We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of things but on a quiet street - treated with great respect- excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing
Ranked #25 of 256 Specialty Lodging in Galle
portland, or
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of things but on a quiet street - treated with great respect- excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at the Galle Heritage Villa by accident as our intended accomodations turned out to be inappropriate for our 3 person tour group. The Heritiage Villa was not expecting us but neverlheless did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Food was brought to us for breakfast and 1 dinner from the Jetwing Lighthouse and was served elegantly. The food was excellent.
The rooms are air-conditioned, large and comfortable. There were some mosquitos but they were gone after a thorough spraying of the room. There are also some plumbing problems which have to do with the city itself and the hotel is well aware of it and as helpful as they can be.
If you want to be in the thick of things and be able to walk around this Fort City, I strongly recommend the Galle Heritage Villa.
There is no pool, no beach, no view. It is a genuine city experience.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor. Other reviewers suggest the upstairs rooms are better. I cannot comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsilver4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    37
    11
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
53
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

It's a villa and not a hotel, so the amenities lack somewhat. However great location in the centre of the fort. Only three rooms I think. Ours was really nice, great size, with a comfy bed and all the things you would expect. Think I would have preferred a hotel as we were the only ones staying that night and it felt empty, and lacking in atmosphere. Great staff, really helpful, even came in an hour early to make us breakfast for our early journey to Columbo. Nice but not amazing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Located within the fort with a short walk to fortress wall and sea. Unfortunately our room was right next to the main entrance and reception area. You can clearly hear people walk past, the phone ringing etc. The bathroom door didn’t shut properly, nor lock. The toilet didn't flush properly and the shower continuously lost water pressure and hot water.

There were loads of mosquitoes in the room, including inside the kettle, and we had to ask for the room to be sprayed twice. From what I could see, there were more mosquitoes in the room than there is outside.

The only place to put your suitcase is on the floor. There is no fridge, nor a proper safe. One sheet looked like it had a blood stain on it.

There was no wifi in the room. There was practically no natural light as the only (shaded) window opens into the internal hallway and stairs and the electrical lighting was also very dim - it was like being in a cave.

In the past few years we have travelled quite a bit around Asia, including India, Thailand, Singapore and Malaysia and this is one of the worst rooms we'd stayed in. We asked to change rooms and the rooms upstairs were considerably better, however I agree with previous reviewers - this villa is definitely not worth £130 a night - half the price and it would be reasonably priced.

On the plus side the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was simple and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well what can i say, the Galle Heritage villa is not bad but it certainly is not worth 130 GBP per night.

The villa itself is nice and in a decent location inside the fort however i think it is trying to be something more than what it is considering the other surrounding places are backpackers inns.

My first room was ok however it took a while to get the a/c working and then the TV broke and had to be replaced, however i waited for almost 9 hours and still no replacement TV was found. I was then moved into a smaller room where the TV worked however there was no mini-bar even though it states in all of the booking websites and even on the information in the room that a mini bar is provided and stocked daily.

Bathroom toiletries were very basic and not what i would expect bearing in mind the cost of the room per night, i have stayed in better central London hotels for cheaper with more amenities provided for guests.

We lost power twice when i was staying here, both times for at least 2 hours and the roof in my first room leaked whenever we had a heavy rain shower....

Food was another disappointment, no menu however the chef was able to accommodate most requests (i only ate twice here), food was tasty (i had a chicken curry and a grilled sausage) however the portions were very small and expensive (850 rupees per meal).

Again no set menu or times which was odd and although the chef tried to accommodate, the plates on offer were rather restrictive for Westerners even though the websites state that a variety of meals are available.

The rooms were quite musty and had a fair few insects/lizards crawling about which is to be expected in this part of the world but certainly not in a place which charges this much per night (for those of you who deal with in dollars the rate is 210 US dollars per night).

The staff were ok however their sister hotel was the only place where they could accept AMEX.

If you wanted to stay in bed until mid-morning then forget it, the noise of the staff cleaning and chatting outside was terrible.

Again, a nice place but way too expensive for what it is, the price should be more like 100 US dollars per night, my recommendation would be to stay at the Amangalla hotel, the rate per night is the same as the Galle villa but you are in a proper hotel instead of what is basically a posh guest house.

i know where i will be staying the next time i come back to Galle.

Room Tip: You only have 4 to choose from, if anything choose one which is upstairs away from the main lobby, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Went on work and stayed for 2 nights. Wish it was longer. It's a fantastic location and great setting. The rooms upstairs are large and spacious. The toilets are also quite spacious and nicely built. It's mostly an old fashioned house, like most places in the Galle fort; making it very homely.

The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make the stay pleasant.

Stayed on BB basis, since we were traveling during the day. The breakfast was great.

Will I return, for sure. I'll probably wanna just go stay there for a few days to relax.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

A very nice building, nice and large rooms (especially upstairs) but it feels a bit like being in a private home where the parents have gone out and have left you alone with their adolescent kids. Radio blaring, people hanging around in sporting clothes caring more about their own breakfast than their clients. Although you are asked for the time when you want to have breakfast, tea arrives 30-40 minutes after that time, etc etc But they are obviously having fun...

Very good location to explore the fort, but the lack of management is really a pity. Less staff, better trained and this would be a great place to stay.

4-5 rating for building and facilities, 2 for staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andreas_Letto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This villa is located inside the Galle Fort. Rooms are exceptionally large even the bathrooms. Rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Bathrooms are lovely. We were occupying one of upstair bedrooms. Staff was brilliant, very friendly and true ambassadors. They go out of their way to help you. You have the choice whether to have breakfast at Light House Galle which is about 10 min away or in the villa it self. I felt very homely and very free inside the villa. Above all there not many people in side the villa like in big hotels. If you want to explore the Fort this is the best place to stay. Although i have been to Galle before, I never had a chance to explore the Fort. But this time being in the villa, I used the opportunity to explore the Fort.
I highly recommend this place to anyone who want to taste the rich heritage in Galle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinithi_Peiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
2.2 mi away
Jetwing Kurulubedda
Jetwing Kurulubedda
#14 of 256 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#16 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#3 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pedlar's Inn Hostel
Pedlar's Inn Hostel
#56 of 1,154 in Southern Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#9 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hostel
Galle Fort Hostel
#96 of 256 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing

Property: Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing
Address: 71 Lighthouse Street, Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 256 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Galle Heritage Villa located in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Dutch Fort in Galle, Sri Lanka. The villa is a transformation of a 1950's Beverly Hills inspired mansion into a Colonial Dutch Villa, and boasts 4 large, elegantly decorated suites with luxuriously comfortable beds and spacious ensuite bathrooms with hot/cold water and all modern amenities. All guest suites are equipped with A/C and ceiling fans and cable TV viewing can be provided on request. Lofty hardwood ceilings and large windows give the villa a bright and airy feel with plenty of room to relax and unwind. Choose to have breakfast outdoors in the garden, the veranda or on the balcony. Complimentary wifi is available and free parking is provided.Experience life in the ancient Galle Fort by strolling down its narrow streets and alleys, admire the C17th colonial architecture, one of the best preserved anywhere in Asia, or jog along the 20 m high fortified ramparts while enjoying the dawn or the spectacular sunsets. Dip into the warm waters of the Indian Ocean from the nearby beach just 50 m from the villa. Come explore Galle and its enchanting Fort for an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galle Heritage Villa Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing