We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and messy”

Unawatuna Beach Resort
Ranked #82 of 134 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Sri Lankan, Bar, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Busy and messy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

If you want peace and quiet don't stay here. We came here to find a couple of restaurants and compared to the peace and quality of our nearby hotel (Apa Villas), it was awful. The Costa del Sol of southern Sri Lanka.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ParkyBor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“quality food and service at a great price...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Staying inUNawatuna and walked by this restaurant on the beach. Caters for the residents of course but very happy to serve anyone else, we were warmly welcomed into the restaurant, half on open air beach, half in large covered area with central bar and loads of fans to keep the air moving and cool (its always hot !) Friendly waiters speaking good english.THey have a buffet , soups / salads / breads , mains. THe focus is more on quality than quantity which is so typical of european "buffet" restaurants inhotels..Food is delicious and the chef is a french trained pastry chef, so desserts are great, the lemon meringue pie was superb mainly around the rich crispy base. THe price for all that including unlimited tea/coffee during after was just 1250LKR (£7). We went back again following night which was the BBQ special night with steak/pork/tuna etc on grill and the price moved up just a little to 1600LKR but still a bargain for ambience, they even had the live cricket match no the TV so that was a bonus...well run and well recommended if you are in the area

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huw b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ry, Denmark
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Waiters missing attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

One afternoon we visited the restaurant - right on the beach - for coffee and tea. Slow slow service - not a place we like to visit in the evening with a lot of guest from the hotel linked to the restaurant. Many better more pleasant are available.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteenDam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good buffet and pizzas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We ate at the Beach resort four times during our stay in Unawatuna. We didn't live at the resort. The pizzas are best in town and we where positively surprised by the high standard of the evenening buffe - which was free for children under 6 years - so it became okay in price. But the place does have a problem with service and writing a bill is not easy and in one case this took more than 45 minutes! - we suspect that the staff simply doesn't want to give external guests a bill... you can guess your self why. Another thing is outrageous service charges - for exampel the charge for fresh juice is 390 rupees and then they add 25 % (I think) service charge and tax - most be the most expensive fruit juice in Unawatuna. This way of adding servicecharges is not used any where else we visited in Unawatuna. However with childen the buffe was a great way to eat and avoid the long waiting times most ofter unawatuna restaurangs have.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Viken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great Food!
Excellent personalised service!! Chaminda is the best!
The ambience is fantastic for lunch or for dinner or for lounging and grazing the whole day!!
We had 3 out of 4 meals (not including breakfast) in Unawatuna at UBR.
Brilliant!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VinayShenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unawatuna Beach Resort also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Unawatuna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing