We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Non Event” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A Non Event”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived here at around 1pm our driver had been trying to call them with our early arrival so our room would be ready; however no one was answering the phone. When we arrived there was no greeting, our bags were brought in by the gardener, after sitting for half an hour we were given a cool drink, and then someone came out and asked us our names, then disappeared. We then decided to find the restaurant to eat lunch, which was average and the music awful, I got it turned down as I was already in a bad mood with the total lack of communication our driver was a bit shocked as well. After an hour or so someone told us our room was ready and that was that. I explored the place and the pool area looked good, but be aware wear mozzie repellent the hotel looked good. Our room was fine but the bathroom was like a sauna. We only stayed one night the next day at breakfast we meet who we think was the manager and told him we were checking out, so as we never even check- in the previous day we check in and checked out that morning. Just unbelievable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrishayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Manager at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Chris,

Let me start off by extending my sincerest apologies for all the mishaps which had taken place during your stay sir, from the beginning right until the very end.

Thank you for the comments with regard to the hotel, regardless of all the shortcomings we are glad that the property was satisfactory and that was up to your liking.

It is extremely unfortunate to know that one of our guests was inconvenienced in the stated manner and we are truly very sorry that you and your traveling companion had to encounter such a service from our end.

Please be ensured that similar incidents would not be repeated in the future as we are taking a keen interest in reforming this sort of situations.

Thank you for bringing this to our notice and we at 'Tamarind Hill' hope that you do visit us again and grant us the opportunity to provide a better and refined service to you next time.

Thanking you,

Sonali Van Dort
Manager
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    100
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
143
297
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

There are many good hotels all over Sri Lanka that are decorated in a modernised colonial style, but few do it as well as Tamarind Hill. Small and intimate, there are 11 rooms, but even with most of them occupied, we felt like we were the only guests in the place. The pool is on a lower level, set in the most beautiful environs. We stayed in a standard room but even that is wonderfully spacious with a huge bathroom and little outdoor courtyard. The service is fantastic...must especially commend Rohan and Chameera for their care and attention. One of the reviews mentions that the food wasn't good, but we had exactly the opposite experience. The menu is small but perfectly formed. We sample most of it during our 3 days there and it was faultless. Best of all was the Sri Lankan curry meal...with all the flavour and texture, but perfectly adapted to a more international palate.
We liked the place so much that we went back to spend our last night in Sri Lanka there so that we could leave on a high.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Amita,

Thank you so much for this lovely review and we at Tamarind Hill are extremely pleased that you found the property to your liking and that the entire stay in all aspects was enjoyable without any shortcomings.

Tamarind Hill is indeed a refurbished colonial property and we have tried to allow the authenticity and colonial feel remain through the architecture and décor as much as possible. We are glad that the expected result was experienced by you and that you were also able encounter the peaceful calmness that most guests tend to like about the hotel.

With regard to the rooms inclusive of all amenities and the service offered, It is quite simple wonderful to know that they were both up to a standard and that it was able to satisfy you. Knowing that the food and cuisine were as you put it 'Faultless' is a huge compliment to us as well.

Thank you once again, we hope you visit us once again and provide us with the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful place to stay in Galle as so in keeping with the history and surroundings. We found it peaceful and an easy tuk tuk journey for 300 rps to the fort. The closest hotel in style would be the Amangalla within the fort, at $700 a night. The pool is perfect, set in a garden below the main house. It really feels like you are in a colonial villa when you are swimming but also has some privacy with it set away from the bar and restaurant

Rooms are spacious and furnishings suit the style of the hotel but not overly grand. Bathroom was indulgently large with a fabulous rain shower

I don't think this place would be suitable for young kids; lots of steps, slippy floors, glass toiletries etc

Just one bad thing....the food is dreadful. Even the breakfast which is generally good anywhere in sri lanka. We struggled to select anything from the menu for lunch and when we did, we knew we wouldn't be eating there again. The menu is western and must be from 1982 (this problem seems common in this grade of hotels along the coast). Lamb chops, roast dinner, hardly any seafood, soups, etc

Do stay here, just eat at Deco 44 in the fort instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Dorie,

Let me start off by thanking you for taking the time to visit our hotel and for leaving us with such an informational review. It is pleasing to know that the entire property inclusive of the pool and the architecture proved to be satisfactory.

Also with regard to the rooms and bathrooms thank you for the comments and we are glad that the accommodation was up to a certain standard for you and your fellow traveler.

Finally when addressing the matter in relation to the food, we at Tamarind Hill are truly sorry about it. While apologizing we would like to thank you once again for letting us know about this as it is through our guests feedback that we improve our overall performance.

Thank you once again and we hope you visit us again so that we could provide you with a better and improved service.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I had read so many glowing reviews that I was really looking forward to getting there and instead I found that I couldn't wait to leave

The Good
- Beautiful hotel, very relaxing atmosphere nice furniture and layout
- Having a choice of restaurants so we could get out of the heat of the evening
- Response email booking. Very polite

The Bad
- The food was average at best. We were forced to choose from a set menu. None of the food was really Sri Lankan
- When it arrived the food it was in general tasteless and just not what were expecting from a place of this calibre.
- Service was terribly slow. Took almost 2.5 hours to complete the meal
- The debacle came at the end of the meal when we came to split the bill. Tip: if you eat here pay in cash and definitely don't use AMEX as they have to phone through each card to get an approval. The waiters complete inability to split a bill despite us asking him. Then they couldn't reverse the charges eventhough they had made a mistake and finally them arguing about it amongst themselves for so long that it took 45 minutes from the time we ordered the bill to leaving

With so many good choices in Galle you don't need to come here

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would firstly like to thank you for your comments about the property as a whole and it is lovely to know that the surrounding atmosphere and booking process was to your liking.

We at Tamarind Hill make it a priority to ensure that all our guests leave our property with a positive approach as this didn’t occur during your visit, we are extremely sorry for your bad experience which you had encountered with regard to the food and service.

In relation to the incident mentioned about the payment we are looking into it, in order to ensure that this isn't repeated in the future.

Thank you for your invaluable feedback as it such statements from guests like you that enable us to improve our operations and provide a better and refined service to our customers.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Tamarind Hill Hotel in Galle is a fantastic place to stay, the hotel is lovely and the rooms are very comfortable. The decor is regional and very well done. The most OUTSTANDING feature of the hotel though is the staff. Sudath the manager is kind and charming and willing to help make your stay memorable. The Chef is excellent....please ask for food with local flavor, the curry meals were fantastic. The service staff works hard daily to make sure you have every need taken care of, and they do this with a friendly smile. Rohan and Rayan in particular made me feel at home. Our group had a wonderful stay and were continually impressed by the kindness and creativity of the staff to impress and care for us. Thank you to all at Tamarind Hill. I highly recommend this hotel. The pool is beautiful and the grounds are lovely and peaceful. A very special place because of kind and wonderful people. Jennie C.

Room Tip: I saw several of the rooms, and they all looked lovely. Listen in the morning for monkeys on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniec291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Jennie,

Firstly let me thank you our visiting our hotel and for posting such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing to know that the property managed to satisfy you and your traveling companion.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments with regard to the food and the staff, knowing that you have enjoyed yourself to such an extent makes all of us at Tamarind Hill extremely happy.

Your kind compliments would be definitely passed on to all staff including the chef with fail.
We Hope that you decide to visit us once again in the near future as the doors of Tamarind Hill will always be open to you.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel manages the rare trick of being five-star luxurious but casual and friendly at the same time. It's the kind of place where guests smile and chat to each other, knowing they have found somewhere special. The rooms, staff, and food are excellent. Just five minutes tuk-tuk from Galle Fort. A great place to stay for a night or two at the beginning or end of a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twojackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm compliments regarding our property. How you have described Tamarind Hill is extremely fitting and we hope that we live up to that standard through all you and our other guests visits in the future.

With regard to the staff and food we are glad that you were able to enjoy it and it suited you taste and liking.

Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback. We do hope to see you soon at Tamarind Hill.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I spent 10 days at this wonderful hotel in March with fellow painters. Set in beautiful grounds on the outskirts of Galle it is a haven of peace and tranquility. The staff were amazing; they couldn't do enough for us. I have never stayed at hotel before where the staff have done so much. Whenever we returned to the hotel we were greeted with a refreshing cool drink and a flannel to wipe our face and hands. We were dined in various rooms within the hotel and in different parts of the grounds and the BBQ on the beach was wonderful.

The rooms are large and spacious with air con which was very welcome when you wanted get away from the heat and humidity.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel and if I return to Galle I will definitely stay there again.

Angela T

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelat270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Angela,

It is pleasing to know that yet another guest leaves our property thoroughly satisfied and with such a beautiful review. Thank you for all the lovely compliments you have stated regarding the property and its surrounding atmosphere.

In relation to the rooms facilities and the dining experiences, we at Tamarind Hill are truly pleased with the fact that you all seemed to enjoy all of It extensively and that the staff was so successful in attending to all your needs and making sure that that your stay at our property suited your set standards.

Thank you once again for such a wonderfully complimenting review we do hope you decide to come again soon. We look forward to it.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
9.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
3.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#11 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Property: Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#2 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#4 Business Hotel in Galle
#6 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing