We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leijay, simply wonderful!!”
Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leijay Resort
Ranked #29 of 154 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Sometimes its hard to encapulate what makes a place as special as Leijay, yes the setting is beautiful, swimming pool just lovely, rooms comfortable, food great (must try the rice and curry!!), but for us this little resort has an amazingly peaceful energy created by the wonderful Yvonne and her team. She has managed to create an ethically inspired community with her team which is reflected in the thoughtful and attentive service you recieve on every level. If you travel to Galle you must stop at Leijay and experience the simplicity of the genuine care and hospitality offerred by Yvonne. Personally, i just want to say a big thankyou for the way in which the team helped with my wee little visit to the hospital to get some antibiotics!! Simply can not recommend Leijay enough and i am sure will visit again!!!! Thankyou all for making our stay fantastic ............

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chiefy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 149 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at Leijay and what a wonderful time we had. Set in a beautiful garden with a large, crystal clean pool Leijay offers a peaceful, relaxing spot tucked away from Galle's hustle and bustle. Rooms are spacious, very clean and well furnished. Our family of 4 had 2 adjoining rooms with a secret passageway between that the kids loved. Owner Yvonne is so wonderful and welcoming and her staff are terrific. Jayantha is the master of the kitchen serving up delicious meals and graciously offering rice and curry cooking lessons. Dinesh is as friendly and terrific as earlier reviews have said. Always there to climb up to get you a king coconut or whisk you off in the resort tuk tuk Dinesh is there to look after the smallest detail. We hope someday to return to Galle and lovely Leijay Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knottsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We had a very, very lovely 3 day stay in this tropical garden with an absolutely gorgeous pool and a lovely staff, only a few kilometers away from Galle by tuk-tuk.

The whole crew is very attentive to your needs and Yvonne a wonderful hostess. A definitely relaxing atmosphere to indulge in, a pause to consider during a busy trip touring the island or just to simply "rest" away from home.

Perfectly adapted to families with young children.
If you have children, request to take a day trip to Wijaya beach on the coast, swimming is very safe in the beautiful small lagoon

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaDidier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We came back from Leijay Resort on Tuesday and felt we had to express our delight with our holiday there. We went to Leijay from 10 days in a forgettable hotel in Kogalla and the difference was amazing. The friendly, helpful service could not have been bettered. It is truly beautiful with a magnificent tropical garden and a most inviting pool (even for me, a non-swimmer). Yvonne was in Switzerland at the time but everything continued faultlessly. The food was excellent, rooms very comfortable and Dinesh a mine of information on local areas and his driving of his tuk tuk in the unbelievable traffic of Galle was superb
. Friends we had made from the previous hotel came to have a meal with us and were so impressed they stayed for 2 days
Add to this watching the birds, monkeys and bats and you have a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrycoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

What a wonderful place! For me Leijay is like a second home, the friendly hospitality, a beautiful tropical garden with many birds and colorful flowers, a lot of quiet places and a great swimming pool. The spacious rooms are comfortable. But most important, Yvonne and her staff are so open, helpful and friendly which makes it hard to say good bye. Book half board to taste the delicious dinners of the excellent chef, Jayanta!!! I could enjoy everyday of the three weeks I spent in this "little paradise."

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ansgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Yvonne and her team made sure that everything was easy and comfortable for us, from the (very) late pick up at the airport, the tastily furnished room(s) and the many tips and contacts she took the time to give us for our stay in Galle and Sri Lanka !

The resort is at a quiet place, and we enjoyed watching birds and squirrels while having our fresh fruits with Sri Lankan tea and coffee in the early morning.

Many thanks for this stay !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BYS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We recently spent our Christmas holidays at Leijay Resort. During 3 weeks we enjoyed being able to relax in a paradise-like environment. Leijay Resort is quiet, beautiful and cosy. The tropical garden is gorgeous: exceptional flowers and exotic fruit trees. The large swimming pool was the best attraction for our children and we were happy to be able to chill out either by the pool or on our bungalow's covered terrace. The large rooms were also very comfortable.

Yvonne and her staff were extremely friendly and made us feel at home. Dinesh drove us by tuk-tuk anywhere we wanted and at any time: to Galle to shop or visit, or to Unawatuna or Jivaya beaches for example. Jayantha is most certainly the best cook in Sri Lanka. The food was fantastic! Maleni, Sudath and Suresh were all always busy keeping the resort spotless: the pool, garden, rooms, bathrooms, everything was very clean.

At Leijay anything we wanted seemed to be possible: drinking and eating a coconut from the garden's tree, getting a typical ayurvedic massage at the resort, organisiing trips to visit the country (we went for a one-day safari at Udawalawa which was fantastic),... Yvonne is very helpful.

Our time at Leijay Resort was like a dream and we would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galle hotels
0 mi away
Leisure Land Luxury Eco Villas
0 mi away
Fort Edge Retreat
Fort Edge Retreat
#8 of 169 in Galle
66 reviews
0 mi away
Kikili House
Kikili House
#10 of 154 in Galle
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Beach Haven Guest House
Beach Haven Guest House
#13 of 154 in Galle
259 reviews
0 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#1 of 154 in Galle
332 reviews
0 mi away
Templeberg Villa
Templeberg Villa
#9 of 154 in Galle
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: $43 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leijay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Galle Fort, in a quiet and peaceful location, we have 3 villas and an apartment with 15 rooms altogether. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, tropical gardens, large verandas and a gazebo to add to your stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TVs have a USB port so you can bring in your own movies. Free movies are available at the reception. There is an AC in every room and all bathrooms are fitted with hot showers. Free wireless is available in the rooms and throughout the property. Airport pick and drop is available. A van and three-wheeler is also available to take guests around to the historic Galle Fort and the Unawatuna beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing