We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing and inspiring environment ever! Best Villa in Sri Lanka”
Review of Ambalama Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambalama Villa
Ranked #8 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This was my second time to Ambalama Villa. What can I even say?

Only that I wish I was still there today. The Beach is perfect and right in the backyard. Food was amazing. Staff is friendly and accommodating (will even go the extra mile to provide anything you need). The rooms are luxurious and comfortable. Best bed I've slept on at any hotel/villa. Excellent coffee! (which is quite important to any die hard coffee drinker).

Both times I have visited the villa I stayed there the entire time of my visit, everything you could possibly want is right there. It's so relaxing, the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbalamaVIlla, Manager at Ambalama Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

You are welcome back to Ambalama Villa anytime at all and everything will be the same, or better. Season's greetings from all of us at Ambalama Villa, and hope that you'll have a really wonderful New Year. If Colombo gets too much for you, there's the new freeway now that will zip you to Ambalama Villa in a flash!

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Ambalama Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed at Ambalama Villa for 3 days in Feb 2011, excellent location, great staff, lovely atmosphere, cool sea breezes, great accomodation, very comfortable overall. Would head back there in a heartbeat!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank kkapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

fabulous location, excellent staff - friendly, helpful and full of smiles.....beautiful villa where nature blends in with the interior......superb food, rooms and infinity pool! Best of all - the beach and overall tranquility. An amazing place to truly unwind...!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julross66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We have just returned from 14 nights at this wonderful Villa. The location is picture perfect and the staff are amazing. Roshan (the chef) is amazing we actually only ate out once because the food was so good,and the staff wow they do a fantastic job always smiling and they work so hard.
The night watch man (we called him Ted) was so nice we had a party of 4 staying up the beach and every night he walked them back to their villa. he even woke us all up so that we could see the turtle lays its egg on the beach right outside our villa this was a highlight!!!!
The Villa sleeps 8 but we had my nieces staying at a hotel two doors up and they came to the Villa for all their meals and spent the days with us, the staff were brilliant in the way they dealt with this and they handled the extras so well (we had passed this with managment before we left)
However their are a few things that really do need to be fixed
The villa needs a bit of TLC, about half the outside lights didn't work including the outdoor bathrooms.
The A/C in the room that my daughters had didn't work (but when we told Tai he had it fixed in two days)
Some of the shutters on the blinds were broken or missing, our bathroom door had a rusty key that was stuck in it, this scratched my husbands back and left a very nasty scratch
The ipod station was not working when we got there but when we told Tai was replaced in two days.
There is no TV but in saying that we didn't miss it but would be nice to have in case of bad weather.
The fish pond is terrible all green and slimy and there is no pump so the water then starts to attract mossies.
The Villa sleeps eight however there were only 6 sun loungers and two of these were broken.
The plumbing clogged up in two of the rooms and then spewed waste all over both floors, this was cleaned up straight away but one room was without a toliet for two days as no one seemed to know where the sewerage tank was located. We didn't see Tai at all during this point however he apparantly came whilst we were out and left a bottle of champagne as way of apology??
We did tell Tai (the manager) all of these things and apart from the sun loungers and the A/C getting fixed I never saw him again (however we did leave a day early to return to Colombo) he stated that he has a hard time getting the owner to invest money in the property however if you want to charge this amount of money the Villa really does need some TLC.
All in all it was a amazing holiday and we fell in love with Sri Lanka and the staff.
Would def go back as the issues we had were minor but worth mentioning to give a fair review.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenmolliewallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbalamaVIlla, Manager at Ambalama Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and we are very happy that you were very well cared for by the staff at Ambalama Villa. Your very generous tips to the staff was certainly very well appreciated by them.

Please also accept our sincere apologies for everything that was less than perfect. Whilst this could never be an acceptable excuse, we hope that you'll appreciate that you've stayed at the villa during the prime peak season and we've had back to back bookings for almost a month before you arrived. All of the problems that arose only arose when you were here and were did our utmost best to have them rectified as and when they occurred. None of the problems that arose were foreseeable. But we do note that there are issues that need to be addressed and we have, since you've checked out, closed Ambalama Villa for repairs and maintenance which are on-going now.

We did have a spare I-pod dock and speaker on hand which worked if not perfectly, and when it was apparent that this was not ideal, a replacement Bose I-pod dock was made available for your use in less than 24 hours. The pool is green with algae due to its direct exposure to the sunlight but it is filled with fish and is never at any time mosquito ridden. The fish will have taken care of any mosquito eggs and larvae in the pond. We have in the past never had to have any more than 4 deck-chairs out but we note your comment and will keep that for consideration. As for the wear and tear, the deck-chairs got repaired as soon as it came to our attention and from what I understand, worked perfectly well for the rest of your stay.

Please do accept our apologies again for anything that might have marred your stay and experience at Ambalama Villa and please be assured that rectifications and repairs are being made and we sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you, your families and friends back to Ambalama Villa again.

The Ambalama Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

What a cracking place! Ambalama is one of the best positioned and idyllic houses that we have ever stayed in, and very hard to leave! After escaping the cold and grey of the UK it was an absolute joy to relax in such a stunning location. Set right on the beach with the Indian Ocean giving a picture postcard view. The pool was also exceptional and the children spent countless hours enjoying it. The beach in front of the villa is golden sand, and although the sea can have strong currents and is in places rocky (so not ideal for young children or weak swimmers) it does mean that very few people linger in front of the spectacular view. It is a short 5 minute walk to the local beach club/bar with a sheltered lagoon in directly in front. The interior design and detail were faultless, beds and bedrooms great and on arrival it was almost like walking into a photoshoot for Homes and Gardens. Added to this, Roshan the chef was outstanding and we enjoyed some delightful lunches and dinners. My family loved every minute of our week there. The house is close enough to Galle to travel to for shopping (or cricket!). I had wondered if the road to the rear of the house would be noisy, but not all all, and at night all one could hear was the lapping of the waves on the beach. Very grateful to Chris and Tai, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darcyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We spent 9 glorious nights at Ambalama, Galle, Sri Lanka. From the moment we stepped through the front doors, after personally driving 5 hours south from Colombo airport (approximately 123 kms in distance) and our nerves at breaking point, we were instantly transformed...being greeted with a refreshing lime soda and cool towel to wash away the outside world!

The large main living area encompassing the entrance, dining and lounge area was the ideal spot to share family time, enjoy perfectly made G&T's and to play some dice whilst listening to beautiful music shuffling through the iPod (note: bring your own iPod to utilise the onsite docking station).

The pool area, looking directly over the lawn and out to the ocean, was amazing...each night the sunset was different to the last. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast beside the pool...what a dream!

The 4 bedrooms (each with their own ensuite, 2 with internal bathrooms and 2 with external bathrooms) were beautiful, spacious and comfortable.

As we walked along the beach we rated the other villas in the area and believe that ours (Ambalama) was the best by far...there must have been some "Villa Envy" for those on the other side of the low rock wall!

The staff were amazing and only too happy to accommodate any request - Roshan (the Chef) delighting us each day with delicious food (the seafood BBQ was our group favourite), Sujith and Chandrasiri (House Staff) were always there to greet us with bright beaming smiles, the security guard always on the lookout for our safety (please purchase a new torch for him..he is in desperate need) and the gardener made sure the pool and garden area was in perfect condition for our daily enjoyment. Thank you to each one of you for making our stay all the more memorable.

We should mention a couple of tiny minuses - we had strangers walking in off the beach asking if we had any "rooms for rent"...obviously the beach walkers thought the Villa was a small boutique hotel...this didn't happen just the once, it was basically a daily occurence...we suggest a small sign be posted near the beach entrance saying "Private Property". Also, the men were keen to watch the Boxing Day Cricket test but there wasn't a televison onsite so they went to the local Unawatuna Beach Resort ("UBR") - this wasn't a problem, but it should be noted.

The position of the Villa was fabulous...not too far from Galle town, being able to see the stilted fisherman from the beach rock wall and walking distance to Wijaya Beach Cottage (great pizza's, people watching and ambience).

Lastly, the Christmas tree was spectacular and really added that special touch...it was the beginning and the end of the magic for Christmas 2010....

PS: We did try and attach some photos but, for some reason, TripAdvisor didn't have the option....sorry.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daviesby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbalamaVIlla, Manager at Ambalama Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Thank you so much for your very kind comments and we're really happy that you had a very enjoyable stay at Ambalama Villa. As much as you enjoyed being looked after by the staff, you were wonderful guests and could not have made their jobs any easier and more worthwhile. They were certainly very appreciative of your generous gratuity.

We do apologise for the lack of television at Ambalama Villa but we will definitely make one available in future if given sufficient notice. And all of your other constructive comments are duly noted.

We really look forward to welcoming you and your families and friends back to Ambalama Villa in the near future.

Ambalama Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

A friend booked this gorgeous villa for a couple of nights - well what a way to start my visit to Sri Lanka!
The staff were incredible - from the initial welcome to their consistent, impeccable service. The food was a delight - we were consulted about the menu and amazing meals were whipped up with fresh local produce. Better than a restaurant!
The location on the beach coupled with the pool, internet and books meant that you really never need to leave. But the staff were happy to recommend ideas for travel near and far.

Thank you and apologies for late review!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjakacecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,762 reviews
1.0 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#9 of 23 in Galle
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#19 of 33 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
911 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 14 in Weligama
396 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 23 in Galle
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambalama Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambalama Villa

Address: Dahawella Nr Galle, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Galle
Price Range: $700 - $1,300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing