We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Galle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I'll begin by saying that this is still our favourite place in Sri Lanka and we recommend it to anyone who has the means to experience the sumptuous historical glory of Sri Lanka's past reconverted to a high-level boutique experience.

Designed by Sri Lanka's eminent interior designer Tharu, Tamarind Hill has been brought back to the glory of old in keeping with its heritage and now affording customers an insight into how the Sinhalese high-life once lived in Sri Lanka during the Victorian and Edwardian eras.

The staff are the best trained on the island, diligently supervised by Sudath, the manager and Ajit, the General Manager to whom we send our compliments and thanks.

The infinity pool on the premises is in a perfect location are the rooms the surround a central garden. Guests can choose where to eat their meals and are taken care of indulgently. Most staff speak very good English and converse freely with the guests as part of their daily duties.

Cuisine is good - especially the Sri Lankan breakfast which I defy any couple to finish!
With good wifi now installed, Tamarind Hill is also the perfect place to work a bit while relaxing. We went to Unawatuna by Tuk-tuk each day for our sea swim but decided to stay in Tamarind on the last day an enjoy being spoiled.

For any honeymooner, this is the place and for the discerning traveller, fed up of large-scale tourism with massive crowds queueing for a buffet, the discrete silence of dinner at Tamarind Hill will be a welcome change.

Actually, prices are not that expensive compared to the massive complexes that the Amaya, Cinnamon or Jetwing chains provide. Go boutique in Sri Lanka.
It's the only way to feel the appeal of an Island that has regained its direction and cultural diversity.

My thanks to the staff of Tamarind Hill - see you again soon!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good. We stayed in rooms 6 and 7 on different occasions which were both excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isiramak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me start off by thanking you for such a wonderfully put together review comprising of such a refreshing array of compliments.

The hotel is designed in such a way that the authenticity and rich cultural heritage values are still intact and the entire atmosphere of the hotel is focused on the serenity and peacefulness of the area, we are glad that you experienced and felt the attempted concept within your stay.

In relation to the service and food we are happy that it was satisfactory. We at Tamarind hill strive to deliver the perfect service to our guests, therefore, having you address our staff as “The best in the island' is a huge compliment and we are humbled that you feel that way.

Thank you once again for this lovely review. We Hope that you decide to visit us once again in the near future as the doors of Tamarind Hill will always be open to you.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 689 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were booked as apart of my birthday plans , a getaway with the family and my parents.
The rooms are spacious clean and homely . Ajith and the staff are very accommodating.
Just be a tad careful in the pool and stone steps that lead down to the water are sharp.
Apart from that the food is amazing the location spectacular, hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the pool open up to your own court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niro curly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Niro,

Thank you so much for this lovely review and we at Tamarind Hill are extremely pleased that you found the property to your liking and that the entire stay in all aspects was enjoyable without any shortcomings

Thank you so much for your lovely comments with regard to the food and the staff inclusive of Ajith, knowing that you have enjoyed yourself to such an extent makes all of us at Tamarind Hill extremely happy.

Thank you once again for such a wonderfully complimenting review we do hope you decide to come again soon. We look forward to it.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We returned to the hotel for our third visit in February. We were greeted with a very refreshingly creative lemongrass drink. Our early check-in was accommodated without any fuss. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable.The staff were eager to please as always, they volunteered to set up dinner for us in the garden. The chicken with wild rice was quite delightful. We usually order western breakfast and it had improved since the last time we stayed but it can be even better, with more choices.

We love that it is away from the beachfront, which keeps away families with screaming kids. The place is very relaxing and quiet, perfect to unwind, we never stay anywhere else in Galle.

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, if at all avoid room no 1 which is next to the kitchen and can get a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMBTraveller_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

First and foremost allow me to thank you for choosing our property for the third consecutive time, it is lovely to have guests like you who keep visiting us repeatedly.

In relation to the rooms facilities and the dining experiences, we at Tamarind Hill are truly pleased with the fact that you seemed to enjoy all of It extensively and that the staff was so successful in attending to all your needs and making sure that that your stay at our property was satisfactory.

Thank you once again for such a wonderfully complimenting review we do hope you decide to come again soon. We look forward to it.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed at this small hotel for 3 nights in March and absolutely loved it! The service of the hotel is exceptional (special thanks to Rohan, who made this a wonderful stay for us!) and the few rooms (I believe there are about 10 rooms in total) are furnished and decorated nicely. Given the small size of the hotel, the pool and the dining area were never crowded. Given that the hotel is somewhat outside the city of Galle (about 5 min with a tuktuk, about 300 rupees oneway), we ate at the hotel restaurant frequently. Especially the curry bowl was delicious and priced absolutely fairly (750 rupees, about the price we paid at many other not so fancy and not as delicious restaurants in Sri Lanka!). The only minor disadvantage of the hotel might be its location. However, walking by the hotels in the city center of Galle, we never regretted staying at the Tamarind instead!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Tamarind Hill. We are truly pleased that your stay at our property was enjoyable and we were able to deliver an unforgettable experience to you and your fiance.

We are very glad that the food and cuisine was highly enjoyable for you and it greatly pleases the entire team at Tamarind Hill, that you consider the staff and service exceptional. Your compliments in relation to this is much appreciated.

We at Tamarind Hill are extremely happy that the staff and the property as a whole were found to your taste and we will convey your compliments to staff including Rohan without fail.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to seeing you at Tamarind Hill hopefully in the near future.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

As a business traveller my family and I have visited many hotels in Srilanka, Tamarind Hill is the first to receive our recommendations.
The hotel is a lovely colononial mansion in mint condition, it has all conveniences.
The staff is by far the best i have experienced in Asia so far. Extremely helpful and family friendly.
If you are planning a trip with children to Galle, this would be the best option in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svendcph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me start of by saying thank you for the commendable review which you have posted on Trip Advisor, it was simply wonderful to know that in your preference we stand out amongst some of the hotels in Sri Lanka.

With regard to the compliments you have made to our staff, do let me extend our heartfelt thanks on behalf of them, knowing that you had felt the effects of our service is indeed a huge achievement and we are happy that you were satisfied.

We hope you visit us very soon and thank you once again for this statement.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel looks good, Old Manson with extra large garden more than 3 acres, and the 259 year old building done up nicely and staff was trying to do their best but no complaints and Chef is good as acting manager as well, he is so personalized person going around to all clients and speaking. I think need some inputs to staffs to get this place a classy place. Overall staff is very nice though there are some shortcomings, nevertheless nice place, where its good for 1-2 nights only. Good for group of family members.... very clean, very fresh smell of surrounding plants and trees.

Room Tip: its a calm and quiet place, youngsters may not like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALRAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Raali,

Thank you for your review which you have posted on Trip Advisor, it is pleasing to know that the property inclusive of it's architecture and the surrounding vicinity was found satisfactory.

With relation to the comments on the cleanliness, atmosphere, staff and the service, knowing that you had enjoyed the offered facilities is wonderful and we at 'Tamarind Hill' are glad that the hotel was able to deliver that desired effect.

Thank you once again and we do hope that you come visit us in the future, as the doors of Tamarind Hill will always be open to you.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived here at around 1pm our driver had been trying to call them with our early arrival so our room would be ready; however no one was answering the phone. When we arrived there was no greeting, our bags were brought in by the gardener, after sitting for half an hour we were given a cool drink, and then someone came out and asked us our names, then disappeared. We then decided to find the restaurant to eat lunch, which was average and the music awful, I got it turned down as I was already in a bad mood with the total lack of communication our driver was a bit shocked as well. After an hour or so someone told us our room was ready and that was that. I explored the place and the pool area looked good, but be aware wear mozzie repellent the hotel looked good. Our room was fine but the bathroom was like a sauna. We only stayed one night the next day at breakfast we meet who we think was the manager and told him we were checking out, so as we never even check- in the previous day we check in and checked out that morning. Just unbelievable

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrishayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Manager at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Chris,

Let me start off by extending my sincerest apologies for all the mishaps which had taken place during your stay sir, from the beginning right until the very end.

Thank you for the comments with regard to the hotel, regardless of all the shortcomings we are glad that the property was satisfactory and that was up to your liking.

It is extremely unfortunate to know that one of our guests was inconvenienced in the stated manner and we are truly very sorry that you and your traveling companion had to encounter such a service from our end.

Please be ensured that similar incidents would not be repeated in the future as we are taking a keen interest in reforming this sort of situations.

Thank you for bringing this to our notice and we at 'Tamarind Hill' hope that you do visit us again and grant us the opportunity to provide a better and refined service to you next time.

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 24 in Galle
1,798 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 24 in Galle
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 24 in Galle
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
242 reviews
6.2 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#10 of 24 in Galle
274 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $129 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing