We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Inn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort Inn Guest House
Ranked #77 of 274 Galle B&B and Inns
名古屋市, 愛知県
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I really enjoyed stay here.
The owners are very helpful and friendly.
There're everything,clean room,hot water shower,free wifi and tasty meals.

Highly recommend the Fort Inn to anybody travelling to Galle.

I'd love to go once again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAaaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    72
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
99
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. We enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast is lovely, hot water shower and free wifi. The owners are very helpful and friendly. They gave us recommendations, helped us to get Tuktuks (+ which prices are reasonable to pay). If you are looking for something easy going at a reasonable price, you should consider staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor. We didn't have a view as it is located next to a roof, but ti does l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrinavc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

stayed in fort fifty inn, which is under the same management of fort inn, for 2 nights and i had my best nights in sri lanka. The host family is lovely and nice, the host lady is helpful and her son is adorable. The room priced reasonable and provides with hot water and free wifi, everything is accessible since the staff is helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights. The owner (wife) always has a big lovely smile, and her little son is so cute. The guest house is very clean and wi-fi signal is stable and good in the room. Strongly recommended...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Technolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We've booked this guest house but upon arrival was shown the way to Fort Fifty Inn which is under the same management on the basis that Fort Inn was fully booked. The owner should have told us this as our expectation was based on the good tripadvisor reviews. We came over to Fort Inn for breakfast the next day and met the lady owner. She is friendly and explained her problems on the poor quality of Fort Fifty. She said that she has informed our driver who did the booking for us that Fort Inn was not available on the night we wanted and will put us in Fort Fifty Inn instead. Our driver told us he was not informed otherwise he would have told us accordingly since we could still make other plans as our booking was made way in advance. For US$45 per night including breakfast, its over-priced for a night's stay at Fort Fifty. See my review on Fort Fifty under Fort Fifty Inn. That property is in need of a repair and to charge a same price without telling the guest beforehand is not a nice thing. Although we sympathise with the owner as they are nice people, its really about giving your guest a nice experience and a fair deal.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Low H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanul, Owner at Fort Inn Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Please see the she's review on FORT FIFTY INN PAGE. Becourse they stayed at fort fifty inn. not in our guest house, she wrote a review on ourpage. but she wanted to book a room in our guest house she gave our number to the travel agent. when travel agent call to us we are fully booked as they request date. then i gave to FORT FIFTY INN number as a help to travel agent. but he didn't said that guest want to staying in our FORT INN GUEST HOUSE. If i know that reason i never inradused anothe hotel for them ,becourse it's not good for our lots of good comments on this site., travel agent wants to just book a hotel for one night with his facilities. when they arrived to our hotel .when they arriving to our hotel we faced a big problem then i explain to the guest what happend. Thats only.
but i know somthings with this booking. that FORT FIFTY INN charged only 36US$ B/B BASIS.
Also that money paid from travelagent. not the clients.
all in all we had this review on ourside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I've spent here 2 nights in early september 2011 with my son and my wife and everything about this guesthouse was just perfect. It is situated in old beautiful Galle ant it is run by a very friendly couple. The room was spacious enough with fan and AC + mosquito net, the bath adequate with hot water. It's also possible to have meals in the guesthouse and rice and curry served by Rasika is sublime!! There is a laptop that guests can use for accessing the internet totally free of charge. This place is a REAL guesthouse and the most beautiful thing about it is the fact that it is really a pleasure to spend a few hours sitting on the sofa and discussing with the owners (they will easily become your friends!).
IMPORTANT NOTICE:
In Galle, either if you arrive by train or bus, you would probably meet some men suggesting you other places rather than this,(because it is closed or it's surely fully booked, they say...): that it's because some other places pay them commissions... (common thing in Sri Lanka, unfortunately...). Insist for going where you planned to go!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I had a lovely time staying at the fort inn. This family run guest house is centrally located in the fort and has everything you could ask for. Both Rasikas and chanul are absoulute superstars and a real credit to themselves and Sri Lanka. From the introductory email with offer to be picked up from the station to the packed lunch for the day I left their attention to detail was excellent. By the end of my stay there I felt like one of the family and was sad to go. Thank you all so so much. Ian

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#28 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#8 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#42 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Palace Guest House
Secret Palace Guest House
#154 of 274 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#27 of 274 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Inn Guest House

Property: Fort Inn Guest House
Address: 31 Pedlar Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Inn Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
04 no. of room family run guest house invite to you stay with us, shere your experience with our family.5 minutes by tuk tuk from the bus or railway station. no.31, Pedler Street, Fort, Galle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Fort Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Inn Guest House Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing