We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms”
Review of Frangipani Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frangipani Motel
Ranked #39 of 167 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was the best accommodation during our stay in Sri Lanka. The room is absolutely wonderfully decorated, with a comfortable four post bed - with fresh flower petals on the bed cover. It was good value for money.
The service was average - we felt that the owners / family tried to take advantage of us staying there by offering a very high price for taxi to Colombo. Instead we took an express minibus from the bus station at a fraction of the price (excellent!).
We rented a motorbike from the guesthouse at a reasonable price to visit nearby beaches and some souvenir shops.
Galle is a bit touristy, but still a charming place with lovely cafes, restaurants and shops within the walls of the old city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdaJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have travelled to Sri Lanka several times. I have stayed in all levels of accommodation from sand floored huts to five star resorts. The Frangipani is a lovely old building in the fort and the proprietor is very helpful, friendly and runs what feels like a home stay experience. It is in a great location. I'll definitely stay again. The owners are also associated with the very beautiful Mango House nearby. I also like this place very much. Galle is a great experience. And the Frangipani fits it well.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank vonGawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Due to the Test Match we booked and paid for our room 6 months in advance. However when we arrived we were informed that there wasn't a room for us but they had sorted out alternative accommodation. Both of the rooms we were offered were substandard and not worth the money we had paid so we refused them. We were continually told that all rooms were fully booked. As there wasn't any accommodation available nearby we reluctantly accepted a dingy ground floor room with mould on the ceiling - certainly not 'deluxe with balcony'!! That night we counted 2 empty deluxe rooms which we were denied!! The next day people walked in off the street to deluxe rooms at grossly inflated prices!! The owners still told us they were full. Eventually after 3 nights we walked out as we were fed up of being told lies and that they refused to honour our booking.
The Frangipani is a nice building in a good location but please consider whether you wish to give your business to people who are only concerned with the money, not their guests. There are plenty of other good guest houses nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alinannabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We found the Frangipani Motel on the internet - we'd not read any reviews but later read the favourable review in 'The Lonely Planet' guide. We completely agree with the review; this is a charming family run guest house. Everybody was very welcoming but especial mention must be made of Ajith, who was enormously helpful in offering advice, sorting out transport for us and facilitating our trip further east on the coast. Excellent food, too; we especially recommend the egg hoppers - delicious. You can't really go wrong here and the central location in Galle Fort is another bonus. Come to the Frangipani - you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: f you can, get the roof-top room - a wonderful airy and spacious room - but, when we arrived, we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, large room, guesthouse in great location, had one meal which was really great. They also serve beer! However when it was time to check out we were charged again for our room even though we had paid on the day we had arrived, I guess our fault as we handed the money to the owner who was napping on the couch and kept invoice without having it stamped paid, she denied receiving it. Very handy way of making an extra $40 a night. Turned what was a lovely stay into a very bad experience. They deal in a lot of cash so no way of finding out if they were over on the day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very central motel in the fort area of Galle. We stayed for one night which was enough. Everything was clean and comfortable, although you wouldn't want to spend much time in the rather uninspiring room.

Decent value for money overall.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Great_Stuartio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at the Frangipani Motel for 2 nights in January 2012- what a lovely experience! Galle is a lovely town- it is so beautiful to just walk the streets all day. We payed 3000 rupees for a air conditioned room with private bathroom, which was more than we wanted to pay for accommodation, but well worth it! The room had a gorgeous four poster bed with mosquito netting, as well as satellite tv, air conditioning, and a huge bathroom with a hot water shower. I was impressed with the room, but it should be said that the service was the reason that we enjoyed this guest house so much. The family really made us feel at home, and was very helpful in arranging transportation and giving us directions to the sights. Excellent value and an excellent guest house!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0 mi away
Fort Inn Guest House
Fort Inn Guest House
#31 of 167 in Galle
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#12 of 167 in Galle
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#19 of 167 in Galle
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#5 of 167 in Galle
552 reviews
0 mi away
Muhsin Villa
Muhsin Villa
#11 of 167 in Galle
101 reviews
0 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 167 in Galle
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Motel

Address: 35 Pedlar Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $34 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frangipani Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frangipani Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing