We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room but no atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frangipani Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #177 of 274 Galle B&B and Inns
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice room but no atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Despite being a family run guest house the family were very hidden and not particularly helpful when answering questions (to the point where we only stayed 1 night not 2 as initially planned). I'm not sure if this was just as we were staying during buddhist new year or if it is like this all the time. It is a clean room with nice air con and great location in the middle of galle fort. Unfortunately they don't provide any food meaning that you have to walk at night in the dark to get dinner which was fairly safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1234Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    88
    51
    28
    16
See reviews for
28
124
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The guest house is conveniently situated in the interesting Galle Fort. The owner was friendly when we arrived. The room was clean, the towels thread bare, no coffee/tea making facilities and no means to make any elsewhere. Breakfast was the same every morning, eggs, toast, fresh fruit or juice not both, good tea or coffee. The room wasn't cleaned unless you left your room key on the dining table !!! The owner's brother was very helpful and friendly. He owns a Tuk Tuk and car. We used both at a resonable price. Was quite disappointed with the place considering the good reviews it was given. However Galle Fort is a charming place, good ambience, safe with good cafes and restaurants. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Woodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taxbiex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Frangipani Motel is in a good location in the centre of Galle Fort and is set back from the street so there is a nice area to have breakfast. Our room on the ground floor was OK (although the furnishings are a bit eccentric - pink and blue mosquito nets) and the shower is very good but the general fittings were getting a bit old and could do with replacing. The worst thing was the number of mosquitoes in the room and although there were nets, there must have been some holes as we got bitten. However, the family who run the motel are very friendly and with just a little TLC this could be really good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for three nights and after visiting different towns / cities in Sri Lanka, this was certainly our favourite place that we stayed. The room was clean, with fresh clean towels. Our room had both air con and a fan and both were of good quality so you could choose which one you would prefer to use. The shower was the perfect temperature. Like most of the guest houses in Galle, it is part of the family's home so you really do feel at home! The family are really friendly and helpful. The guest house is very central to the Forte area. The price of the room doesnt include breakfast but breakfast is still available.
We had no complaints and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnishPasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Thüringen, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Located in the heart of the old town so that is perfect. The rooms and place itself however are all very clean but unless you like kitsch and sterility it is not so romantic. The owners are semi friendly but also all a bit in your face. and cleaning starts at 7am and never seems to stop - so there is always someone sweeping, bleaching or dusting around you or right outside your room. It is O.K but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Friendly guesthouse, with friendly helpful family. Decent rooms with good fans, comfy bed, good AC and mosquito nets. Overall clean, spacious. We didn't eat, so can't rate the food. Minor low shower water pressure problem (2nd floor) but not bad.
Would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

5000 LKR for a room without air condition and hot water. A big business for owners because of Lonely Planet travel guide book's tip.
Not recommended. you can find more affordable, cheaper and much nicer accommodation in Galle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf_Vohnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#47 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weltevreden
Hotel Weltevreden
#225 of 274 in Galle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#81 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedlar's Inn Hostel
Pedlar's Inn Hostel
#50 of 1,158 in Southern Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#27 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#31 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Property: Frangipani Motel
Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing