We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and good tuk-tuk”
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #71 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice room and good tuk-tuk”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in October. We had room 1 at the top of the main building.
The room was big and comfortable. AC, fan and TV (didn't check the channels). Good waterpreassure in the shower. If you need privacy in the bathroom, you will probably feel a little uncomfortable in the room we had. The wall between bath- and bedroom stops about one meter before the ceiling, and the door is "Wild West Saloon -style"
The guesthouse is situated bang in the middle of the fort.
Standard brekkie. Good resturant, although a bit pricy, on the other side of the road.
I would strongly recomend the tuk-tuk at the guesthouse. We used him on two different occations. The price was fair, and the driver is very helpful and not pushy.
This place is good value at 5000 rupies.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms before you decide. Some of the rooms was rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sihanoukville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    90
    53
    28
    16
See reviews for
28
126
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at Frangipani Motel for a couple of nights in November and got a double room with fan. We didn't take the breakfast.

Plus :
- Very well located inside Galle Fort.
- Room was very clean and so was the big bathroom.
- Wifi worked correctly.
- Got a fair discount as we stayed more than one night and it was not yet the high season.

Minus :
- The room was quite dark with a big wall 2m far from the window, although not a big issue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jijipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here overnight but a friend recommended it for lunch which was delicious, very fresh and very contemporary. Seafood ceviche, calamari and yellow fin tuna salad. Really really good and a great position on the ocean. The pool looked nice but it was raining so we didn't use it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moxo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was impressed with this place- one of the best rooms I stayed in during my 3 week trip in Sri Lanka in the Rs2000-3000 per night bracket. Modern, spotlessly clean and very central. Was able to negotiate better rate but could have been because was fairly low season.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsonlegarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Large rooms with balconies, small grass area, free wifi!
Great location.
Clean, comfortable, fan or ac!
3500 rupees for fan room which was enough for the time of year we were there (September)
HOT WATER SHOWERS

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

one of the most expensive rooms during my trip (without breakfast included), but not the best (bit dark, cold water most of the times, aircon only if i've paid even more, staff was moderately friendly..)

breakfast was good, we also did a tour with one of the staff (and their tuktuk), which was nice to see some more of the surroundings of galle,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in this motel in August 2013 with the two of us. The room itself was not very clean. Still we had to pay 3500 rupees for a small bedroom without AC. Futhermore, the fan was not working properly. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilbert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#20 of 125 in Galle
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#28 of 125 in Galle
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#15 of 125 in Galle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weltevreden
Hotel Weltevreden
#89 of 125 in Galle
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#3 of 125 in Galle
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#9 of 125 in Galle
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Property: Frangipani Motel
Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing