We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Tamarind Hotel is converted from an old colonial bungalow and retains the old world charm. We were upgraded to the Captain Suite and simply loved it. The room was beautiful decorated and had a huge bathroom. There was a very spacious balcony where in one can sit and enjoy the surroundings. The swimming pool area is magical with low blue nights in the evening, it looks amazing. We wished we could stay longer. Nevertheless we will retain the pleasant memories.
The hotel staff are very courteous.
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

Our property is indeed a refurbished colonial residence and has a rich history attached to it. Renovations carried out haven’t completely changed the architectural design but has still kept the authentic feel intact. We are glad that you experienced and felt the attempted concept within your stay.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope you'd visit us again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    100
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
146
301
22
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here over a year ago now but the memory still stays in my mind. It is beautifully set amongst the trees and wildlife. Our waiter 'Shane' who joked about being the cricketer 'Shane Warne' was a delight and tended to out every need.
We hope to return one day if only for another week

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darzlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for the sentiments expressed. We shall retain the same old charm and more for your next surprise visit.

Best regards from everyone at Tamarind Hill - Galle!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at the Tamarind Hill in August.

The service, food, and rooms were all fantastic. The staff were attentive and helpful without being too intrusive.

As the sea was quite choppy, we were limited to the hotel pool which was wonderfull. Towards evening, a few monkeys would gather in the trees about the pool to eat. Great to watch them whilst floating around.

Room Tip: Our room was number 8, but all the ground floor rooms open onto a central grass quadrangle. Think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay with us. We at Tamarind Hill are extremely happy that the staff, property and the food as a whole were found to your taste and expectations.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights and had 2 rooms for the 4 of us.
The place has a lot of history still the developments keep the same spirit and style. It is located very close to Galle historical centre but is more peaceful than most hotels which are located there. The garden and the swimming pool are great places to relax.
Our rooms were located around the garden. They were very comfortable, and the bath rooms quite impressive with a large shower and very good products. Free Wifi +++.
Excellent breakfast (try the omelettes!). We had dinner there twice, and if the food is not the finest we had in Sri Lanka, the personnel made both of them very special moments for us.
All in all, if you are looking to spend a few days in Galle, it is certainly the best choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margarita-Mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

Our property is indeed a refurbished colonial residence and has a rich history attached to it. As you correctly mentioned, renovations carried out haven’t completely changed the architectural design but has still kept the authentic feel intact. We are glad that you experienced and felt the attempted concept within your stay.

Thank you for the lovely statements in relation to the staff and food which you had seemed to enjoy to great extents.

It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bittern
Level Contributor
380 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Three nights here and could easily have stayed longer. Nice walk into Galle central, or an easy tuk tuk ride. Staff courteous and attentive with any request. Pool good for lap swimming. Breakfast - ask for Sri Lankan style it's amazing! Beds soooo comfortable. Showers roomy! Quality bath products. Wifi works really well in common areas but not so good in the rooms. Dinner here was exceptional. Wait staff great.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely comment about our hotel, Tamarind Hill - Galle and we are glad to hear about your pleasant experience with us.
It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tamarind Hill in Galle was perfect for us. It is a charming, small and peaceful hotel, which suited us very nicely. We booked standard rooms which were spacious, clean and neat. The meals were excellent and fresh fruits always at hand. Pls note, do not expect the beach to be at your doorstep when staying here. Nevertheless, the staff were extremely serviceminded, and genuinely friendly. Best regards and thank you to hotel staff Rohan and his colleagues for a very warm welcome and thus making our first 3days in Sri Lanka very comfortable. Highly recommended by us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecopdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely comment about our hotel, Tamarind Hill - Galle. It's great to hear about your pleasant experience with us. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations at all aspects. We shall surely convey your appreciation to the relevant staff.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we hope that you'll re-visit us soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our party of 4, ranging in age from 6 to 84 had a really enjoyable stay here. This beautiful property is situated 10 mins or so from Galle Fort, but we were happy to be a bit removed from the bustle. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms surround a lawned area. The pool is in a picturesque setting and we saw plenty of monkeys around and even a mongoose. At the bottom of the property there is an attractive river with a couple of canoes you can use to paddle down the river. The staff were amazing - from the cooling welcome drink to kicking the soccer ball around with my son on the lawn (we found Sri Lankans generally to be wonderful with children) and many of the staff enquired after my father when he was unwell and didn't leave his room one day - nothing was too much trouble. Particular thanks to Mr Agith Fardi and Rohan for their excellent and professional service and to Neel, Rangana and Chameere for their smiles and playing with my son - he loved it. You may hear some of the wildlife running across the roof in the early hours but it didn't disturb us. Rooms very spacious and elegant with wonderful bathrooms. Ask for a tour of the suites in the original harbour master's house - worth a look and if your budget stretches, don't hesitate. Suite rooms are sufficiently large for a family with extra beds, a massive bathroom and balcony with wonderful view across the harbour.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales & Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write this lovely comment and it is pleasing to hear about your pleasant stay with us. Trust your father is doing well now. We are glad that we were able to meet your standards in all aspects and we shall surely convey your message to the relevant staff members.
It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
3.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Property: Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#2 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing