We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leijay Resort Galle - 'Superb all round'”
Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leijay Resort
Ranked #30 of 125 Galle B&B and Inns
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Leijay Resort Galle - 'Superb all round'”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Leijay resort is only about 10 minutes by tut tut from the centre of Galle, but when relaxing in the beautiful garden you could be a million miles away. My wife and I recently spent a week with Yvonne and her dedicated staff and we still don't exactly know where the property is, as the guys looked after our every need and ferried us about by their own very reasonably priced tut tut. This included dropping me off at the cricket every day, taking my wife to various locations during the day and picking us up at various locations and times each evening. Danish heads up the team of guys and deserves special praise, as he is polite and always willing to do anything he can to help. Nothing is too much trouble for him. That said, the rest of the staff are nearly as good!

The resort itself only has about five or six rooms, explaining why you get such excellent service and attention. There is a good sized swimming pool and a number of loungers to enjoy the sunshine. The garden is immaculately kept and feels like paradise.

Our room was large, very clean and well furnished.

Breakfast is served on the veranda and you can choose to eat it whenever you want. Leijay serves excellent food for lunch or dinner as well. We had four evening meals during our stay and every one was excellent ...... And not overpriced. Leijay isn't licensed, but you are welcome to bring your own beer, wines or spirits into the property. The lads will even take you by tut tut to the nearest wine shop to allow you to buy it.

Overall, Leijay is a fantastic place to stay and we only wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely try to return in the future.

Room Tip: Leijay doesn't advertise a fitness centre, but has a few fitness bikes in the unlikely event you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamM105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
53
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Sometimes its hard to encapulate what makes a place as special as Leijay, yes the setting is beautiful, swimming pool just lovely, rooms comfortable, food great (must try the rice and curry!!), but for us this little resort has an amazingly peaceful energy created by the wonderful Yvonne and her team. She has managed to create an ethically inspired community with her team which is reflected in the thoughtful and attentive service you recieve on every level. If you travel to Galle you must stop at Leijay and experience the simplicity of the genuine care and hospitality offerred by Yvonne. Personally, i just want to say a big thankyou for the way in which the team helped with my wee little visit to the hospital to get some antibiotics!! Simply can not recommend Leijay enough and i am sure will visit again!!!! Thankyou all for making our stay fantastic ............

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiefy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at Leijay and what a wonderful time we had. Set in a beautiful garden with a large, crystal clean pool Leijay offers a peaceful, relaxing spot tucked away from Galle's hustle and bustle. Rooms are spacious, very clean and well furnished. Our family of 4 had 2 adjoining rooms with a secret passageway between that the kids loved. Owner Yvonne is so wonderful and welcoming and her staff are terrific. Jayantha is the master of the kitchen serving up delicious meals and graciously offering rice and curry cooking lessons. Dinesh is as friendly and terrific as earlier reviews have said. Always there to climb up to get you a king coconut or whisk you off in the resort tuk tuk Dinesh is there to look after the smallest detail. We hope someday to return to Galle and lovely Leijay Resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knottsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, india
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We had a very, very lovely 3 day stay in this tropical garden with an absolutely gorgeous pool and a lovely staff, only a few kilometers away from Galle by tuk-tuk.

The whole crew is very attentive to your needs and Yvonne a wonderful hostess. A definitely relaxing atmosphere to indulge in, a pause to consider during a busy trip touring the island or just to simply "rest" away from home.

Perfectly adapted to families with young children.
If you have children, request to take a day trip to Wijaya beach on the coast, swimming is very safe in the beautiful small lagoon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaDidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We came back from Leijay Resort on Tuesday and felt we had to express our delight with our holiday there. We went to Leijay from 10 days in a forgettable hotel in Kogalla and the difference was amazing. The friendly, helpful service could not have been bettered. It is truly beautiful with a magnificent tropical garden and a most inviting pool (even for me, a non-swimmer). Yvonne was in Switzerland at the time but everything continued faultlessly. The food was excellent, rooms very comfortable and Dinesh a mine of information on local areas and his driving of his tuk tuk in the unbelievable traffic of Galle was superb
. Friends we had made from the previous hotel came to have a meal with us and were so impressed they stayed for 2 days
Add to this watching the birds, monkeys and bats and you have a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrycoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

What a wonderful place! For me Leijay is like a second home, the friendly hospitality, a beautiful tropical garden with many birds and colorful flowers, a lot of quiet places and a great swimming pool. The spacious rooms are comfortable. But most important, Yvonne and her staff are so open, helpful and friendly which makes it hard to say good bye. Book half board to taste the delicious dinners of the excellent chef, Jayanta!!! I could enjoy everyday of the three weeks I spent in this "little paradise."

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Yvonne and her team made sure that everything was easy and comfortable for us, from the (very) late pick up at the airport, the tastily furnished room(s) and the many tips and contacts she took the time to give us for our stay in Galle and Sri Lanka !

The resort is at a quiet place, and we enjoyed watching birds and squirrels while having our fresh fruits with Sri Lankan tea and coffee in the early morning.

Many thanks for this stay !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BYS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
3.6 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
229 reviews
1.9 mi away
Friendship Villa
Friendship Villa
#6 of 125 in Galle
114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Araliya Villa Fort
Araliya Villa Fort
#15 of 125 in Galle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#13 of 125 in Galle
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green Casa
Green Casa
#23 of 125 in Galle
14 reviews
4.3 mi away
Leisure Land Luxury Eco Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Property: Leijay Resort
Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leijay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Galle Fort, in a quiet and peaceful location, we have 3 villas and an apartment with 15 rooms altogether. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, tropical gardens, large verandas and a gazebo to add to your stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TVs have a USB port so you can bring in your own movies. Free movies are available at the reception. There is an AC in every room and all bathrooms are fitted with hot showers. Free wireless is available in the rooms and throughout the property. Airport pick and drop is available. A van and three-wheeler is also available to take guests around to the historic Galle Fort and the Unawatuna beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing