We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste at its best....”
Review of Pedlar's Inn Cafe

Pedlar's Inn Cafe
Ranked #8 of 137 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Pedlars Inn. Established in 2004 as the first coffee shop inside the UNESCO Heritage Site, Galle Fort, Southern Sri Lanka. From humble beginnings, starting with only 4 tables and one member of staff, the café has developed into a must for all visitors. It now occupies the entire ground floor of the former British post office. Maintaining original features mixed with contemporary design to deliver a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Situated on the historic Pedlars Street at the heart of the Fort, Pedlars Inn provides the perfect respite to a busy day’s exploration of the Ramparts or indulging in the numerous shops and boutiques.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taste at its best....”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

nice place to relax... mostly went alone... delicious sandwitches and yummy juices.. a bit overpriced... service is not that good... and the restaurant shuts down quite early

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thusharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    389
    114
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The foods not that great, but its convenient and open all day. The coffee is good though. I had a burger and the mayo in it was sweet !. It was just not right.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dresswalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely Italian meal here which was a nice change from the usual srilankan food. Delightful place, food delicious. Reasonably priced and a really great place to Leisurely Lunch in the Galle fort. Have been a few times :)

Helpful?
Thank Sukie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pathetic Service and quality of food”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I called in advance to make a reservation for 5 pax and request for seating outdoors. Was informed by Ismeth that they can accommodate only a max of 4 outdoors. Upon arriving at the Cafe was escorted by Isabel to our table. Seeing a vacant table outdoors set for 8 persons we inquired if we could sit there but was rudely informed that we couldn't without any further explanation. Menu handed over promptly and the dish of the day and items not available on the menu announced in a regimental tone of command and mighty hurry. We dared not ask any more questions from Isabel for fear of being snapped at. Hoping someone else would take our order we were relieved when a local boy approached. However his tone and attitude was no better. Not sure if this was due to language barriers. When my friend selected a few dishes and requested for non chillie/non spicy to be done for her 12 year old the answer was a prompt NO. We all ordered (except for the 12 yr old) the dish of the day - Spicy Calamari. What a disappointment as all it had was an extra doze of pepper with no flavour. Clearly a cafe unable to handle crowds and the usual restaurant pressure. A change in attitude of service staff and Isabel is a must for this cafe to continue with its good name.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amzip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice drinks but slow service”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I was sitting for almost 15 min and no waiters approached me until I asked one of the waiters to give me the menu. I know it was very busy for them as there were many customers but please pass the menu to new customers first. It is a very easy thing to do. Anyway the food was not bad. I love the drink named 'paradise', it is an iced mixed fruit tea and it tasted awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedlar's Inn Cafe also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Pedlar's Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing