We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restored house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

When you read the earlier reviews - its a mixed bag, and so when i booked this hotel was'nt really sure what i was getting into. I stayed there for a day and loved it. The place it self is charming. A old dutch house (which my driver said was the staff quarters for Jetwing Lighthouse till a few years ago) very nicely restored and with a lovely pool, its on top of a small hill with not many neighbouring buildings, its got a central open area where you can sit and read a book or have a quiet meal. Its not stuffy with all the old furniture at all but still retains a 'period' look. The staff is helpful and polite and the food (i had the local fare) is good, though i only had dinner there. Its not close to the fort and you will need transport to get there, and it would have been an excellent hotel if it was right next to the beach., which it is not The beach is across an open ground and road about 5minutes walk away. Overall its a lovely hotel mostly due to the resorted look.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhi2001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 698 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had an extremely pleasant two night weekend stay at the resort. Rooms are spacious. We were six of us and we took rooms 1 to 6. There are 10 rooms + 2 suites.

Staff was attentive and ever so helpful. Food was amazing and impeccable all the time. We had almost all meals (except one dinner) at the venue. Tranquil and nice getaway from Colombo.

Highly recommended. The manager and entire crew made the stay memorable.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Perception1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

A beautifully restored house with nice comfortable rooms. Excellent service and nice food. Chic but not stuffy. Very nice pool, always clean. We were offered a boat trip on the river and had the opportunity to see many birds. Very quiet and peaceful. The best hotel we stayed at during our 2-week trip in Sri Lanka by far.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

A very relaxing and homely atmosphere, with spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. A colonial style property with beautiful antique furniture. Great staff. Very quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NG_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I recently spent nine nights at the Tamarind Hill and once I had worked out how the place operates ( you can have whatever you want whenever you want it) and had a near perfect stay. The building is beautiful with spacious rooms and lovely antique furniture, but what made it for me was the management style and the happy smiling staff. It was all very relaxed, friendly and great fun and I congratulate Janeka on creating such a lovely atmosphere. A tuk tuk ride from Galle and many other trips to places of interest can be organised by the Manager. Super pool that you can actually swim in and amusing monkeys in the trees. Loved it all.

Room Tip: The suites are enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanH950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Tamarind Hill from 4 to 7 April and really appreciated Tamarind Hill. Beautifully restored Dutch colonial house, spacious rooms with antique furniture combined with modern comfort. Great and attentive service with Duminda as the maitre d'. Nice food, cool pool, evening massage. The real place looks better than the pictures.

Situated close to the Jetwing Lighthouse hotel, 5 minutes outside of Galle Fort by Tuk-Tuk, it was a great place to move around from Unawatuna to Hikkaduwa beach (20 minutes by bus number 2) or Galle markets and Fort. We felt it was a much better place than many many beach hotels we could see and staying in such a peaceful and relaxing place, with only a few rooms and dedicated service makes a difference compared to larger structures.

Tamarind Hill definitely compares well with the luxury hotels in the Galle Fort. We actually felt that the Fort was nice to visit during the day, but maybe not so nice to stay at night anyway.

A place you will remember

Probably not the best place to stay with young kids ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This old colonial style house, suites and rooms was amazing. All the facilities pool, lounges and bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The environment was tranquill and the staff were very helpful and proffessional, yet exceptionally friendly. The manager Janaka created a wonderful ethos of "guests come first "and it really showed. Nothing was too much trouble for any hotel staff. Many additonal treats were given, Gihan Ravindra the housekeeper placed beautifully created animals from towells on the bed in the evening. What a delight to come back to. There are plans to refurbish, but i really hope not too many changes are made. Character and style along with its antiques is what makes this place.There was so much to do from the hotel as its location was very close to lots of sites, and venues.
Ive travelled extensivley, but have never stayed in a boutique hotel and i would highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the suite if you want to be really spoilt or just any bedroom there very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkhamstedElvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 25 in Galle
156 reviews
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 25 in Galle
568 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $155 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing