We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets...world class...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambalama Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambalama Villa
Ranked #5 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“As good as it gets...world class...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I LOVE this place. I've been there three times now and it is better every time. Staff (Chandra, Roshan and Guyan) are truly the best in the business -preempting every need, want and desire.

First time we went was for a 25th wedding anniversary with a bunch of rugby friends in 2009, second time was family friends and a bit tamer in 2011, last trip was for a friends 50th and Ambalama hosted dinner for 40 people from all over the globe....fantastic. Great location, world class food and service, beautiful vista, amazing beds/linen, beautiful bathrooms/outdoor showers...fantastic value and seriously - the best Sri Lanka has to offer. Treat yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UndaraUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for about a week at the beginning of March - it was absolutely brilliant!!! Pure relaxation - I recommend it without hesitation. I can't really add anything that other reviews haven't already said.... but I'll say it anyway! The team really made our visit - Gayan (who was exceptional!!!), Chandra and Roshan were the perfect hosts. We ate a couple of nights but found the food ever quite matched what Roshan was able to cook for us - some favourites were the bbq on the lawn (right by the sea), sri lankan curries (beetroot, peanut, cocnut, chicken, prawn, lentils - you name it! ALL delicious!!!), chicken satay with roti breads, delicious soups - I want to go back just thinking about it!!

With just 5 of us staying, the villa had more than enough space and we all agreed that even at maximum occupancy, there was ample space to relax and unwind both indoors and around the pool and gardens. The villa is right on the beach with stunning views on the Indian Ocean - a 5 minute walk left out the gate takes you to Wijaya Beach, where theres a great little restaurant and a lovely cove where its safe to swim - just beautiful!

Galle, the fortified city, is about a 10min tuk tuk ride away and is definitely worth a couple of visits. The are some lovely boutique shops selling homeware, jewlery and locally made bits - great place to wonder for a few hours and then get a drink and dinner in one of the lovely local bars/restaurants.

The villa really is located in a fantastic position!! When we went it look about 2/2.5hrs to get there from Colombo airport - arriving rather late at night. Once we were on the new highway south of Colombo, things really sped up. They were telling us that soon the highway will link to the airport which will cut journey times even further. Don't let the drive put you off!!!!!

Don't miss out on Ambalama - a truly fantastic holiday. Thanks Ambalama team - we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanV87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was a privilege to stay at Ambalama. The villa is in a lovely location, close to Galle with good transport into the town. The sea vista must be seen to be appreciated.
Above all the team are solely focussed on their guests. They are authentic and helpful. Rashan is a superb chef. Gayan and Chandra and excellent butlers, and Jolla a superb night concierge.
We had a wonderful stay and would recommend the villa.
A small piece of advice as you will need either the air con or fan on at night. Take the moldable silicone type of earplugs.
The WiFi is excellent.
Above all the villa is a wonderful, magical place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Ambalama Villa is a gem of a holiday villa!

The architecture of the villa follows the classical principles. The main building’s high ceiling and opened windows facing the ocean are perfect for the climatic conditions of Sri Lanka, drawing warm air upwards to the top openings and naturally cooling the interiors. The bedroom pavilions with its slanted roofing, soft wood colour interiors and traditional furniture beckon you to relax your body and mind.

The spectacular view of the Indian Ocean lying ahead as you look pass your own infinity pool and the manicured villa lawn sets the tone of a picturesque exclusive private resort. You are at once lulled into a relaxing holiday mood in this tranquil setting.

The staffs are meticulous and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay here. Chef Roshan’s culinary skills are commendable, creating both delicious international cuisine and hearty Sri Lankan fare. Just sit back and let the staff pamper you!

A stay at Ambalama Villa could well be the highlight of your Sri Lanka holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keen-sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a special and beautiful place. I have stayed in a lot of villas in different places in Asia and in the US and I think this is one of nicest places I have been. Beautiful decor, very open feel and easy step out to a great beach to walk on. At the same time there is a great pool to lounge in and swim while listening to the waves crash. The house staff are amazing! So friendly and always checking if you need drinks, towels..anything. They are constantly picking up and keeping things organized and clean, but in the most unobtrusive way. The chef is amazing!! Had so many great options for food, everything he made was fantastic. I loved the fried noodles and the fish ball soup especially. Flawless. Chris, the owner is constantly making improvements and takes a lot of pride in creating the best experience for his guests! We were a party of 5 and being in this place was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiralcurl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Service was great. The house boys are very attentive and very prompt towards our requests.
The look and feel is simply marvelous with a sea view literally welcome you everyday. It is very private if one who loves your own space and services. The rooms are all AirCon although we don't really need all the time. Outdoor shower was amazing especially when you were caught in the rain. The experienced was amazing stunning as I had never shower in the rain if you are a city dweller. Thus it was an experience. Sri Lanka is amazing exotic if one who doesn't know about this country. Experience it yourself and you will never regret.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Imagine a place with the most incredible views and sunsets, the ocean on your doorstep and service that is phenomenal!

We stayed at this villa with our two children, parents, brother and his girlfriend for 3 nights. Wish we had stayed longer. Dont worry about the local activities as you will not want to leave the villa and its surroundings. A beautiful lagoon is only a short 5min walk. The pool was to die for.

Roshan produced the most amazing food! The best we had in Sri Lanka. A must try is the his crab curry. Produce bought fresh daily. Our trip to the market and cooking lesson... a major highlight!

Gayan and Chandrasiriya and other staff were truly so helpful and always available. Nothing was too much trouble. Gayan thank you for our falooda drinks and your friendly chats. Chandasiriya, never met a more smiley helpful person with such a kind heart!

Finally thanks to Chris, Roshan and team for making our birthday celebration one to remember! Seafood Bbq on the beach, fireworks, two piece band, vanilla gateaux birthday cake... what more can you ask for!

Guys you are sadly missed. Please keep in touch. We will definitely be back for a much longer stay and we look forward to having another memorable holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
#7 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.8 mi away
Owl and the Pussycat Hotel
0.3 mi away
EKA Beach
EKA Beach
#1 of 10 in Talpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambalama Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambalama Villa

Property: Ambalama Villa
Address: Dahawella Nr Galle, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing