We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on Earth”
Luxury villa on a soft sandy beach. sea good for swimming. Exclusive. Ideal for families and couples
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury villa on a soft sandy beach. sea good for swimming. Exclusive. Ideal for families and couples
Sun Rise and Sun set both can be seen from the garden. The villa is on a little headland, The sand is soft and sandy. sea is good for swimming. this is not a crowded beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Luxury villa on a soft sandy beach. sea good for swimming. Exclusive. Ideal for families and couples
Sun Rise and Sun set both can be seen from the garden. The villa is on a little headland,
The sand is soft and sandy. sea is good for swimming. this is not a crowded beach.
The view from the sitting areas and 2 bedrooms are stunning
dinning area has stunning views of the ocean
seating areas have sea views
if you like you can have your dinner inside and still have the sea view
sea room bedroom has 2 queen size beds, Satellite TV, AC, Ceiling fan en suite large bathroom
master bedroom has a king size bed, Satellite TV, AC  Ceiling fan. Sea view and en suite bathroom
Master bathroom with rainfall shower, his and her basins, Toiletries and fresh linen provided.
Pond room and Sea room each has attached bathrooms, which are large and spacious his and basins
Pond room over looks a lovely carp filled pond and pool. King size bed, TV, AC, Ceiling fan
the staff take great pride in laying the table
we have 20 meters of garden along the beach. sea good for swimming
If you wish you may dine inside and still have a stunning view of the ocean
our staff will arrange your meals in the garden. just let us know what you want. No extra cost
comfortable seating inside and still have sea view
ideal for families with children. plenty of space to run around and nothing to stress parents
We have 20 meters of garden along the beach.  plenty of sunbeds and comfortable seating.
have your breakfast on the deck under the warm early morning sun
private pool for South Point Villa guests only
dining under the stars
fish eye view of the properties
Enjoy your meals in the garden
from sea view of south point villa and the beach stretch
South Point Villa is on a little headland - table set side of the headland
Surfing possible far end of our beach.  Surfing instructors available 1/4km away
Oct to April help the fisherman to pull in the boats and pick the catch of the day
Our seafood is catch of the day - a personal chef to preapre all your meals
SrI Lankan rice and curry meal has about 8 dishes. rice, vegetables, meat /fish dish
Sri Lankan rice and curry.  Guests enjoying 10kg of crabs prepared in 3 different ways.
we can arrange an elephant for the day to feed and bath. This contributes to the elephants upkeep
Chauffeur driven vehicles available 24/7.  we have 2 child car seats. our driver can act as a guide
Yoga instructors and Ayurvedha massages available . If you want bring your own oils.
We can arrange your wedding.  firework displays, cultural shows, registration can be arranged.
Deep sea trolling, surfing can be arrange from our beach.
white tea plantation, where tea tours and tasting possible is 15 minutes away.  Herman teas
For groups we have two more beach villas adjoining properties. each has a private pool and sea view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at South Point Abbey for 5 nights following a 2 day adventure trip, rafting and kayaking on the Kitulgala river.

As soon as we arrived at the Abbey, and were welcomed in such a friendly manner, we knew that we had made the right choice.

The Abbey was beautiful - wonderful setting, beautifully furnished, generous bedrooms, all en-suite. The veranda table was beautifully laid up for every meal, and I have to confess that we never set foot outside the villa/beach for the entire duration of the stay.

The beach directly in front of the villa was stunning - fabulous waves, clean water, clean sand. Coral reef for snorkelling, with beautiful fish. Rocks for crab searching. Our children (9, 13 and 14), loved having the company of the 2 dogs, Lisa and Sandy (optional - only if the guest wants them), the 2 rabbits hopping around, the fish, not to mention all the fascinating wild-life.

We spent hours in the pool, or reading cosily on the veranda as the rain lashed down (October trip!). The sea and pool were beautifully warm.

The food was exquisite. All beautifully prepared and served. You could wander in to the kitchen at any time to watch Shantha, the chef, create his feasts. Sujith, the house-keeper, and his helper Mahesh were on hand permanently but so discreetly. Serving meals and delicious drinks. The villa was always clean and tidy - don't know how they did it - never actually saw them working, but magically folded clothes and made beds appeared as if by magic. Sujith has the most lovely manner - such a warm and friendly smile. He even helped us to pack at the end, collecting belongings, and finding things we would definitely have missed.

There is a road right behind the villa, where vehicles do tend to make frequent use of their horns. During the day, it was no problem at all, as the soothing sound of the waves drowned out any unpleasant noise. We did, however, use earplugs at night, to avoid being woken up in the early morning by the lorries and buses passing by.

These 2 villas are a gem to find. We hope to be able to return with extended family, to take both the villas side by side, as you definitely get 5 star hotel treatment, with the luxury of no other guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and service
Liked least: The noise from the horns on the road
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian N S
uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“fantastic location-paradise.”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

we stayed at the villa for our daughters wedding in march. she rented the whole villa and the one next door for friends and family,we stayed at southpoint villa in the lovely fish pond room, which had a large very comfortable bed ,the whole villa was clean and comfortable the staff very attentive and helpful,the chef cooked wonderful meals especially the srilankan chicken curry which one afternoon he showed myself and my daughyer how to make.The wedding took place at the villa and was arranged with a lot of care the manager spent a lot of time with the bride arranging every detail of the day, it was a fantastic memorable day.I would certainly reccomend the villa for a holiday or wedding .The grounds and swimming pools at both villas are kept in good order,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milly B
London
1 review
“A Wonderful Holiday in a wonderful place”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at South Point Abbey. It lived up to very high expectations which is quite impressive! We stayed at Club Villa Bentota and the Frangipani Tree before coming to South Point but it was only when we arrived at South Point Abbey that we truly relaxed. The staff there are wonderful - so smiley, gentle and helpful without being intrusive. The whole family adored Sujeth, Mayesh & Shanta (please excuse spellings!). They really made us feel right at home and they really made an impression on us.

Shantha's food was fantastic - the curries were outstanding and the children loved the calamari and chips and fried fish and spaghetti bolognese, not to mention the breakfast pancakes, the chocolate cake and the juices and milkshakes.

The baby bunnies which Sujeth brought out for the children was a huge bonus and he very kindly took us for a lovely walk through his village, visiting the New Year's celebrations and spotting bats and monkey and birds. What a kind man - we all warmed to him very much.

Of course another thing that made South Point Abbey such a pleasure was the very pretty garden, the fantastic view & the lovely swimming pool - all a very good layout with utterly beautiful views across the ocean. In the house, we found the beds and bedding particularly comfortable and the bathrooms pleasantly spotless and new - all of which I think really go a long way to making one feel comfortable and happy. There are 3 huge double bedrooms upstairs each ensuite and a living room with a large verandah. Downstairs is another large double bedroom and bathroom, a small study with books and magazines and the kitchen.

I sincerely hope we will one day be able to return to South Point Abbey. It really was a wonderful few days!

Some people have mentioned the road. It is very near to the house but surprisingly it never bothered me. The only time I really noticed the noise of cars was in the bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views, the staff, the owner, the food, the pool, the beach...hard to pick!
Liked least: The road is nearby but only audible in the bathrooms and hardly at all from bedrooms
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annabel10...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hidden gem on the edge of the Indian Ocean”
Reviewed August 5, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed in South Point Abbey and had the most wonderful 6 days. The location of the villa is deceptive, tucked away behind a large stone wall but when you enter you find a little bit of heaven. Immaculate garden, 10 metres from the ocean, infinity pool which was warm and just a great place to laze away a few hours. For my teenage children the surf beach was a mile away and the waves were fantastic.
But what made South Point Abbey so special were the staff who looked after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble and every wish/request was catered for, always with a smile. The food was always beautifully fresh, presented with real skill and utterly delicious. I have come back feeling i have had a perfect holiday and we all hope we will go back to visit this special place again. If you get to stay here you are very lucky people!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2011
South Point Abbey is the adjoining property to South Point Villa. Owned and managed by Sonali.. Each property has its own private outdoor pool, garden and staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va./USA
Reviewed June 7, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: location, luxury, kindness of the staff
Liked least: steps from the garden to the beach
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Groningen
Reviewed May 31, 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Italy
Reviewed May 19, 2009 for a stay in March 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: The Villa its self and the location
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing