We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leijay Resort
Nearby Hotels
$230
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fortaleza(Galle)
$107
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Deco On 44(Galle)
$85
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amangalla(Galle)
$550
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lady Hill(Galle)
$109
$88
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
114
26
6
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
26
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tukrooms are spaciousgalle fortseen better daysunawatunafans
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 151 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We visited Galle in late October and unfortunately have only just got around to writing a review on our wonderful stay at Leijay Resort. Leijay Resort is owned by Swiss-born Yvonne and you can certainly see the Swiss-Sri Lankan hospitality working a treat here. The guest house is located approximately 10 minutes drive from the main Galle Fort, so if you want to be based in the Fort, this isn’t really for you but read on and you might just be tempted to change your plans...

When we arrived in Galle, we were collected by the lovely Dinesh in Leijay Resort’s own tuk tuk (so you don’t have to worry about negotiating prices) and whisked down what feels like a maze of outlying villages and bumpy roads. Dinesh is a real asset to Leijay – a young unassuming man with good English and the epitome of hospitality.

When we reached Leijay’s, we were immediately welcomed by the team, bags whisked away, shown to our spacious and clean rooms (we had booked a triple but were kindly given two rooms for the same rate) and then offered a “welcome drink” (very welcome after our bus journey from Colombo!).

We were lucky enough to visit Leijay off-peak so effectively had the run of the resort to ourselves including the pool and gardens. You can enjoy breakfast on the open veranda overlooking the well tended gardens (we’ve never seen such a dedicated workforce) to the sounds of gentle wind chimes. You can also enjoy lunch and dinner at Leijay (note: Leijay’s is unlicensed but you are welcome to bring your own alcohol).This wasn’t a problem for us as we ventured into Fort for drinks/dinner (after pre-dinner drinks at the Galle Face Hotel, if you’re on a budget try out Sri Lankan’s take on Pizza Hut!). We arranged to be picked up by Dinesh but if you want to organise your own tuk tuk, we would recommend taking a card from Leijay’s to show the driver.

Would also recommend treating yourself to a massage treatment by the serene Budika on site at Leijay’s and then take some time out to lounge by the pool (Dinesh will even climb a tree to pick you a coconut to drink). If you’re feeling more adventurous, Dinesh can take you by tuk tuk to enjoy the beaches of Unawatuna for the day.

For us, we were so pleased to find this little sanctuary after hectic Colombo and would highly recommend it if you’re planning to visit Galle and the surrounding areas.

We must give special heartfelt thanks to Yvonne and Bandula (a former manager who now runs his own tour business but still maintains close ties with Leijay) when my sister was unwell after we left Leijay’s on route to Ella. Your care and concern went above and beyond anything we would have expected and we cannot thank you enough. We wish you both and your families every success and happiness for the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annette-and-friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

A friend and I were in Galle for six days in September for the Australia-Sri Lanka test cricket match. We were planning to stay in Fort, but found Leijay on tripadvisor and the lure of a pool and gardens won the day. It was an excellent decision. Compared with the busyness of the city itself, Leijay is such a quiet chilled place, with beautiful manicured gardens, a decent-sized pool and a very limited number of guests (I think it's 16 at capacity, but it wasn't full when we where there, and we even had the run of the place for a couple of days). The rooms are spacious, there's lots of indoor and outdoor lounging space, and the food is very good, if a little limited in selection. The curry and rice is the stand-out on the menu, though the Sri Lankan omelette for brekkie's a winner too.

But the real attraction is the people. Swiss-born Yvonne is a welcoming but discreet host, leaving the day-to-day running of the place to her local staff. Dinesh is the main liaison guy, aws well as the tuk-tuk and scooter driver. He's a lovely young bloke with good English, and nothing's too much trouble. One day we decided we wanted to cook a curry, so he helped us buy some tuna steaks, then emptied the main kitchen of spices and utensils so we could cook up a storm in our kitchen. Other staff are super-friendly and spend their days keeping the grounds and rooms immaculately clean.

A bit more pressure in the shower would be nice, but that's a minor quibble. About the only real drawback is the resort's distance from Galle proper. It's tucked away at the end of a labyrinth of winding minor roads, about a 10-minute tuk-tuk ride to Fort. There isn't much in the way of local supermarkets or ATMs, although there is a nearby wine store for beer and arrack (Leijay isn't licensed).

It's definitely worth eating out in Fort for some evenings. You can either arrange to picked up by Dinesh at a particular time or grab a local tuku-tuk. This is a bit of fun as most drivers have no idea where Leijay is, so you get a kind of tour of the outlying suburbs/villages while the driver stops every now and then to get directions.

Basically we had a terrific time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Leijay to anyone travelling to Galle.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed for 4 nights at Leijay Resort and had the best time. The place itself is beautiful. A big garden with a swimming pool, filled with trees and birds. Each room is like a small house, decorated with small statues and art and offers many books to read. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is relaxing.
But the best thing in Leijay are the people working there. Yvonne, the swiss owner, is very welcoming and nice. Made me feel right at home. All her staff is very kind and helpful and the crown of the place is a young man named Dinesh. He is part manager, part Tuktuk driver (the best driver I met in Sri Lanka) and an amazing amazing person who I wish all the best.
When I was there, I had a problem. I went to the Unawatuna beach nearby and I lost my passport there. It was a very complicated and depressing situation but with the help and hospitality of Yvonne and the true kindness of Dinesh and his friend Bandula, I still managed to have a great time.
If you're going to Galle or Unawatune, be sure to go to Leijay resort. Say hi from me to Dinesh and the other wonderful people there

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Found this place via Trip Advisor. If there was a rating higher the "excellent" this place would deserve it. I enjoyed every second I spent in the resort (unfortunately only a couple of days). Spacious room with quiet AC, good bathroom, wifi all over the place (even on the sun chairs next to the pool). Not just the rooms are perfectly clean, the garden and pool are as well. The service is fantastic, the stuff is never pushy, I never felt observed, they are very helpful and have been trained well. Prices on the menu are reasonable, and when getting a Tuk-Tuk you're not ripped off as in many hotels, prices are fair, so even if the resort is out of town, it's easy to just quickly go to Galle Fort or Unawatuna.
For me this was the perfect place to charge my battery after backpacking through the country. Thank you so much, all of you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bex42bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The highlight of 3 weeks in beautiful Sri Lanka! They say perhaps Adam's Peak is the original 'Garden of Eden' location, they are very close, it's actually just a little way off in the magical paradise Yvonne and the fabulous team have created in her home/resort in Galle. There is a reason every single review of Leijay raves about it...they've got it right on every level. Yvonne is the 5th generation in a family experienced in the art of hospitality and it shows. All reviews have touched on most of the amazing traits of Leijay, the staff are brilliant, that perfect balance of helpful but discreet, just gorgeous people really. Bandula has been mentioned before which is not surprising, a great manager, a very smart and funny man, professional but manages a laid back relaxing feel to his efficiency, he had us smiling and laughing regularly, a real Leijay legend, Dinesh the young man on the team with a heart of gold (excellent tuk tuk driver!), Malani and Budika, calm, gentle, always smiling and so graceful, keep the place absolutely spotless, and quickly produced the cleanest (immaculate ironing too!) laundry I've ever enjoyed whilst on holiday, those lovely ladies always busy with a variety of tasks, they can do everything and anything! Suresh spent most of his time efficiently caring for the stunning gardens, Jante who has been mentioned before is indeed an excellent cook (get's everything just right, the MASSIVE super tasty Sri Lanka feasts - right down to your eggs just PERFECT, exactly how you like them every morning, the freshest, biggest and most variety on the daily fruit platters too, not to be missed!), and not to forget (as he moves in the night), Janika, the night watchman quietly keeping us safe as we sleep. Also keeping us safe and welcome is the gorgeous family of beasties (dogs), Duchess, Baloo, Sherry and Mamma, another reason I first chose to stay here, they are true animal lovers. I think the regular pats and love these doggies get from all the staff is just gorgeous! In fact it's a wildlife haven, monkeys in the tree's in the surrounding forest, cute squirrels dashing around the garden (the babies playing by the pool one afternoon were just too cute for words) stunning array of birdlife, the variety if birdsongs in the early morning is spectacular (although most days I slept too late and missed them!). One thing I haven't seen mentioned yet is Budika's massages - YOU MUST TRY THEM!! No need for a cheesey CD with rainforest music playing in the background here, the REAL rainforest natural music is right outside your window...magic fingers Budika, sooooo good, thanks again! Lazing by the crystal clear HUGE pool, Bandula popping by and offering a freshly picked coconut, chats with various travellers in the evenings, the perfect combination of privacy and interesting conversation, all a few minutes tuk tuk ride to the many amazing sights in and around Galle (tuk tuks on site ready to whisk you anywhere with a moments notice) - elegant and eclectic furnishings, so much homely details, lots of big bottles of fresh water daily, extremely clean and comfortable, great food, BRILLIANT people, and did I mention the garden? Oh and very important, book in advance!! We had to stay elsewhere in Galle on our way back to Colombo as they were fully booked (another plus as it's only got 5 rooms so perfect for peace and quiet too), they very kindly helped us find somewhere else for two nights - then we stayed at Leijay for the rest of holiday (5 nights).....looking forward to our next chance to get back to gorgeous Sri Lanka, such a beautiful country and truly gorgeous welcoming, smiling, happy people, all exemplified at Leijay - the Garden of Eden, where the only sin would be to not stay here! My favourite place EVER! To make it easier for you, here's the web/contact deets:

http://web.me.com/jaypetit/Yvonne/Sri_Lanka.html

yvonnepetit@yahoo.de

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyholidaysOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews