We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A real Galle fort experience"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing
Ranked #12 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

As soon as we entered the villa we were bit anxious since we were being to jetwing hotels at Negambo two times and we were more likely to see big villas ,spa,swimming pool,but there wasn't anything. However one guy in a black t-shirt told us he is in charge and we were warmly welcomed with a pleasant Sri Lankan smile and later we found out his name was Udara. Within few minutes he managed to provide us cold towels and fresh juice which made our long journey relaxed. After all same person person told us that we are able to use the pool and spa at their sister's hotel if at our request and it made our day . The room in upstairs was excellent than we expected with arranged flowers and bathroom was quite big. In the evening time Udare showed us historic Galle fort and he accompanied us for nearly 2 km with us and explained all the ins and outs of Historic Galle Fort. We were very lucky to have such a wel informed person by our side. Specially in the next day we had a credit card problem with the bank in Galle, with great disappointment we had to get back to hotel. After all udare helps us to solve that problem by contacting one of his friends to us. it was really extraordinary as we offered some money for him for his utmost assistance, he declined and said he doesn't expect any return for his help. That was unbelievable. "Udare you are a great gentleman and hope to see you again with your lovely smile". We both would like to wish you good luck with your future asssignments and people like you should be a precious gem to your Jetwing company. honest, talented young gentleman like you can make the company and srilanka a better place in this world.
We will be back to Srilanka again in next year but unfourtanely we won't stay at Galle.anyhow we will come to see you.i'm pretty sure you will have a great future with your pleasnat smile and hope you will do well at Jetwing Hotels Company in Srilanka. And we would like to recommend this place any one who expects 100% customer satisfaction with their exceptional customer Service.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper middle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Hidden in Fort Galle and surrounded by a completely different experience is Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing. It is truly unique and has its own charm to it. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy this one of a kind experience and that you enjoyed it.

Our team there is trained to cater to our guests on a very personal level, and make them feel at home from the time they arrive at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing. I will pass on your comments to the team at the property, especially Udara and commend them for the service they have provided you with. Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing is the ideal place to get away, relax, and unwind, and we do our best to provide the guests with a holiday never to be forgotten, and I am glad to see that you experienced just that.

Thank you once again for your very kind review on Trip Advisor, and we hope to see you back at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I booked the Galle Heritage Villa based on a number of images of the place that we saw on Agoda.com. Though the images were nice, the place was better than we had anticipated, for the price we paid.

The place was great, built as an old fashioned Dutch bungalow. The moment you enter, you are welcomed with a tall glass of refreshing papaya juice. The rooms were well decorated and equipped with brand new furniture and complimentary accessories. Although we booked what is supposed to be the smaller rooms at the bungalow, the room contained a canoupy bed, a spacious bathroom and a sizable TV.

The Villa was maintained by three highly knowledgible and helpful caretakers, who provided excellent recommendations with respect to dining and sightseeing to attain a complete Galle Fort experience.

The one downside might be the fact that they dont offer their guests dinner. However this is hardly a problem because the minute you step out of the bungalow, you are connected to streets filled with European style cafes serving tasty food at decent prices (< 10 USD/person).

All in all, the Galle Heritage Villa was excellent and we would encourage anyone and everyone to spend a night there.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SahanMayumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing is indeed an amazing place to stay when your travels bring you to this side of the country. The villa offers a guest an extremely different experience and personalized service. I am happy you were able to enjoy your stay while taking in the complete Galle experience.

Thank you for your compliments on the room and the in room facilities we have present in the spacious rooms at the property. The team at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing is highly trained and is equipped to cater the best possible service to all our guests. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team. The villa is unique in its own way and located in a central point in Galle, and there is great history behind it; but it would not be the same experience if we did not have a properly dedicated set of staff to serve our guests and their every need.

Thank you for your absolutely positive comments on Trip Advisor, and I look forward to having you back at the Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing when your travels bring your to the stunning South Coast of Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Beautiful room. The only complaint is that the wifi is very weak but this seems to have more to do with the electrical supply (as evidenced at other properties in the area) than the router itself.
Lovely setting in the middle of galle fort with the use of the swimming pool and all amenities at the lighthouse hotel owned by the same company.
The staff were very helpful and very nice. Breakfasts delicious. The room was beautiful.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWAFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We here at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing are truly appreciative of your comments.

Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing is a completely different experience to the frequent traveler. It is located within the historic Galle Fort and offers a completely unique experience to the guests who patronize the property. We do offer the guests all the facilities to use, and it is located about a 5 min drive from the villa. The two swimming pools and the food and dining experiences tend to be much enjoyed by our guests, and it is an ideal getaway from to relax and enjoy the beach.

We thank you once again for your comments, and hope to see you back at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

we had the perfect beds on this trip (huge, soft 4-poster-beds with mosquito-nets) - the room itself was lovely and also was the rest of this old building.
But the Wifi didn't work, the fan was not perfect working and the TV not working at all. We got
exuses because of bad weather and they will fix it up another day. We would have stayed possibly another night but we got the feeling they think we are stupid. Just around the corner the TV was working perfectly well in a little shop and also the Wifi in a close bar.
Next morning we got told we can't have breakfast before 8.00 .. so we waited. They get the breakfast delivered from the Jetwing Lighthouse (which is ok) but we got just fruitjuice and muffins. We had to wait 35 minutes for Eggs, etc. and we gave up for coffee and tea. We left in anger to be honest. The service and managment has to improve big style if they want to have 4 stars!

Room Tip: Just 4 rooms - so have a look on the internet which you like most
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

I can not thank you enough for leaving us this review on Trip Advisor. At Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, we give priority to guests and their satisfaction is our biggest reward. I appreciated reading the positives that you found at our property and I am glad you were able to enjoy the room and the location of Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing.

I have taken all the negative comments you have stated on board, and we are in the process of a more efficient way of transporting breakfast from Jetwing Lighthouse, as we realize that different guests have different expectations. I have also organized a training program for the associates who work at the property to up service levels and standards, and I hope that in the future these problems will be completely eliminated. I would also like to inform you that the cable tv and the wifi that gave you troubles during your stay have been completely fixed and the fault at the time was due to an issue with the outside agents who are responsible for both these services. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused with the matters above to your holiday, but we are happy to tell you that everything has been addressed and future guests will not have to go through the same issues.

I thank you once again for your patience and hope to see you back at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing in the future and hope to amaze you with the new experience.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

perfect beds, nice rooms, BUT no wifi working, no tv working ... just excuses
than next morning we got told that we can't have breakfast before 8.00. we waited till 8.35 and gave it a miss because not even a cup of tea showed up ...
needs big improvment in customer service + basic facilities

Room Tip: check tv, aircon and wifi before you get settled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Trip Advisor and I am sorry to hear about issues that have seems to have plagued your holiday at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing.

Upon reading this review I ordered an inquiry into the issues you had faced, and is in the process of finding out what exactly went wrong. I feel terrible for the situation with the TV and also the internet but that was down to the adverse weather conditions we faced during that period. Although it was a problem out of our control, I am pleased to say that both the cable TV and the internet is now working.

Although I have not been able to understand quite how the breakfast was delayed after talking to the associates who work there they told me that breakfast was served and they were preparing the coffee when you left. I would also like you to contact me directly (robert@jetwinghotels.com ) to clarify the issue with breakfast.

I also do believe that our reservation team has got in touch with you already. I hope it is satisfactory and we are able to make up for delays and the other problems you faced during your stay.

If your travels bring you back to Sri Lanka please contact me personally so I can look in to your stay with Jetwing and make sure it is nothing but the best we can offer.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Heritage Villa is well-located and the 4 rooms have some charm, but the owners are thousands of miles away and it shows in the service. While Jetwing manages it, their priorities seem elsewhere. In fact, there are a few very nice but quite untrained young men (one is clearly a teenager) who "run" the place. Forget the breakfast which wasn't available till 45 minutes after the official start time and got quite screwed-up, even getting a cup of coffee proved too much of a challenge. The two ground floor rooms are quite noisy. Jetwing (and perhaps the absentee owners) need to pay attention to this orphaned property.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypefreetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing to spend your time in Galle. It was most certainly our pleasure having you with us and would also like to apologize for the problems that you had faced during your stay at the property.

After going through your review I have inquired about it as guest satisfaction is our foremost aim here at Jetwing. The delay in the breakfast was due to a lack of communication and a transport breakdown. I am terribly sorry about these events that lead to a delay in serving your breakfast. I will make sure permanent solutions are placed as assurance that this kind of situation is not faced by any of our guests in the future.

I would also that the team is trained and are able to work and comply with the standards we demand at all our properties. We normally, based on previous and verbal comments received for good service levels and attention. At Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, like all our other properties we have genuine concern for our guests and we put them first. We like all our guests to leave with a smile and fond memories, and we have not abandoned the property by any means.

I also assure you that we have taken aboard your review and that it has helped us identify areas we need to improve on. I welcome you back to the Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing the next time you visit Sri Lanka, and let us show you how true Jetwing hospitality feels like.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing is a good base right in the heart of the historic Galle Fort. This makes for easy exploring of the fort. It consists of 4 large rooms only, each with an en-suite bathroom - 2 on the ground floor, 2 on the upper level. The quieter rooms are on the upper level. It really is a fort house, so does not have a hotel feel - it feels more like a B&B. I thought USD 70 per night/per room was good value which is managed by an established hotel chain and by far cheaper than the other 3*+ options available.

Udara and the team are very accomodating, you just need to ask. Breakfast is served at any time that suits you which is a plus. You can choose between eggs or having a sri lankan breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again when back in Galle (if no other establishments have opened).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l-thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure having you with us, and the team is happy we were able to provide you with a memorable stay.

Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing is undoubtedly a completely different experience. Yes, it is more of a home within the historical Galle Fort rather than a hotel, but that charm and atmosphere only complements the concept and the feel we like our guests to enjoy. The team working at the villa are young and dynamic, striving to give a guest all the attention they require. They are trained to give personal service and to make sure every guest leaves the property satisfied and with the hope of returning back.

I also like to thank you again for visiting us at Heritage Villa by Jetwing and look forward to having you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 25 in Galle
159 reviews
4.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 25 in Galle
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lady Hill
Lady Hill
#12 of 25 in Galle
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing

Address: 71 Lighthouse Street, Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range: $142 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Galle Heritage Villa located in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Dutch Fort in Galle, Sri Lanka. The villa is a transformation of a 1950's Beverly Hills inspired mansion into a Colonial Dutch Villa, and boasts 4 large, elegantly decorated suites with luxuriously comfortable beds and spacious ensuite bathrooms with hot/cold water and all modern amenities. All guest suites are equipped with A/C and ceiling fans and cable TV viewing can be provided on request. Lofty hardwood ceilings and large windows give the villa a bright and airy feel with plenty of room to relax and unwind. Choose to have breakfast outdoors in the garden, the veranda or on the balcony. Complimentary wifi is available and free parking is provided.Experience life in the ancient Galle Fort by strolling down its narrow streets and alleys, admire the C17th colonial architecture, one of the best preserved anywhere in Asia, or jog along the 20 m high fortified ramparts while enjoying the dawn or the spectacular sunsets. Dip into the warm waters of the Indian Ocean from the nearby beach just 50 m from the villa. Come explore Galle and its enchanting Fort for an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galle Heritage Villa Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing