We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place anbd nice people, but please train your staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing
Ranked #10 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place anbd nice people, but please train your staff”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a small facility (4 guest rooms) in an old house within the walls of Galle Fort. The historic location is great (just a few minutes stroll to the seaside ramparts) and the recent renovation has been very nicely done. But our experience was haphazard. We arrived after a long flight to Colombo and an even longer drive to Galle, only to find that the staff were unsure/confused about our reservation. We waited a long time to get into our room while they sorted that out. Then we found the room was buzzing ... with mosquitoes. Lots (scores) of mosquitoes. That's an irritation and not good in a country where dengue, Japanese encephalitis and malaria are not that uncommon. The room was large and very nicely appointed, with a huge, modern bathroom to match. Very nice. But the plumbing would not work properly. I had to sleep the first night without a shower. It was fixed after I complained. But it still took 24 hours before the room was sprayed and a pump, that ran the water supply, was fixed. Vacation time for us is precious. We had four days at this place and our first day was, in short, ruined. Things picked up after my complaint. Don't get me wrong ... the staff were friendly and obliging when they understood. But it is clear that they just have not been trained. That would be okay if we stayed in one of the town's many guesthouses. But the Heritage villa is run by the big Jetwing hotel chain. We picked it because we expected good service so we would enjoy every minute of our relatively short stay. The upside of the Jetwing connection is that guests are able to access nearby Jetwing Lighthouse resort ... away from the historic fort, but beautifully set by the ocean with good service, a nice restaurant and big pools. Sorry guys ... I rate you poor because of the service let down.

Room Tip: Make sure they have sprayed for bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased you have taken the time off to write a review on Trip Advisor on your recent stay with us at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing. We encourage feedback from all our guests, both positive and negative as it helps us identify the weaknesses and strengths of the property, and what we need to work on. I am happy you were pleased with the layout of the property and the location of the property which is situated within the historic walls of the Galle Fort.

I will be looking in to your complains about the delays on arrival, as that is not acceptable and I apologize for it on behalf of the entire team at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing. The mosquitoes are a constant problem in this part of the world, and we try new things frequently to try to reduce numbers. No reported cased of illnesses spread by mosquitoes have been reported in the region, but let me assure you that this doesn’t stop us from trying to eliminate this threat completely. We assure you that we will look in to your concerns and correct them, including your view that more training is needed, so that in the future a guest would not need to go through these problems.

I hope you choose to revisit Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing in the future, and I can assure you a better and more efficient experience.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    40
    11
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
55
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

it was absolutely nice hoilday. The villa is beautiful and very comfortable bed and very clean and tidy.service is fine specifically thanks to the manager who have arrange complimentary dinner at their sisters hotel light house and meet their General manager too.you both are very highly hospitable persons. we all spoke how about your hospitality.
the rooms are quite expensive than it's worthy. i saw and heard many people complained about this to udara. as he said to me all other people are paying same rate why only they can't afford it. and some guest came to us and told us to complained too but we didn't went for that.Though the rooms are quite expensive but the service that staff gave was excellent.they arrange us free transport anytime we wish and we had a great time at light house hotel and had a fantastic breakfast at light house.
udara you are a great manager that we ever meet,we highly recommended your great qualities.As well known number one jetwing company,you should be lucky to have people like this to work under hard circumstances and thanks to their General manager Robert as we spoke with him only two or three words on two times but we feel you as a big hospitality manger.
we all love to recommend this place to go and see their service.people can make vary big nice comments and very bad comments but we love this place a lot.Again thanking to udara who look after us very well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing is a truly special property, located in one of the most amazing places to holiday, the Galle Fort. The property provides the perfect base from which you can explore Galle, and the Fort in particular. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will pass your compliments on to Udara and the team at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing. They are a great team, and makes my job as the General Manager easier majority of the time.

I hope you will chose to visit us again in the near future, Udara and the team will love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed five nights here at Galle Heritage Villa, and the staff were all friendly and very helpful, A smile and a sense of humour goes a long way, and why wouldn't it? This is a very relaxed and easy-going country in which to travel. The boys here have been sensitive to all clients needs, cooperative and willing to accommodate, all this with gorgeous smiles and a respectful nature.
I LOVED the place; would highly recommend it; and will be back. The rooms are generous, quiet and the ambience of the Villa is serene. The swimming pool at the main hotel - R600 return tuk-tuk ride - worth a visit.

Room Tip: The best room to stay in is the front one on the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing. The personalized service provided by the team at the property is complimented more often than not, and I will be passing on your compliments to them. I do agree that a smile does make a huge difference at the end of the day and I am extremely pleased with the work the team there puts in.

Please do make your way to Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing if your down in Sri Lanka again, as we all would love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay here where the staff we very helpful and friendly. Our highlight was the wonderful traditional Sri Lankan breakfast. It was fantastic to be able to have the delicious local food. We had a variety of curries, rices and a great sambal dish, along with a plate of local fresh fruits.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor on your visit to Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing. As the General Manager I am extremely pleased to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at with us. Being with the walls of the Galle Fort means that you can explore and enjoy the mix of cultures that make the fort what it is and I am glad you were able to do so.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Udara Perera your contagious smile & bending over backwards made our trip!!! Thank you thank you thank you!!!

Chamith Mahendra nothing was too much for you, above & beyond!! Big thanks my friend.

Rooms sooooo spacious, kept stunningly.... All in all brilliant place, staff and Galle Fort lucky to have an establishment like this apart of this charming community!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalaanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing is absolutely stunning and is located within the world famous Galle Fort which makes it the ideal location to explore Galle from. We have a truly dedicated team who look after every need a guest may have during their stay and try their best to make it possible.

I will pass on your compliments to Udara and the team for their excellent work, and I am sure they are looking forward to having you back at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just stayed at this beautiful villa for 2 nights and as soon as we walked in, we were amazed by the decor and architecture of the location. Located in the southern end of the old town/Galle Fort, it's an easy 2 minute walk to the fort wall to view a beautiful sunset. Apart from that, the manager Udara Perera and the other pleasant staff, Chamith and Mahendra where extremely helpful as polite. The breakfast and other facilities at the lighthouse location were also amazing. I'd definitely be coming back here next time I visit Sri Lanka. Thanks guys once again for memorable experience in your amazing town

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinematicConcepts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing and we are pleased to know you had such a wonderful stay. Galle is a city full of a mix of cultures and the Galle Fort provides you with the ideal location to catch the stunning views and the sunsets that are even better. I have also passed your compliments on to the team, and they are very pleased.

Udara and the team are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you back to Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing.

Sincerely,

Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Absolutely comfortable place to rest/relax and enjoy with your loved one. The place is inside the old fort made in the colonial times. You can still see the architectural difference in the buildings and easy access from the city, Galle.

Room is not huge but more than enough for a couple with a super soft bed and a soothing place. High walls in the sitting area makes the place cool and the servers were friendly with a smile as always.

There is no food - but can be arranged if you really wanted. I say no - go out and eat.
There is a western and Pizza parlors nearby. I preferred the fine dining place in the corner for dinner.

Only issue as I see is it's over priced and the pool arrangement is in another hotel where we had to travel. So don't expect a pool.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs when reserving
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruwan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, it was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am also happy that you enjoyed your stay and the Galle Fort experience. We are also extremely pleased that Jetwing hospitality lived up to your expectations.

In reference to the issue that you faced without the pool, I am pleased to inform you that we are currently making plans for a villa at the property, which I believe would definitely provide a guest more in-house entertainment options. The Galle Fort also provides a guest with plenty of options if they choose to dine out, with restaurants that cater various different cuisines and types of food for all guests within the fort.

I also want to thank you for writing a very positive review on Trip Advisor and hope to see you back at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing soon.

Sincerely,

Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
2.0 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,739 reviews
4.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
2.2 mi away
Jetwing Kurulubedda
Jetwing Kurulubedda
#2 of 143 in Galle
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing

Property: Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing
Address: 71 Lighthouse Street, Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Galle Heritage Villa located in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Dutch Fort in Galle, Sri Lanka. The villa is a transformation of a 1950's Beverly Hills inspired mansion into a Colonial Dutch Villa, and boasts 4 large, elegantly decorated suites with luxuriously comfortable beds and spacious ensuite bathrooms with hot/cold water and all modern amenities. All guest suites are equipped with A/C and ceiling fans and cable TV viewing can be provided on request. Lofty hardwood ceilings and large windows give the villa a bright and airy feel with plenty of room to relax and unwind. Choose to have breakfast outdoors in the garden, the veranda or on the balcony. Complimentary wifi is available and free parking is provided.Experience life in the ancient Galle Fort by strolling down its narrow streets and alleys, admire the C17th colonial architecture, one of the best preserved anywhere in Asia, or jog along the 20 m high fortified ramparts while enjoying the dawn or the spectacular sunsets. Dip into the warm waters of the Indian Ocean from the nearby beach just 50 m from the villa. Come explore Galle and its enchanting Fort for an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galle Heritage Villa Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing