We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free choice of food and drinks”
Review of Pilgrims Lounge - CLOSED

Pilgrims Lounge
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free choice of food and drinks”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

it's not easy to find restaurants in Galle where you have the free choice of not eating halal-food and drinking some alcohol. Pilgrim's Lounge gives you that freedom. Beside of that they serve very good food and have a very friendly staff. So be there. You also can sit outside with a view on the old Galle-walls.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best bar in Galle”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had the best couple of nights here at pilgrims the drinks and food fantastic but the staff are just so friendly esp lucky.!!! Alot of places in Galle cannot sell liquor and you certainly cannot have a great Shri lankan curry without a cold beer !!!!without going to the swanky expensive posh joints in the fort area.this bar is conveniently located near the beach and it has a nice chilled out atmosphere with affordable drink prices we would highly recommend it and serves the best gin and tonics iif you are not a huge beer drinker like me !!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PVSEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This appears to be the only place for a drink in Galle after about 8. 30! It's a small place, opposite the battlements so great location. It does very reasonably priced beers and (generously portioned!) cocktails. Great service and vibe.

Helpful?
2 Thank Smartej32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice vibe and location for a drink”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Can't comment on the food as we only stopped for a drink - but this is one of not many places on Galle where you can do that... The ambience is kinda surf-shack / beach-bar, the service friendly and the cocktails good (we had something involving arrack and fruit juice which was the best use of that spirit we've had in quite a few places). It's very reasonably priced too. Definitely on a backpacker vibe and not as fancy as some places in Galle, but we liked that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank djtherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than just another bar”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We found Pilgrims Lounge by coincidence while we were looking for a bar that was still open on a quiet night in sleepy Galle. Fortunatly we passed by this little cosy place, where we were very welcome for a late drink. We sat down on the roof top terrace with a nice cold beer. The owner Namal was very friendly, willing to talk with us without obtruding himself. On this night, we were only three nights in Sri Lanka and we brought our travelling guides to plan our further holiday. Watching the whales and visiting a rainforest were the two things we really wanted to do in the following days. Namal helped us in our decision and contacted his friend to go watching the whales the next day and gave us his brothers telephone number for guiding us in Sinharaja Forest. It was a very nice evening, so we returned to Pilgrims Lounge the next day to have breakfast. The things to see and the people Namal adviced were definitly allright. Thanks!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrims Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing