We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel, clean and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pedlar's Inn Cafe

Pedlar's Inn Cafe
Ranked #12 of 235 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, European, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Pedlars Inn. Established in 2004 as the first coffee shop inside the UNESCO Heritage Site, Galle Fort, Southern Sri Lanka. From humble beginnings, starting with only 4 tables and one member of staff, the café has developed into a must for all visitors. It now occupies the entire ground floor of the former British post office. Maintaining original features mixed with contemporary design to deliver a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Situated on the historic Pedlars Street at the heart of the Fort, Pedlars Inn provides the perfect respite to a busy day’s exploration of the Ramparts or indulging in the numerous shops and boutiques.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel, clean and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were at the 3 bed dorms, and we loved the place. We stayed there 3 nights. The service is good and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. The owner deserve to be rated at one of the best hostels in Sri Lanka

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yasminarbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedlarsinn, Manager at Pedlar's Inn Cafe, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We thank you for the compliment.
We are pleased to hear that you where happy at our Hostel.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    326
    101
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always a safe bet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Once again, we were at the same place for lunch!
Love the ambiance - specially inside.
Food was good but not all juices were upto the mark this time.
Bit slow but friendly service.
As always recommendable !

Helpful?
Thank Mihiri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Second time we visited Pedlar's Inn Cafe and the food was exquisite and prepared nicely. The taste was just about perfect since nothing on earth is perfect! Food is Halaal so that is a great plus. Ambiance and service is commendable. The staff went out of the way to find a little corner for my wife and me to dine and were very polite and helpful. Definitely worth the price.

I would recommend Pedlar's Inn Cafe to anyone without second thought. I would also advise you all to try their new Ice Cream!!! You will SCREAM with delight!!!

Next time we are in Galle Fort, we will definitely dine only at Peddlar's.

A whole lot of thanks to the staff and management.

Ameenaa and Ridhaa

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Ridhaa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedlarsinn, Manager at Pedlar's Inn Cafe, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your compliment. We looking Forward to welcome you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Place, Reasonable Price for Galle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Galle by the Fort area is very touristy so the food is expensive in this area. We went to Pedlar's Inn Cafe because it accepted credit card(over 1000 rupees) and with the breakfast combinations, it included a latte, expresso or cafe americano which is typically extra. I had the fruit salad and curd and honey breakfast and my husband had the Sri Lankan breakfast. Everything was very good and good sized portions. The Sri Lankan breakfast consisted of Fish curry, Dahl and onions with thick multigrain flatbread which was still warm. It was substantial and delicious. The 2 breakfast cost about 1300 Rupees + 10% service charge. The latte on it's own was 300 rupees which is about 50 rupees cheaper than some other cafes we stopped at and they were very good as I splurged and had a second latte.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelladybugOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting little place in the Fort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Its a little cafe located on pedlar's street,offers coffee and quality food for lunch and dinner.now they also have a Gelato bar right across which serves tasty milkshakes. Cafe tends to get crowded in the evenings so better to make a reservation and get and table outside with the candle light by the road. selection is limited but the daily specials are quite a treat but runs out fast so better order early. staff are friendly and service is good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tharindu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedlar's Inn Cafe also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Pedlar's Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing