We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading a numerous views on tripadvisor we decided to book ourselves at the Tamarind Hill in Galle.

Getting to Galle in a paid taxi from the international airport took us over an hour and a half. The hotel is easy to locate and is bang opposite Lighthouse which is more popular.

The welcome was fantastic, the staff was expecting us, they gave us wet towels and an extremely cooling welcome drink. We were then escorted to our room which was spacious and very well done up. The hotel is a 250 years old colonial house that has been re-furbished. The high ceilings and four poster beds complete the look.

Staff is courteous, but leaving a couple of them aside have difficulty understanding and conversing in English. Not a great place to have meals besides breakfast which was pretty good. Would recommend grabbing a drink or two and munching the snacks.

The pool area, courtyard is pretty fascinating. The place is quite calm.

Hotel provides wifi to all guests. The rooms have a flat screen.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay comfortably, and a bit lavishly. Its not sea side however you a small walk across the road will give you the view of blue waters.

Will take around 10-15 mins in a TUK TUK to get to Galle.

Suites are gorgeous but more for families! Extremely happy with my decision of choosing this hotel and staying here. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Our property is indeed a refurbished colonial residence and has a rich history attached to it. Renovations carried out haven’t completely changed the architectural design but has still kept the authentic feel intact. We are glad that you experienced and felt the attempted concept within your stay.

We will do our best to meet your standards with regard to food next time and we hope even the other meals (Lunch & Dinner) will give you the satisfaction you experienced with our breakfast this time.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope you'd visit us again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 698 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with our young daughter and had a lovely stay. The staff could not have been more welcoming and kind, our daughter was spoilt rotten as were we!

The location is nice, it's about 10 mins from Galle in a tuk tuk in a nice setting in the hills. The pool area is beautiful and one of the nicest pools I've seen in Sri Lanka. The food was good, especially the club sandwich and my daughter loved their spag bol. My husband had the Sri Lankan breakfast a couple of times which he said was outstanding.

Overall though it's the feel if the place that makes it so special, it's incredibly relaxing, sitting in the beautiful bar area having a glass of wine with lovely music playing is a real memory of our time there.

As I said the staff really make this place and are a credit to the management.

If you want a real boutique hotel experience (which is great value!) then I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comment about us. It's great to hear about your pleasant experience at Tamarind Hill - Galle and we are glad that we were able to meet your expectations at all aspects.
It was our pleasure having you and your lovely family with us and we hope to see you all again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tamarind Hill is a lovely place to stay. The grounds are beautiful; the pool is enormous and tropical; and the rooms are tasteful, elegant, and extremely comfortable (hello, high-functioning AC and complimentary water bottles). Breakfast was delicious - a highlight of our four-night stay - and the lunch, dinner and drinks we had at the hotel restaurant were excellent and reasonably priced as well.

It's about a 10 minute tuk tuk ride to downtown Galle, and a 15-20 minute ride to Unawatuna, but we really loved staying in a hotel that was quieter, fastidiously clean, and set in such a gorgeous setting. Very easy to get to and from the hotel from either place, and we hopped a 80 rupee bus to visit towns about an hour away from right outside the hotel. Ignore the Lonely Planet's mentions of "wasteland" on the drive to the hotel and the phone tower. Neither detract from the hotel in even the slightest bit, if you even notice them.

Finally, the staff was top-notch. Helpful, attentive, and more than willing to go an extra 10 miles to ensure their guests have a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are large and have outdoor seating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forestandfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It's great to hear about your pleasant experience with us.
In relation to the room facilities and the dining experiences, we at Tamarind Hill are truly pleased with the fact that you have enjoyed all of it extensively.

Thank you once again for such a wonderful review and we do hope you decide to come again soon. We look forward to it.

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Tamarind Hotel is converted from an old colonial bungalow and retains the old world charm. We were upgraded to the Captain Suite and simply loved it. The room was beautiful decorated and had a huge bathroom. There was a very spacious balcony where in one can sit and enjoy the surroundings. The swimming pool area is magical with low blue nights in the evening, it looks amazing. We wished we could stay longer. Nevertheless we will retain the pleasant memories.
The hotel staff are very courteous.
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

Our property is indeed a refurbished colonial residence and has a rich history attached to it. Renovations carried out haven’t completely changed the architectural design but has still kept the authentic feel intact. We are glad that you experienced and felt the attempted concept within your stay.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope you'd visit us again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here over a year ago now but the memory still stays in my mind. It is beautifully set amongst the trees and wildlife. Our waiter 'Shane' who joked about being the cricketer 'Shane Warne' was a delight and tended to out every need.
We hope to return one day if only for another week

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darzlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for the sentiments expressed. We shall retain the same old charm and more for your next surprise visit.

Best regards from everyone at Tamarind Hill - Galle!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at the Tamarind Hill in August.

The service, food, and rooms were all fantastic. The staff were attentive and helpful without being too intrusive.

As the sea was quite choppy, we were limited to the hotel pool which was wonderfull. Towards evening, a few monkeys would gather in the trees about the pool to eat. Great to watch them whilst floating around.

Room Tip: Our room was number 8, but all the ground floor rooms open onto a central grass quadrangle. Think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay with us. We at Tamarind Hill are extremely happy that the staff, property and the food as a whole were found to your taste and expectations.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights and had 2 rooms for the 4 of us.
The place has a lot of history still the developments keep the same spirit and style. It is located very close to Galle historical centre but is more peaceful than most hotels which are located there. The garden and the swimming pool are great places to relax.
Our rooms were located around the garden. They were very comfortable, and the bath rooms quite impressive with a large shower and very good products. Free Wifi +++.
Excellent breakfast (try the omelettes!). We had dinner there twice, and if the food is not the finest we had in Sri Lanka, the personnel made both of them very special moments for us.
All in all, if you are looking to spend a few days in Galle, it is certainly the best choice.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Margarita-Mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

Our property is indeed a refurbished colonial residence and has a rich history attached to it. As you correctly mentioned, renovations carried out haven’t completely changed the architectural design but has still kept the authentic feel intact. We are glad that you experienced and felt the attempted concept within your stay.

Thank you for the lovely statements in relation to the staff and food which you had seemed to enjoy to great extents.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 25 in Galle
157 reviews
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#9 of 25 in Galle
568 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $155 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing