We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Leijay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leijay Resort
Ranked #31 of 121 Galle B&B and Inns
Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Found this place via Trip Advisor. If there was a rating higher the "excellent" this place would deserve it. I enjoyed every second I spent in the resort (unfortunately only a couple of days). Spacious room with quiet AC, good bathroom, wifi all over the place (even on the sun chairs next to the pool). Not just the rooms are perfectly clean, the garden and pool are as well. The service is fantastic, the stuff is never pushy, I never felt observed, they are very helpful and have been trained well. Prices on the menu are reasonable, and when getting a Tuk-Tuk you're not ripped off as in many hotels, prices are fair, so even if the resort is out of town, it's easy to just quickly go to Galle Fort or Unawatuna.
For me this was the perfect place to charge my battery after backpacking through the country. Thank you so much, all of you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bex42bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
53
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The highlight of 3 weeks in beautiful Sri Lanka! They say perhaps Adam's Peak is the original 'Garden of Eden' location, they are very close, it's actually just a little way off in the magical paradise Yvonne and the fabulous team have created in her home/resort in Galle. There is a reason every single review of Leijay raves about it...they've got it right on every level. Yvonne is the 5th generation in a family experienced in the art of hospitality and it shows. All reviews have touched on most of the amazing traits of Leijay, the staff are brilliant, that perfect balance of helpful but discreet, just gorgeous people really. Bandula has been mentioned before which is not surprising, a great manager, a very smart and funny man, professional but manages a laid back relaxing feel to his efficiency, he had us smiling and laughing regularly, a real Leijay legend, Dinesh the young man on the team with a heart of gold (excellent tuk tuk driver!), Malani and Budika, calm, gentle, always smiling and so graceful, keep the place absolutely spotless, and quickly produced the cleanest (immaculate ironing too!) laundry I've ever enjoyed whilst on holiday, those lovely ladies always busy with a variety of tasks, they can do everything and anything! Suresh spent most of his time efficiently caring for the stunning gardens, Jante who has been mentioned before is indeed an excellent cook (get's everything just right, the MASSIVE super tasty Sri Lanka feasts - right down to your eggs just PERFECT, exactly how you like them every morning, the freshest, biggest and most variety on the daily fruit platters too, not to be missed!), and not to forget (as he moves in the night), Janika, the night watchman quietly keeping us safe as we sleep. Also keeping us safe and welcome is the gorgeous family of beasties (dogs), Duchess, Baloo, Sherry and Mamma, another reason I first chose to stay here, they are true animal lovers. I think the regular pats and love these doggies get from all the staff is just gorgeous! In fact it's a wildlife haven, monkeys in the tree's in the surrounding forest, cute squirrels dashing around the garden (the babies playing by the pool one afternoon were just too cute for words) stunning array of birdlife, the variety if birdsongs in the early morning is spectacular (although most days I slept too late and missed them!). One thing I haven't seen mentioned yet is Budika's massages - YOU MUST TRY THEM!! No need for a cheesey CD with rainforest music playing in the background here, the REAL rainforest natural music is right outside your window...magic fingers Budika, sooooo good, thanks again! Lazing by the crystal clear HUGE pool, Bandula popping by and offering a freshly picked coconut, chats with various travellers in the evenings, the perfect combination of privacy and interesting conversation, all a few minutes tuk tuk ride to the many amazing sights in and around Galle (tuk tuks on site ready to whisk you anywhere with a moments notice) - elegant and eclectic furnishings, so much homely details, lots of big bottles of fresh water daily, extremely clean and comfortable, great food, BRILLIANT people, and did I mention the garden? Oh and very important, book in advance!! We had to stay elsewhere in Galle on our way back to Colombo as they were fully booked (another plus as it's only got 5 rooms so perfect for peace and quiet too), they very kindly helped us find somewhere else for two nights - then we stayed at Leijay for the rest of holiday (5 nights).....looking forward to our next chance to get back to gorgeous Sri Lanka, such a beautiful country and truly gorgeous welcoming, smiling, happy people, all exemplified at Leijay - the Garden of Eden, where the only sin would be to not stay here! My favourite place EVER! To make it easier for you, here's the web/contact deets:

http://web.me.com/jaypetit/Yvonne/Sri_Lanka.html

yvonnepetit@yahoo.de

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidaysOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I arrived rather jaded from 2 weeks in Colombo but I was quickly revived by the beautiful surroundings and the warm welcome from Yvonne, the owner.The rooms are large and comfortable but the real bonus for me was the swimming pool...it was big enough for a really good swim and it was kept very clean by a handful of dedicated staff.
Videos are available to watch and some keep fit apparatus is there also. Lunch and dinners offered a variety and always the staff were very helpful
The resorts tuktuk was very convenient to use as the location is a best kept secret. The area attracts many species of birds and wild life so days spent lounging round the pool were never dull. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d2sgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Welcomed warmly and within short time felt very much at home. Biggest surprise was the fantastic swimming pool set in the leafy garden. We felt very relaxed and staff wonderfully helpful. Tuk tuk always on hand and great at organising driver for day(s) out. Only downside was that little further away from Galle town than we'd expected but this wasn't a problem. Some building work being completed whilst there but didn't detract from our stay and owner always willing to ask them to stop! Breakfast tasty and evening curries tasty but would recommend also sampling other restaurants in the town. Great place to have as base for visiting nearby beaches.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Most of the other reviews describe it well. Leijay is an inviting little place in the middle of a beautiful town on the southern coast of Sri Lanka. I stayed there for 3 months while working at the hospital in Galle, and I could not have had a safer more enjoyable stay. Yvonne was like a 2nd mom while I was there, and she and everyone else went out of their way to made sure I had everything I needed to fully enjoy my time there.
The rooms were large and kept meticulously clean. Hot water, a ceiling fan, and air conditioning were all available if desired. The living room sported cable television for nights that you wanted to catch up on the news or have little escape as well as gym equipment for the truly energetic traveler. The garden was kept amazingly well and the blue sparkling pool in the center of it, really add a luxurious feel to the locale. Even the location, which is in a small neighborhood in close driving distance, but outside the more touristy fort or beach areas added to it's charm.
Jayantha, the cook makes excellent fish/salads as well as a traditional rice and curry rated highly by locals and foreigners alike. Bandula knows people country wide and has excellents recommendations on places to stay when you travel the country. And everyone else who worked there always greeted me with warmth and a smile as well.
I think the place is one that has something for people of all ages and backgrounds. Don't forget to ask about the very affordable massage options while your there! I'm sure you will enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We were brought to this lovely villa style house in the outskirts of Galle. We were warmly welcomed by Yvonne and her staff, our rooms were good sized and idea for our family The gardens were delightful and the pool large and welcoming. The chef cooked us easily the best meals we had in Sri Lanka. Our clothes were washed, we had massages, the staff got chocolate for the kids, and we had a great trip round Galle in the manager Bandullas Tuk Tuk.
Yvonne was a kind and wonderful hostess who ensured our stay was perfect, I hope she will allow us to stay again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Leijay is an oasis in the middle of a suburb of Galle. Beautiful pool and rooms and everyone very helpful and kind. Yvonne, Bandula, Jayantha and all the staff went out of their way to make you feel like you are part of the family. Wifi acess wonderful. The fact that Leijay has a tuktuk and will take to or pick you up wherever you want was awesome. If you come by train or bus, just phone or arrange with them and they will be there to pick you up. Don't get involved with the local touts.
I did the ayurvedic massage and would recommend it.
Jayantha makes the best rice curry and be sure to be hungry. Actually all the food was outstanding.
This is the ideal place to explore the area of Galle. Stay at least 3-4 days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
3.9 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#17 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beach Grove Villas
Beach Grove Villas
#6 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.3 mi away
Leisure Land Luxury Eco Villas
4.0 mi away
Damith Guest House
Damith Guest House
#60 of 145 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leijay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leijay Resort

Property: Leijay Resort
Address: 43 A/B New Lane | Madawalamulla, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leijay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Galle Fort, in a quiet and peaceful location, we have 3 villas and an apartment with 15 rooms altogether. There is a beautiful outdoor pool, tropical gardens, large verandas and a gazebo to add to your stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TVs have a USB port so you can bring in your own movies. Free movies are available at the reception. There is an AC in every room and all bathrooms are fitted with hot showers. Free wireless is available in the rooms and throughout the property. Airport pick and drop is available. A van and three-wheeler is also available to take guests around to the historic Galle Fort and the Unawatuna beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Leijay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing