We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing
Ranked #10 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I spent a relaxing weekend with friends at GHV . Its airy and roomy a perfect get away from the city. Close to ramparts and the sea. Meals were fantastic and the staff very attentive. No hesitation in recommending this boutique hotel to those who need a quiet place with all amenities close by if needed.

D Athu

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AthuD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 140 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed at the GHV with eight friends and we all agreed that it was super. There are wide spaces and a high ceiling that made us gaze up in awe. The interior is tasteful, aesthetically pleasing and very cozy. The location is perfect - inside the Fort, within very close proximity to boutiques that sold everything from jewellery to artifacts, the sea, the lighhouse, food huts and the ramparts for walks. All the rooms were elegantly furnished and had beds that were supremely comfortable and toilets that had imported fittings and were squeaky clean. All the rooms have A/C + fans. The food was just perfect.
It was indeed a blissful week end. It had everything that we desired.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharawij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

What a fine place. Hidden behind a clean and bright facade meters from the ramparts of the old Fort, the villa reveals itself as a a quiet, cool and very modern refuge. Beautifully appointed, large, open plan living spaces, a shaded and private garden serve several outstanding guest rooms with all the mod cons. After the crazy drive from Colombo, we were delighted and surprised by what awaited. Host Uma and her husband will greet you with smiles, cool towels and drinks in the cool of the downstairs. Our room (suite) was on the balcony, catching the breeze in the evening and with a modern and functional air conditioner to ward off the heat. Great meal of simple foods, beautifully spiced and served by the ever smiling house staff (who also do your laundry, make tea at any hour, serve the inclusive breakfast etc, etc). Could not be better!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband & I had the pleasure of spending 3 days at the Galle Heritage Villa, the most recent addition to the boutique hotels in the Galle Fort. We were there to attend the Galle Literary Festival and this beautiful, well appointed villa was conveniently located inside this UNESCO World Heritage site. Most of the venues were easily accessible.

The villa has been outfitted with all the modern amenities and is tastefully decorated. Each room is air conditioned & has a large en suite bathroom. There is free WiFi. It is a short walk to the ramparts,the light house & to the cafes & the eateries in the fort. We were very fortunate to enjoy some typical Galle Muslim Cuisine (with advance notice), courtesy of the owner's aunt, who lives next door. Uma & Affaan who take care of the guests are friendly and most obliging.

The secluded beach behind the light house is excellent for swimming and the ramparts offer fantastic vistas at day break and sunset. A landscape photographers dream!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My daughter and I had a pleasure of staying at the lovely Galle Heritage Villa for a couple of nights. We were very comfortable and the service was excellent. The villa had all the modern day conveniences but with the old world charm. We would certainly recommend it to anyone planning a stay at the Galle Fort.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiroAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank ALF545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 剛史 渡
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
550 reviews
4.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#13 of 24 in Galle
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 24 in Galle
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing

Address: 71 Lighthouse Street, Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range: $113 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Galle Heritage Villa located in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Dutch Fort in Galle, Sri Lanka. The villa is a transformation of a 1950's Beverly Hills inspired mansion into a Colonial Dutch Villa, and boasts 4 large, elegantly decorated suites with luxuriously comfortable beds and spacious ensuite bathrooms with hot/cold water and all modern amenities. All guest suites are equipped with A/C and ceiling fans and cable TV viewing can be provided on request. Lofty hardwood ceilings and large windows give the villa a bright and airy feel with plenty of room to relax and unwind. Choose to have breakfast outdoors in the garden, the veranda or on the balcony. Complimentary wifi is available and free parking is provided.Experience life in the ancient Galle Fort by strolling down its narrow streets and alleys, admire the C17th colonial architecture, one of the best preserved anywhere in Asia, or jog along the 20 m high fortified ramparts while enjoying the dawn or the spectacular sunsets. Dip into the warm waters of the Indian Ocean from the nearby beach just 50 m from the villa. Come explore Galle and its enchanting Fort for an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galle Heritage Villa Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing