suggestion; it was a warm afternoon in Galle and we were starving; we got inside the café and, even if the place was not yet open for the afternoon, Fazaal, the owner, let us sit and started to cook for us two very good rice dishes.
It was really comfortable and relaxed the ambiance and talking with Fazaal was a pleasure.
He told us that Italians never write comments on Trip Advisor so here we are to remedy =)

A great ciao from the man with the tattoo on the right leg =)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbeTobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, quirky and delicious! :-)”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Found this little cafe and gift shop by chance (then saw the TA, facebook, and lonely planet references when we were there)! Had some of the best tea we had in sri lanka and delicious curry, dahl, coconut rice and veg roti. Not same style roti as from a roti shop but then its not an average roti shop! Quirky, small and interesting, so nice we had to stay for cake!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint little cafe”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The teas are amazing. The derive is great...friendly, funny,very personable. The owner is a storyteller and very knowledgeable. Food is good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Dutch Cafe also viewed

Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Royal Dutch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing