We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning villa”
Our garden has 20 meters sea/beach front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our garden has 20 meters sea/beach front
sun set at south point villa Side view of our beach from south point villa -
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Our garden has 20 meters sea/beach front
sun set at south point villa
Side view of our beach from south point villa -
south point villa  night view
verandah has ceiling fans
verandah
Inside and verandah dining, sitting areas have a spectacular view of the sea
sea room bedroom has 2 queen size beds, Satellite TV, AC, Ceiling fan
master bedroom has a king size bed, Satellite TV, AC  Ceiling fan
bathroom with rainfall shower. Toiletries and fresh linen provided
his and her wash basins, rainfall shower
Pond room over looks a lovely carp filled pond and pool. King size bed, TV, AC, Ceiling fan
the staff take great pride in laying the table
we have 20 meters of garden along the beach
inside dining - mostly guest prefer to have there meals on the verandah
dining
sitting areas
We have 20 meters of garden along the beach
south point villa.
private pool for South Point Villa guests only
dining under the stars
Enjoy your meals in the garden
South Point Villa is on a little headland - table set side of the headland
Surfing possible far end of our beach.  Surfing instructors available 1/4km away
Oct to April help the fisherman to pull in the boats and pick the catch of the day
Our seafood is catch of the day - a personal chef to preapre all your meals
SrI Lankan rice and curry meal has about 8 dishes. rice, vegetables, meat /fish dish
Sri Lankan rice and curry.  Guests enjoying 10kg of crabs prepared in 3 different ways.
hire an elephant to feed and enjoy
Chauffeur driven vehicles available 24/7
Yoga instructors and Ayurvedha massages available . If you want bring your own oils.
We can arrange your wedding.  firework displays, cultural shows, registration can be arranged.
Deep sea trolling, surfing can be arrange from our beach.
white tea plantation, where tea tours and tasting possible is 15 minutes away.  Herman teas
For groups - south point ocean our 7 bedroom villa is available
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan H
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning villa”
Reviewed August 24, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Wow was our first reaction on entering South Point Villa and that was the word most often on our lips during our five days there.

Stunning location, with direct beach access - which was usually deserted apart from the odd fisherman. It was amazing to walk along the beautiful sand and paddle in the Indian Ocean.

The villa itself was superb. We have rented villas for 30 years and this was by far the best. Everything is exactly as per the photos, if not better in real life. Pool and gardens were great.

All the was only exceeded by the amazing staff. I hadn’t rented a staffed villa before and was slightly apprehensive, but they were outstanding. I cannot speak highly enough about the level of service they gave. Unobtrusive but charming and efficient. Personal preferences were quietly noticed and taken into account on the next occasion. An example: the manager noticed that my husband was missing his guitar and arranged for a friend of his to play for us one evening. It made my husband’s holiday.

What to say about the meals - don’t bother leaving the villa! Great food, whatever you wanted. Breakfast was a delight and the bbq on the beach was really magical.

It is hard to say what the best part of staying here was because it was all wonderful. Clean, spacious rooms, magnificent views but the owners should be really proud of their staff. If there is a better standard of service anywhere in the world I haven’t come across it.

We had come to Sri Lanka for my 60th birthday. The whole country was a wonderful experience but this villa was certainly the icing on the cake. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getaway66...
1 review
“The holiday of a lifetime!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

From the photographs you can see that South Point Villa is in the most breathtaking setting. We arrived in the evening to a view of illuminated palm trees, a pristine white beach, and the sound of the waves lapping on the shore, also the smell of the most delicious meal being prepared for us to eat on the terrace overlooking this beautiful scene.What you cannot see from the photographs is the team of wonderful house staff who make it their business to see that your holiday is the best it can be. Nothing is too much trouble. Without intruding in any way, they are what made this experience truly unique.We were a party of ten, ageing from seventy to twins of eighteen months.Everything we needed was provided, beautiful cots complete with mosquito nets, lovely wooden highchairs and carseats that the lovely driver Upali even transferred into the jeeps for our elephant safari.The children were enthralled with the snorkelling from our own beach, they released turtles from the nearby sanctuary, watched baby elephants being fed at the orphanage prior to the most fantastic safari. We went whale watching and saw fifty sperm whales with dolphins at unbelievably close quarters, and then returned to our beautiful villa where we were spoiled with a delicious cake, one of many surprises that Sonali the owner had sent us.Before we even left she had sent us emails with really useful information which allowed us to make the most of our time there, she even arranged for our wine to be delivered from Colombo.We are missing them all now, especially Samphat, Braemar and Upali.We really hope to return one day, as it is truly outstanding.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilendri...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxury luxury luxury”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wow.. what can i say other that total luxury. Being right on the beach, having a pool, beautiful accommodations and excellent staff this place is a must visit.

Lots of things to do in the area if u want to get away from the beach - but with the great view and white sandy beaches.. who woild want to leave.

The villa is luxury. The staff are amazing. The owner is superb.

Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer67...
2 reviews
“Gorgeous location, excellent staff, wonderful experience.”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This is a gorgeous villa located right on the sea. Just a few steps and you are on the beach, which is very much like a private beach shared only with some local fishermen. We spent most of our time relaxing in the pool, lounging on the verandah or splashing about in the sea (Note: the sea has strong currents, but it is shallow enough here to have a dip). We were a party of eight - with ages ranging from 83 years to 13 months. The food was delicious and varied, all our tastes were catered to, with the chefs able to make both Sri Lankan and Western food. We arranged to be picked up from Colombo by the villa's driver which is about 2.5 hours away via a very safe and well made highway. You can hire the villa's large van and driver to take you anywhere you like, but we were having such a wonderful time at the villa we didn't venture out much except to Galle once, which is about 30 minutes away and also to visit the Herman tea estate. We were there for 9 days and were very reluctant to leave. I cannot emphasise how friendly, patient and caring the staff at South Point Villa are, an especially big shout out to Darshanna who made the most amazing towel sculptures every evening. We would definitely love to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2016
Thank you for your review. We look forward to warmly welcoming you and your family once again to south point villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierrecru...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every generation was in heaven here”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were looking at a tall order and when we looked at the criteria for our family get together. My parents in their 70's, their three sons, wives and 7 grandchildren aged between 18 and 2. This place appeared to tick every box when we booked the trip and smashed the criteria into the stratosphere when we got there. It just got better everyday, to say we didn't want to leave is an understatement.

We had 15 people so hired the Villa and the Abbey, they are next door to each other and each had a pool. Then there was the beach which was only yards away. The bedrooms are massive, air conditioned with adjoining bathrooms. They are kept pristeen by the team of wonderful staff who you barely notice. As you know with kids near a beach, and pool, sand and water was constantly dragged into the houses. You would never know it, gone, before you had chance to apologise to the staff. The rooms were all tidied and beds made before you were back from breakfast and if you wanted coffee, tea or a beer you simply had to ask and you could sit at any of the beautiful parts of the property and enjoy the sun, the shade, the peace and quiet or go and be a part of the action at whichever pool was populated by the kids that particular day.

We stayed for 12 nights and we all ate together at the Villa and spent evenings after at the Abbey. The food was first class and the chefs would cater for whatever tastes you wanted. We all love spicey food and the local dishes were superb and graded heatwise to peoples different preferences including dad who asked for super spiced and got exactly what he wanted! That was him happy for the whole fortnight. They also catered for the younger children and made excellent pizza's, soups, pastas and burgers when they fancied some less exotic food.

Everyday was made special by the staff, hand picked by Sonali who we did not meet, but we did meet her son who took the older kids quadbiking while we visited their family tea plantation. We also met her husband who dropped by to deliver another beautiful cake and a welcome bottle of wine. Nothing was too much trouble.

We ate out a couple of nights at posh hotels in Galle and realised the food at home was just as good so not worth the effort. What was lovely was taking a 2 minute tuk tuk ride to the nearby Fortress Hotel for pre dinner cocktails which we did a couple of times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonder 5 star staff who were phenominal
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2016
Thank you very much for your review - We try very hard to make the stay of our guests memorable. We look forward to warmly welcoming you and your family to south point properties once again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwachelle
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

South Point Villa was a true highlight of a Sri Lankan family holiday we’d been planning for many years, it did not disappoint. Our party included three generations, from three year olds up to their sixty five year grandparents, and everyone’s needs were perfectly catered for.

The villa itself is magnificent, the charm of old-world luxury with all of the modern conveniences you’d expect. You are on the edge of a secluded beach which is essentially your own. The staff are exceptionally warm and accommodating, and the freshly prepared traditional Sri Lankan meals kept getting more lavish as the days went on. This holiday was a truly special occasion, and on our last night where the beach was lit with torches, and and we sat gazing at the sunset, we all promised we’d return.

To be frank, it’s tempting to create a criticism of South Point Abbey to ensure the secret doesn’t get out, so we are not fighting for a booking next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa with wonderful friendly staff.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We only spent three nights at South Point Villa but wished we could have stayed for longer. The villa is very spacious with a lovely swimming pool area with direct access to the beach. The staff were all lovely, particularly the chef who went to great lengths to make sure our meals were all delicious. Two of the bedrooms face the sea with french doors out to the garden, but the third bedroom is at the back of the house and suffers from road noise. This is a slight draw back, but given all the villas along the coast are fairly close to the road it is unavoidable and all the rooms were decorated to a very high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at South Point Villa and would definitely like to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly staff!
Liked least: The road noise in one of the rooms.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2013
We thank our guests for their review.

South Point Villa has been built in the centre of the property. We are sorry if the noise had reached our guests in the pond room.

By Aug 2013 the new highway being constructed 8 to 10 miles inland will be completed and extending to Matara, which is beyond our properties. The traffic will no longer be diverted onto the coastal road past south point villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing