We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa and great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing
Ranked #13 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Beautiful villa located inside Galle Fort. Large and tastefully furnished room. Very clean house and great service. Great place to stay. Note that there is no in-house dinner but staff will get something for you from a nearby take-away though. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phiroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, and for being one of the first guests to stay at Galle Heritage Villa since it’s initiation into the Jetwing Family. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with Trip Advisor.

I hope you were not inconvenienced in any way during breakfast. Galle Heritage Villa does have a limited kitchen and it is a little difficult to serve a substantial meal without any prior notice. We do however have steps in place to serve you a variety of meal selections, on the condition that you give your butler the order the previous night.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we do hope you will return again in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

I had a splendid time in the Villa Heritage. Breakfast is delicious and the room are spacious and confy.
The two young men managing this place really made me feel at home*
Thank you guys
I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bretmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We went with a small group to see Sri Lanka for the first time and watch some cricket and soak up the culture.

Sri Lanka is destined to boom going forward and Galle and it's surrounds are a must see.
We booked out the whole villa which was ideal.

The villa was spacious, clean and the staff were great.
The home cooked meals were one of the highlights of our trip.
We shopped for our own seafood and gave the staff a menu for what we wanted for the meals each morning nad night.
They then brought in top flight Chefs from neighbouring restaurants who helped the staff to deliver a feast fit for a king.
A good base and a great way to have exeptional value, top quality breakfasts and dinners without leaving the villa. Ideal....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rovingrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel is quite spacious and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were by ourselves most of the time and barely saw any other guests. The rooms were quite big and well kept. The hotel is in the Galle fort area. A swimming pool is planned in planned to be built in the small yard. Breakfast is prepared by the staff and served on the terrace, this was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FerdinandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanjiffry, Owner at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

We were so happy to read your positive comments in your recent review of the Galle Heritage Villa. The management has been taken over by a very large and prestigious hotel group in Sri Lanka and yes, they have plans to add more amenities to the villa. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest level of service and excellence, and with this transition we are confident that the new management will raise it to an even higher level with the additional amenities.
Thank you once again for giving us excellent ratings and we do hope you will stay with us again, when you next visit Sri Lanka and Galle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had good time ghv in galle.
Exelent room and verry clean.
Comfoteble bathrooms.unfogetable
Nic smell. Helpfull staff.

We hope to stay ower next trip
In GHV

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanjiffry, Owner at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Dear Roshen,
The GHV team wanted to thank you for your recent review and more importantly for choosing to stay at the Galle Heritage Villa. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your positive comments about the staff and the villa. As always, our primary focus is the needs and comfort of our guests as we continue to strive for excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Galle and the villa, when you next visit Sri Lanka.
Thank you again.
The GHV team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Heritage Villa is a stunningly nice boutique Villa in the Galle Fort in a great location. It is very tastefully furnished and the accommodation is high quality, spacious and very clean. The staff on the spot, managed by Zinnan, were very friendly and made us feel very comfortable and homely.
The Breakfast was excellent as well !
Great place to stay if you want to be in a Heritage town - Galle Fort - a very charming place to be in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diasweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanjiffry, Owner at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Thank you so very much for your review on the Galle Heritage Villa and for giving us superior ratings on the different categories. We were absolutely delighted to have you as guests of the villa and really do appreciate you choosing our villa over the other many choices you had. We are very glad that overall you were satisfied with your experience, and that we were able to make it one of your best holidays. Serving our guests is the focus of what we strive to achieve, and we would love to welcome you back when you next visit Sri Lanka and the Galle area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This villa and the rooms are very beautiful. It is airy, spacious, lots of character, and has beautiful unique sri lankan furniture. The other reviews describe the house well. The location is also excellent, right in the fort itself.

However, the service was poor:
1. They asked for immediate up front payment for our room upon our arrival and only accepted cash (we were not informed in advance of this unusual requirement). When we used them to book a taxi for us back to Colombo, they also asked for advance payment the day before (we refused). The staff explained this was the owner's request.
2. There was a minor leak from the roof, landing directly onto our bed. We reported this to the staff and showed him the wet spot on the pillow. However, no action was taken to resolve it - or if they did do something, they didn't update us. Luckily it didn't rain again
3. They offered us a local specialty, hoppers, for breakfast - without informing us that it was not cooked on site. As a result, the hoppers arrived cold and hard. The western breakfast is much better as it is cooked on site, although a bit slow to arrive.

The two young men running the place appeared to be genuinely trying their best, so perhaps it was the fault of the owner (who didn't seem very friendly the one time we met him); or lack of training. It's a shame, because otherwise it would have been a really wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanjiffry, Owner at Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2011

We are so very sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. It is very disappointing to read of the inconveniences you experienced and we truly hope that you will accept our sincere apologies.
The minor leak from the ceiling was checked promptly and fixed by our staff. We are also looking at different payment options and will be implimenting them soon.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback, as it is extremely important to us in our continuous efforts to deliver the very best experience for each of our guests. We do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to the Galle area.
Sincerely,
The GHV management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 26 in Galle
1,834 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
3.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 26 in Galle
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 26 in Galle
255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 26 in Galle
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lady Hill
Lady Hill
#13 of 26 in Galle
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing

Address: 71 Lighthouse Street, Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range: $204 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Galle Heritage Villa located in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Dutch Fort in Galle, Sri Lanka. The villa is a transformation of a 1950's Beverly Hills inspired mansion into a Colonial Dutch Villa, and boasts 4 large, elegantly decorated suites with luxuriously comfortable beds and spacious ensuite bathrooms with hot/cold water and all modern amenities. All guest suites are equipped with A/C and ceiling fans and cable TV viewing can be provided on request. Lofty hardwood ceilings and large windows give the villa a bright and airy feel with plenty of room to relax and unwind. Choose to have breakfast outdoors in the garden, the veranda or on the balcony. Complimentary wifi is available and free parking is provided.Experience life in the ancient Galle Fort by strolling down its narrow streets and alleys, admire the C17th colonial architecture, one of the best preserved anywhere in Asia, or jog along the 20 m high fortified ramparts while enjoying the dawn or the spectacular sunsets. Dip into the warm waters of the Indian Ocean from the nearby beach just 50 m from the villa. Come explore Galle and its enchanting Fort for an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galle Heritage Villa by Jetwing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galle Heritage Villa Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing