We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing ...One of the Best places we ever stayed............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jetwing Kurulubedda
Ranked #3 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
“Simply Amazing ...One of the Best places we ever stayed............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found about "Kurulubedda" by chance when me and my wife were looking for a weekend getaway. At first we were bit unsure about the place but as soon as we were at the hotel we realize how lucky we were to come to Kurulubedda.
In short Kurulubedda is one of the best places if you want to spend some quality relaxing time with lot of privacy (No wonder the guest book is filled with great complements from Honeymoon couples)
Food :
For me and my wife the food was perfect (Not sure if this will true for everyone but if you want a full buffet meal you only have to take a 5 min drive to the jetwing Light House hotel - We went there only for lunch)
The Room :
Sleep quality was perfect and the room is more than enough for a couple but you have to make sure to keep the doors shut specially during the evening because of the mosquitoes.
Plunge Pool:
really nice..clean and filled with cool water. perfect to have a dip after spending some time in the beach (We went to the beach neat the Jetwing Light house hotel) .But not temperature regulated. So this will be good if you only prefer a nice cold bath
Staff:
One of the best (Actually the best we ever met in a hotel in Sri Lanka). There are only 4 of them and apart from the chef everyone do everything at the hotel. Our room boy/personal assistant/Butler "Saman" was really good with my DSLR camera. And because of him we were able to get some really nice couple photos. The staff was really friendly and tried to full fill all our needs best they can. And when we were about to leave the hotel I found out that they even gave a free car wash to remove some mud stains in the car, So huge thank goes to the staff

Conclusion: Definitely we will go back

Room Tip: If you want privacy in the plunge pool go for the villa 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManjukaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Kurulubedda, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor. At Jetwing Kurulubedda it is something extremely unique and serene that a guest experiences from the moment they walk in. It is a completely different experience from what is the norm in Galle, Sri Lanka. Upon arriving at Jetwing Kurulubedda you are surrounded by plants and diverse bird life.

I am happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. The service we provide is very personalized to go hand in hand with the cozy and intimate feel of the property. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities including the plunge pools, the food, and also the service which we have high expectations of as in a small property like this can be the deciding factor of whether a guest leaves satisfied or not so satisfied. I will pass your compliments on to the entire team.

Thank you again for recommending us this highly, and we look forward to seeing you back at Jetwing Kurulubedda in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    26
    12
    3
    8
See reviews for
14
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

A different aspect of one's experience in Galle.. Usually, when Galle is thought of, it is just the beach, but Kurulubedda with the flexibility allowed to have meals and use the pool at Lighthouse just gives another meaning to the otherwise "beach only" experience Galle gives..

When you are at Kurulubedda, you would not feel that you are in Galle.. It feels like you are taken to a another part of Sri Lanka.. The property is down a narrow road just opposite Lighthouse and the best part is that until you get inside the property, you would not feel the wilderness, as the entrance and all is just normal and nothing grand..

Apart from the beauty of the nature, the most important feature at Kurulubedda is the staff, Sujith and Saman.. They make the beautiful location full of hospitality.. Sujith definitely cooks really tasty meals and did not fail to live up to the expectations, as expected in the previous reviews here..

The food at both Kurulubedda and Lighthouse was really great and the stay at Kurulubedda was so relaxing.. The plunge pool at the bottom level of the deck was another heavenly experience!

Since we got a good rate under the Room Rush promotion, it was definitely Value for Money too!

I would end this by saying "A MUST for Honeymooners"! However one day is not sufficient to enjoy fully..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Kurulubedda, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Jetwing Kurulubedda is a very different property to the other accommodation options you will find in Galle, in the South of Sri Lanka. When you walk in to Jetwing Kurulubedda, you are greeted by the group of associates we have based at the property to provide the best service to suit your need, and also the vast amount of green that seems to stretch as far as your eyes can see. It is a very important part of what we are doing at Jetwing Kurulubedda and the nature that surrounds it is a vital part of bringing this completely unique concept together.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Sujith and Saman, as they are a very vital part of the property and how satisfied a guest is when they leave. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy their services and food provided by them, and it is no doubt one of the most frequent compliments we receive. This setting and environment we have created is an ideal location for honeymooners and couples to come and completely get away and spend time with each other.

I also would like to thank you for recommending us so highly on Trip Advisor, and I hope to see you back at Jetwing Kurulubedda in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

this place is a bird sanctuary where there are only two private villas with privates pools..
here we had our private butler and chef who made awesome food for us..
u see flowers of different sorts and its complete nature.
u come to this place either by car or by a motor boat which drops u off at the dock of the villa itself... the river as many species but not dangerous one... we even got to see night crabs and water lizard in the area near our villa ...
but do carry mosquito replant there as u will be needing it at night when u sit outside...
the nature is at its best here...
kids are not allowed here due to the sanity of the place but if ur kid is well behaved and u take the responsibilty then they do allow too..
we had our 5 year old daughter with us who enjoyed this place more than us as she was so close to the nature plus the private pool was a bonus to her...
if u stay in galle then this is the place provided u love nature and not not much night life just for a night...

Room Tip: both the villas are the same so dosnt make a difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelhiHolidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Kurulubedda, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Jetwing Kurulubedda is a truly unique property where nature is blended in to the experience a guest is bound to have. The property is surrounded by a great variety of flora and fauna, and is a great place to spend time to get away from the busy city life. The many varieties of birds that can be found on the property and the surrounding areas have also made it a very popular with guests who frequent the property for just that reason.

The team here is put in place to provide individualized service to each and every one of our guests who visit Jetwing Kurulubedda. I am glad you were able to enjoy the hospitality extended by them. The secluded villas, blended in with the nature and personalized service is an ideal location for travelers who are looking to see a different side to Galle, and indulge themselves in extreme relaxation.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor and I appreciate your comments very much. Please do feel welcome to come back to Jetwing Kurulubedda when you travels bring you to Galle, Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qrendi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Such a disappointment to have to write this note. We were really looking forward to the Kurulubedda experience and we paid good money for it. It was our first wedding anniversary and from the photos we saw on the Kurulubedda website we were intrigued by the set up.

The mangrove forest, the elevated wooden walkway, and individual splash pool with each hut, seemed and actually are a true plus for this property.

Only to discover after our arrival that one of the staff was a true privacy invader. The guy who is employed as a chef, acted as our personal bodyguard, luggage porter, and a 24 on 7 security officer with us.

He kept following us around. The minute we set foot out of the bedroom there was no way he could leave us alone to enjoy the surroundings. The cherry on the cake was when at one point he instructed us to go and have dinner at the Jetwing Lighthouse "and then come back here!". Is this Alcatraz? He pushed himself too much and at many points he would stop infront of us staring in our eyes waiting for that extra tip.

Before going to dinner at the Lighthouse he told us that his shift was about to end. When asking whether he could provide us with a torch to find our way back, he put our mind to rest by saying that the security guard at the entrance of Kurulubedda will be ushering us back to our villa.
But to our astonishment when we arrived back close to 11pm he rushed to our aid. Not wearing the work uniform and smelling of alcohol he insisted with the other staff that he wanted to take us to our room. For the 4th time in a span of few hours he expected another tip.

We were supposed to spend 2 nights here but after a series of other mishaps we cancelled the last night. After complaing with the General Manager he offered a honeymoon suite at the Jetwing Lighthouse. The behaviour of the chef was promptly addressed and the worker came to apologise before our departure.

A few notes worth mentioning about the Kurulubedda.

1. There is no signage promoting this property. Our Sri Lankan guide/driver had to stop several times to finally find this place. The property does not even have a name plate on the facade.

2. We were shocked in finding that the cleaning upon our arrival was not done properly, at least in the bathroom. In one of the drawers in the wardrobe situated in the bathroom we found a black lacy underwear surrounded by a shower of gecko droppings. Showed the photos to the General Manager who apologised and pleaded us not to put the photos online.

3. The Kurulubedda property consists of only 2 villas. No internet, despite being advertised on booking.com that internet was included. We were never given a proper explanation of how the Kurulubedda works. In reality, one can either have breakfast and dinner in this property or else go to the Jetwing Lighthouse and enjoy all the buffet services, pool area etc free of charge. Transport to and fro the 2 properties is also provided free of charge by the company.

4. Many mosquitos around at the Kurulubedda. This is to be expected considering that the property is right next to a river. So be prepared and take all necessary measures. Gladly bedrooms are properly sealed with adequate pvc sheets and nice curtains. But this detail is somehow missing from the bathroom. Insects, mosquitos and geckos are free to roam. And if you forget to close the bathroom door, embrace yourself to a mosquito invasion.

5. On the second day the airconditioning was not working, actually emitting heat in the soaring temperatures. After this episode, we insisted that we wanted to move out and go to the Jetwing Lighthouse. The General Manager was very understanding and knowing all the background to the previous events, offered his apology and a quick solution. This is a true example of how customer relations work. Well done, and thanks for this.

All in all I strongly believe that Kurulubedda has the potential of a true lovely experience should the little obvious hurdles be addressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuliaFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Kurulubedda, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was my pleasure meeting you in the evening prior to your departure, on your last night and hope you had a safe journey back. I only wished that you had brought this up in our conversation and I would have looked in to it and discussed it with you both immediately as normally we only get very positive feedback from guests that stay in Jetwing Kurulubedda.
I would like to get in touch with you to find out further details to your stay at Jetwing Kurulubedda and I have tried to call you with no success. I would appreciate it if you could get in contact with me as soon as possible; my e-mail address is (robert@jetwinghotels.com).

I would like to apologize again for your bad experience and I hope to speak to you soon.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a beautiful place in a truly wonderful part of the world. We were so impressed with our rooms, the service and the facilities. It is gorgeous.

The start of our stay here was a little hindered by the fact that we weren't taken by boat to the hotel. This was a big draw card for me when booking but because we had a car with us(which we planned to leave at jetwing lighthouse when we checked in) we were told the boat wasn't an option. On asking another member of staff if we could get the boat, he said yes, but the man that initially said no replied with the same response and got in our car and told us to drive there. Perhaps this is not the easiest thing for them to do, but we made it very clear that we didn't want to take the car. We were also told that it only includes one boat trip per booking- I don't know how you are meant to get back if this is the case.

In saying that the location is great and the chef is so keen to impress- he came up after every meal to check it was okay. The buffet at lighthouse is probably te best buffet I've ever had! Definitely worth a stay here, but insist on the boat ride!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelenaFisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Kurulubedda, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor about Jetwing Kurulubedda. We appreciate every comment we get and look in to it personally.

Jetwing Kurulubedda is a very unique property situated in lush green surrounding and we are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. We like to offer our guests personalized service and make sure they are well looked after.

The boat transfers depends on a few factors, the weather and the availability of the boat plays a role is whether we can arrange a boat off on the day; but we do tend to organize boat drop offs as much as possible as it adds to the whole experience.

Thank you for choosing Jetwing Kurulubedda, and we hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a gem waiting to be discovered. On offer is a superb setting, lush greenery, outstanding service, and the absence of internet!

Right from the moment you arrive in a boat through stunning backwaters and dense mangrove forest to the elevated wooden walkway through the lush vegetation and water lilies, it is an absolute delight for your visual and aural senses.

The property allows you to soak in the sounds of the jungle and the sights of a wide variety of birds. Though located in the midst of a village, you really need to strain your ears to catch a human voice. Thankfully, there is no internet and you would do better not to switch on the TV - the programs are no match for the charms of this lovely property.

Sujith provided outstanding service and delectable cuisine and he was supported very well by Marage. However, I would recommend that the manpower be increased by at least one person to make the service even better, especially when both the villas are occupied and the number of guests in on the higher side.

If I am forced to criticize the resort, I would ask for the plunge pool water to be temperature-regulated. Also, the quality of linen could do with some improvement.

If I am asked to summarize, it would be easy - don't miss it!




Deepak K. Lal
Dubai

Room Tip: Go for Villa 1 for a better view. Villa 2, however, offers better privacy in the plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKL2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Kurulubedda, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

As you reach Jetwing Kurulubedda through a branch of one of the main water arteries in Sri Lanka, you think it can’t get any better. Then you step off boat, and in to one of the most scenic settings you can possibly picture. These two villas are the ideal place to relax and revitalize body and mind.

We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at this unique property. Sujith and Marage only add value to this one of a kind property and guests are very happy with the level of service they receive at the property. The property only has two villas and guests get individualized service, along with the stunning ambiance.

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the fact that you took the time to post this review. We hope to see you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

KURULU BEDDA – “HAMLET”
As a continuation of the article “ Traveller’s Tale” which described our travel “ in June 2011” to Sri Lanka after touring in Thailand ,this episode relates visiting an eco retreat model village called “ Kurulu bedda” in the close vicinity to the city of Galle and also making a short trip to see the Martin Wicramasinghe museum near Koggala – old Air Base .
‘Kurulu Bedda’ means literarily , a jungle environment set aside for a bird sanctuary.
‘Kurulu -Paluwa ‘ has been constructed for a different purpose. According to Dr Cyril Kariyawasam from university of Ruhuna , when paddy farmers prior to cultivating their rice fields , they set aside a small area for birds. About two weeks before starting to work on their main paddy fields, the village farmers collectively cultivate a small area for birds and insects. Birds and insects get used to feeding the paddy of this small area. Once the birds form a habit of eating paddy in this small area, they never bother to seek another area for their feeding. This is how village farmers have protected their main paddy fields from destruction by birds. Literarily , Kurulu Paluwa means “ the area devastated by birds” .
As I stepped into this model village , Kurulu bedda , my mind went back to over seventy years with re collection of my father’s vegetable garden. He developed the vegetable garden (“Elavalu Koratuwa” ) during his spare times. We as young boys (Six brothers ) had to work with him after school and during week-ends .
This kurulu bedda hamlet reminded me of my childhood days. Vegetable “ koratuwa” with plants that creep along ground and up (“ messa”) wooden structures with vege – fruits hanging seemed you are in a different world; especially the little cottage made of mud and bamboo walls with thatched roof, a small dwelling which has been built by the side of the model paddy field, take you back to your childhood days. There are no such dwellings to be seen in our village or other suburbs of Galle nowadays. Buffalo grazing in pasture and monkeys on fruit trees give an added attraction to the model village. Surrounding the jungle area of the village there are hundreds of birds singing and flying in flocks. An expert resident naturalist , has recorded over 56 species of birds in the area. We were invited to assist the farmers with the cultivation of the paddy and harvesting of the many variety of vegetables grown.
Kurulu bedda is part of the (Jet wing ) Lighthouse Hotel and is only a ten minutes boat ride up the Mahamodara river from the Hotel. Elevated wooden decked walkways took us to see the beautiful areas of the model village. The historic city of Galle is within a fifteen minute drive from Kurulu bedda .We spent a day here with the eco tranquil environment, while my family members engaged in other activities , I was meditating on ‘meththa’ ( loving kindness to all living beings ) and calming the mind thereby rejuvenating my brain cells.
Dr.Karu Liyanaratchi O.A.
M; JP

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Kurulubedda, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am really happy to have just read your review on Trip Advisor, and thank you for the feedback. This feedback helps in developing our team and facilities better, so every review is very important to us.

The team here at Jetwing Kurulubedda is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We have put together the villas at Jetwing Kurulubedda to give the guests a secluded and tranquil eco friendly space to relax, and rejuvenate themselves; we are pleased that guests are doing just that. The boat ride to the property and the wooden walkways that lead guests towards the two villas have been strategically built to give our guests the best experience possible and to allow them to take in the most out of the surroundings of the property. We also believe it is important that the surroundings are taken care of and maintained very carefully to make the Jetwing Kurulubedda experience one to remember. All this, along with the very modern and luxurious villas are sure to leave you with memories that last a lifetime.

We thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back with us, when your travels bring you back to the stunning Southern coast of Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Robert Claesson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Kurulubedda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Kurulubedda

Property: Jetwing Kurulubedda
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Kurulubedda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a boat ride along a quiet rivulet that leads up to Jetwing Kurulubedda, a scenic refuge in the coastal city of Galle that lies tucked away amidst lush greenery. Lose yourself in the peace and tranquillity of a tropical paradise and enjoy your very own contemporary luxury villa complete with a private plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing Kurulubedda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Kurulubedda Hotel Galle District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing