We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful place. Good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Tamarind Hill for three nights (Dec 10th- 13th) at the beginning of our trip to Sri Lanka and would highly recommend it. It is a beautiful old colonial building with good sized rooms with lots of character and a nice pool for lounging around. Service was friendly and attentive and we felt very looked after. Food was also good.

Galle fort is not far away (5 mins by tuk tuk) for 300 rupees (one way). Unawatuna beach is prob 15 mins away. We did get overcharged by the tuk tuk driver organised by hotel going to unawatuna beach and there are plenty of tuk tuk drivers at fort and beach so don't feel you need to organise a return pick up, which the driver will obviously try and push on you (as well as an unnecessary tour).

All on all - a lovely stay and great start to the trip. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 437kate29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 698 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice rural location and friendly service, one could not expect more - if you do not expect a beach nearby. People are trying their best to create a homely atmosphere and it shows. Taking better care of the road leading to the hotel is desirable. Only real problem - or benefit, depends on how one sees it - is the distance from proper Galle, you need to take tuktuk to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yevgeniy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

After staying in several colonial hotels, I really enjoyed the architecture, lighter design and furnishings of Tamarind Hill. The staff were attentive and friendly and the rooms immaculate. Especially sweet were Grihan and Dinesh who made our stay so wonderful. Galle Fort was but a 600 rupee ride away.

Room Tip: All open to a small garden in back and a big, lovely courtyard in front. The suites are massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smejkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in Tamarind Hill for one night last weekend and it was just perfect. The place is gorgeous and cosy, as it is a small boutique hotel. The rooms and the place are just beautiful, decorated in a colonial style. The staff couldn't be more pleasant! It is quite close from Galle even though it is not inside the fort (less than 5min away), so it's very convenient. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InesM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed with family, loved it, boutique property with great, friendly staff (Dinesh, Lakman, Gihana deserve special mention) + super chef's. Lovely pool, food, service. Friendly manager (Ajith). Excellent rooms, really nicely done up. Only downside is location, a little removed from the city, Rs 300 by tuk tuk or a 25 mt walk. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank ApurvNagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a great hotel this is! Beautiful design (renovated Dutch Colonial) with rooms around a garden quad and a service level almost beyond reproach. Remember this is Sri Lanka where nothing is rushed and everything is done with a smile. Tamarind Hill captures the best of S.L. Culture and delivers it with style, elegance and humour.
All rooms are huge with very high ceilings and gigantic bathrooms. full aircon and fans plus a 7ft wide, 4 poster bed! 24 hr room service would be improved if the rooms had tea/coffee making facilities but perhaps that's just being picky? The swimming pool is set below the garden and terrace, it's beautifully clean and well serviced with towels and relaxing sun beds etc.
Individual staff all try their very best to please but a special mention must go to Rohan and Chamera for attention beyond the call of duty! We had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. If you are looking to rest your head in relaxing and genuine 5* surroundings then look no further than the Tamarind Hill.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It is with great delight that we resided in this old world elegent hotel retro of a bygone age hidden away 10 mins from galle and sea the rooms are large with high ceiling and private garden big bathroom built around a square with a fountain and grass surround pool is set in nature with coconut and palm trees down the steps from a bar in morning the dawn chorus awakes the kindred spirit of nature to the sound of birds and monkeys tranquil and relaxing the service team embrace the opportunity to fulfill our expectations with 24 hour service. the splendor that surrounds is imbued with relish to enjoy and relax at night eitham makes animals with towels for the bed.

Room Tip: The rooms on the right are quiet standard room high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 25 in Galle
157 reviews
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#9 of 25 in Galle
568 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $155 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing