We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Coffee with Lime Juice Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #175 of 274 Galle B&B and Inns
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black Coffee with Lime Juice Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Frangipani Motel in Galle whilst visiting Sri Lanka for the cricket last year . I found the landlady most helpful and knowledgeable about all things in the Galle area l would fully recommend this hotel + its in a great location within the Fort a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ants54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    88
    50
    28
    16
See reviews for
27
124
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this establishment,chosen on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and we really cannot agree with or understand the glowing remarks made by other travellers. On the positive side, the breakfasts were fine, the family were friendly and the position in the centre of the Fort area was good. On the negative side, the room was not cleaned, or linen and towels changed in the whole of our stay and we had to provide our own toilet paper after the first day.The electrics to the shower were potentially lethal. Mosquitoes were rampant in the room, including inside the mosquito net, which had been conveniently left open to better see the prettily arranged flowers on the bed. There was no insect killer to combat this situation and we left in a VERY bitten state! The final dissatisfaction came when, on our departure morning, we arranged with the family for them to take us to the rail station. We returned after a quick shop,ready for the transfer, to find that the driver had gone out on a more lucrative trip, which we could understand, but that we had sat around for 15 minutes and the rest of the family had not bothered telling us until we enquired. This Inevitably meant we almost missed the train whilst alternative transport was found.
Overall, the establishment is in the wrong price price bracket for the level of service and facilities provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieRolo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galle hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in Room 1 for two nights and loved having such a big room and almost-exclusive use of the roof terrace. The room is on its own at the top of the house, leading out onto the roof terrace, so it's very private and perfect for a relaxing stay. We only saw one other person up on the terrace while we were there.

Our room had a lovely big bed with a good mosquito net and air conditioning. The bathroom was big and had plenty of hot water, but it felt a bit mucky once we'd had a shower because it's a wet room. Our room was not serviced while we were there.

We had dinner in the garden one night and it was fine but choice was very limited, perhaps because we ordered quite late, The space is a bit odd - there was someone's underwear drying on the line right next to our table. Breakfast was not included in the rate and we had ours at one of the other many cafes within very easy walking distance.

The guesthouse is very centrally located within the fort, although the fort is so small that location would probably never be an issue anyway. The streets are very quiet at night so we were not at all disturbed, especially because we were so high up. The house has a nice atmosphere and was very clean and it seemed like there were various places, inside and out, where guests could sit to relax. We found the staff and the family who own the motel to be really friendly.

We would definitely recommend a stay in Room 1 if you're in Galle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The Frangipani motel is located in the middle of Galle Fort, in a charming building. The owners also live in the building, which gices it a nice atmosphere. The staff is kind, but very business oriented, not neccesarily guest friendly. While sitting and reading in the garden at 10pm we were requested to leave, because they were going to sleep. The room was very nice, with a large and clean bathroom. In the Lonely Planet this is considered a Top Choice, well we would say it's a good choice, but certainly not a top choice. Prices were good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan-WillemMalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had booked this guest house based on good reviews I had in my guides. Guest house is owner's house with guest rooms at upper floor.

The room I had was great and nicely decorated. Bathroom was clean and recent. But don't expect to have a full conversation with them, they hardly speak english.

Place has a terrace where you can get the wifi. There's also the living room but there always are some people from the family staying and lying on the couch.

I liked the comfort of the room and the peaceful terrace but to me the staff was completely absent. If you need something, you can expect to wait. Also, they do not serve dinner.

Finally I had a bad experience with the tuk tuk driver from the place who tried to rip me off and became aggressive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feel_the_air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a lovely relaxing stay. We would recommend the top room, Room 1 as it has a large balcony outside and is very spacious. The staff were very helpful with whatever we needed, whether an adaptor plug, trips to local sights or even to find a good doctor.
Sunsets from the fort wall are a must whenever possible as they are stunning and full of locals.

Room Tip: We had booked a standard room downstairs but the top room was free and i'm very glad we paid ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The top room at Frangipani is worth the extra for the space, balcony and air conditioning! The location is perfect for all the best cafe's, restaurants and places of interest. I had to make a trip to the hospital while staying and the staff were amazing, accompanying me all the way and helping with translations/prescriptions.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepSakeOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weltevreden
Hotel Weltevreden
#223 of 274 in Galle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#77 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#42 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#27 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedlar's Inn Hostel
Pedlar's Inn Hostel
#56 of 1,152 in Southern Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Palace Guest House
Secret Palace Guest House
#154 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Property: Frangipani Motel
Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing