We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leijay Resort
Ranked #28 of 117 Galle B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful stay in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

I arrived rather jaded from 2 weeks in Colombo but I was quickly revived by the beautiful surroundings and the warm welcome from Yvonne, the owner.The rooms are large and comfortable but the real bonus for me was the swimming pool...it was big enough for a really good swim and it was kept very clean by a handful of dedicated staff.
Videos are available to watch and some keep fit apparatus is there also. Lunch and dinners offered a variety and always the staff were very helpful
The resorts tuktuk was very convenient to use as the location is a best kept secret. The area attracts many species of birds and wild life so days spent lounging round the pool were never dull. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d2sgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
53
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Welcomed warmly and within short time felt very much at home. Biggest surprise was the fantastic swimming pool set in the leafy garden. We felt very relaxed and staff wonderfully helpful. Tuk tuk always on hand and great at organising driver for day(s) out. Only downside was that little further away from Galle town than we'd expected but this wasn't a problem. Some building work being completed whilst there but didn't detract from our stay and owner always willing to ask them to stop! Breakfast tasty and evening curries tasty but would recommend also sampling other restaurants in the town. Great place to have as base for visiting nearby beaches.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Most of the other reviews describe it well. Leijay is an inviting little place in the middle of a beautiful town on the southern coast of Sri Lanka. I stayed there for 3 months while working at the hospital in Galle, and I could not have had a safer more enjoyable stay. Yvonne was like a 2nd mom while I was there, and she and everyone else went out of their way to made sure I had everything I needed to fully enjoy my time there.
The rooms were large and kept meticulously clean. Hot water, a ceiling fan, and air conditioning were all available if desired. The living room sported cable television for nights that you wanted to catch up on the news or have little escape as well as gym equipment for the truly energetic traveler. The garden was kept amazingly well and the blue sparkling pool in the center of it, really add a luxurious feel to the locale. Even the location, which is in a small neighborhood in close driving distance, but outside the more touristy fort or beach areas added to it's charm.
Jayantha, the cook makes excellent fish/salads as well as a traditional rice and curry rated highly by locals and foreigners alike. Bandula knows people country wide and has excellents recommendations on places to stay when you travel the country. And everyone else who worked there always greeted me with warmth and a smile as well.
I think the place is one that has something for people of all ages and backgrounds. Don't forget to ask about the very affordable massage options while your there! I'm sure you will enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
121 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We were brought to this lovely villa style house in the outskirts of Galle. We were warmly welcomed by Yvonne and her staff, our rooms were good sized and idea for our family The gardens were delightful and the pool large and welcoming. The chef cooked us easily the best meals we had in Sri Lanka. Our clothes were washed, we had massages, the staff got chocolate for the kids, and we had a great trip round Galle in the manager Bandullas Tuk Tuk.
Yvonne was a kind and wonderful hostess who ensured our stay was perfect, I hope she will allow us to stay again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Leijay is an oasis in the middle of a suburb of Galle. Beautiful pool and rooms and everyone very helpful and kind. Yvonne, Bandula, Jayantha and all the staff went out of their way to make you feel like you are part of the family. Wifi acess wonderful. The fact that Leijay has a tuktuk and will take to or pick you up wherever you want was awesome. If you come by train or bus, just phone or arrange with them and they will be there to pick you up. Don't get involved with the local touts.
I did the ayurvedic massage and would recommend it.
Jayantha makes the best rice curry and be sure to be hungry. Actually all the food was outstanding.
This is the ideal place to explore the area of Galle. Stay at least 3-4 days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Yvonne and everyone at Leijay resort are remarkable, they couldn't do enough to make us feel truly welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

Bandula the manager, being local, has a wealth of information which is absolutely invaluable, he took us to places that we didn't know existed and did his utmost best to help with any queries /problems that we had & was always so enthusiastic to help.

The high quality food is prepared by a very gracious chef, who made curry to suit our taste."Chicken in Mustard sauce" & "Fish in White Wine sauce" were just another two meals cooked to a high standard, and we even had a lesson on how to make Dhal.

I had an excellent massage from Boudica in the garden gazebo, which was so relaxing that I almost fell asleep, I can really recommend this, and the garden is so lovely with lots of birds coming to visit.

The ladies keep the rooms nice and clean and our laundry was done to a high standard, cleaner than some of the larger hotels, and there is a separate comfortable guest lounge with cable T.V.

The really great thing for us though was Baloo, Maman & Cherie-Yvonne's three dogs.The dogs were all rescued by Yvonne, and she has worked hard with the surrounding neighbours to educate them on how to look after their dogs, she has even paid for their dogs to be neutered etc.She also told us about a dog rescue centre in the Galle area which is run by a German lady named Marina, so being dog lovers we went to take a look, and were truly amazed by this place.She has achieved so much in just 3 years & all from voluntary contributions ( www.dogcare-clinic.com)

If you like shopping, Yvonne & Bandula can give you all the necessary information on where to go to get what you want at a good price, everything we brought back we bought while staying there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyhoundbonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

It is a right decision to stay at Leijay even though there are not many reviews yet. The hotel has a big swimming pool, the biggest of all the hotels I have visited in Galle area except Lighthouse Hotel, but the latter has much more rooms.

The manager Bandula is very helpful. When I asked for tour, he immediately stopped cleaning the pool and started the tuk tuk engine. He told me there would be another person taking over his task.

The food is excellent. My son seldom has south Asian food but he likes every meal there.

Everything is reasonably prices from American standard. Galle in general is not a cheap place to visit. I would guess this place has the best value we can get there in terms of rooms, services, swimming facilities, and food.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xuxiake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
3.9 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beach Grove Villas
Beach Grove Villas
#6 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.3 mi away
Leisure Land Luxury Eco Villas
4.0 mi away
Damith Guest House
Damith Guest House
#59 of 144 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Property: Leijay Resort
Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leijay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Galle Fort, in a quiet and peaceful location, we have 3 villas and an apartment with 15 rooms altogether. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, tropical gardens, large verandas and a gazebo to add to your stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TVs have a USB port so you can bring in your own movies. Free movies are available at the reception. There is an AC in every room and all bathrooms are fitted with hot showers. Free wireless is available in the rooms and throughout the property. Airport pick and drop is available. A van and three-wheeler is also available to take guests around to the historic Galle Fort and the Unawatuna beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing