We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband and I arrived at tamarind hill very early in the morning, expecting to be told we would have to wait for our room to be available. Within minutes we were settled in and being served breakfast. Everything here instills a sense of calm and total relaxation. The whole environment is very tasteful and in keeping with the colonial heritage of gale. The rooms are large and arranged around a courtyard. Great pool. On our first night it was my birthday and the staff had gone to great efforts to decorate the room and set a private table for two in the centre of the garden. Very romantic. Nothing is too much trouble. I would love to return to this beautiful sanctuary.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciemucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 672 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2011

The staff greeted as warmly as we arrived and checking in was prompt and fuss-free. The hotel is an old ancestral home converted into a boutique hotel and the renovation has been flawless -it is impossible to tell which part of the building is old and which is new -it blends extremely well and the overall style carries through to the rooms as well -which are huge and spacious with a high ceiling. The Bed was comfortable four-poster affair and the room finishings are good.

Meals are typical boutique hotel style and you can order off a menu or customize as you like it. You dine at your own convenience as well with no rigid times. The staff are very flexible. The food itself was very good -the local cuisine is a must try. We had a delicious spread of string-hoppers for breakfast.

Wifi internet access was available but you need to purchase prepaid cards and pay for it.

This is a very quiet and private place away from the hustle and bustle so do not look for the beachside villa atmosphere here. A very pleasant stay indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, no question. Rooms are tasteful decorated and furnished. The pool is just the same. The level of service is extraordinary, while hotel staff is extremely friendly. Some downsides, the kitchen might need some improvement. You do not have access to the sea and trying I had to pay an extra fee at the nearby Jetwig Lightwouse. Which is inconvenient. So if you are looking for an oasis of silence, this is it. Otherwise you should reconsider.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gece77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We arrived very late and very tired only to be greeted by friendly staff that saw to our every need. Our two rooms were big, airy and beautifully decorated. The relaxed atmosphere and the quiet surroundings gives a home like feeling and invites you to sit back and enjoy time with family and friends.
Tamarind Hill is by far on our top three list of hotels we have visited in asia.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KualaLumpurTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

This place is like paradise! Staff is super friendly, food is sooo yummy and all home made, even the bread!! Infinity swimming pool is wonderful. You can swim in the middle of the night, it is still warm. The whole decoration of the place including the main house which is a couple of hundred years old is sooo beautiful, we couldn't stop taking pictures.

Rooms are huge and have a wonderful design. You open the door towards the small private terrace and basically shower under palm trees in the sun.

The entire team were incredibly helpful and the general manager helped us out with every single request we had... We also went up to see the presidential suit which was fabulous too.

We had a hard time to leave after the three nights we spent there...and will surely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelingyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

first off, the entrance is a complete mess, it will seem like you are driving though a building site! But when you get there..The building and rooms are amazing, really beautiful. Check in is fast and the whole atmosphere of this place is calm and peaceful. Neutral colours, tastefully decorated, which is lovely after the road trip to Galle!
The pool and public areas also lovely; only problem is that there is a working temple next to the pool and often smoke and noise drift over the wall and terrible smells too! This doesn't affect your room.
The food was lovely and seemed nicer than at the lighthouse over the road(which we were disappointed with, seemed rather dated). If you want a boutique hotel with a unique and luxurious setting , this is the place. Its nicer than the lighthouse hotel and the rooms are bigger than the also lovely galle dutch house hotel. SErvice at times was friendly but rather local in style; this is typical of SL though! recommended!
for breakfast- ask for the local style but you need to do that the night before.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Having had two bad nights at other hotels we moved back to Galle and to Tamarind. The hotel is private location but not too far from the town (near to lighthouse hotel)

From arriving it was clear this was a little special, great rooms, great standards generally and all of the staff went out of their way to provide a great experience. Some of the food we had here was just terrific and down to the chef and the staff showing interest and genuinely wanting to do well and make you happy.

One of the best in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,762 reviews
5.2 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 23 in Galle
71 reviews
6.2 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#9 of 23 in Galle
269 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure

Address: No 288 Galle Road | Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tamarind Hill)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#1 Spa Hotel in Galle
#1 Family Hotel in Galle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: $110 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built over 250 years ago, Tamarind Hill, Galle is a magnificent colonial manor house. Today it is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Marvellous living is defined in each of the ten spacious rooms & two grand suites, with a great selection of antiques. Suites offer a private balcony and exclusive butler service. Modern ingredients sit side by side with history ... In-room dining, complimentary wifi, LED screen TV's and more. Tamarind Hill's exquisite dining, signature treatments at the spa, a secluded infinity pool and the Gini Ganga river that flows by, are all part of fine pleasures here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing