We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rampart View Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$230
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Inn Guest House(Galle)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$178
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Deco On 44(Galle)
$85
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
$139
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amangalla(Galle)
$550
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
44
67
27
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
67
27
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcommon verandahkind familyaffordable optiongreat view from the balconyhot watergalle fortfort wallsveg currysri lankaroof terraceschool childrenmosquito netceiling fanupper floorfirst floorbreakfast is served
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 142 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Location-wise this guesthouse can't be beaten and if it I'd too hot to gout on an adventure you could sit on the balcony all day watching the world go by. it seems as though everyone comes here - to have a picnic with the family, to go to the beach for a swim, to while away the time waiting for the sun to set, and mostly for the lovely cooling ocean breezes.

The family who run the guesthouse are lovely and very friendly. The guesthouse itself is basic. Our room had a double bed, efficient ceiling fan and an air conditioner which we didnt need to use. The bed was reasonably comfortable. There is a bar of lifebuoy soap in the bathroom but if you were hoping for a small bottle of shampoo and conditioner you will be disappointed. The hot water system is hard to work out and we found the easiest way to use it was to have two showers going, one with hot water and one with cold. all in all the guesthouse is excellent value for money.

There are signs prominently displayed asking you not to drink alcohol, which is a shame - a sundowners always goes down well. Strangely we didn't find a single restaurant or shop within the walls of the fort that sold alcohol. and neither did we see any televisions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzurisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the only 'guest house' that we stayed in during our tour of Sri Lanka, but it was one of the most pleasant stays during our few weeks on the island. We booked an extremely reasonably priced room, with air conditioning, mosquito nets, sea view and stunning view of the sunset. The bathroom looked almost brand new. The only concern we had was a few cracks where insects could have potential got through, but, that said, we had no problems (and the mosquito net put our minds at ease).

We were unsure of the time of our arrival and so asked to have a meal provided (at an extremely low price) for our first evening. Mrs Rauf asked what we wanted and then cooked us a banquet. We asked for traditionally cooked fish. We had tuna with a traditional dahl curry, a potato curry, okra, poppadoms etc etc! After this we asked to have all of our meals cooked by Mrs Rauf, and didn't even consider going elsewhere. The traditional cooking really was a highlight of our holiday.

Finally, the roof garden which looks out onto the ocean was a fantastic place to sit and watch the world go by.

We would strongly urge anyone coming to Galle, looking for value for money, to consider staying here (and having Mrs Rauf cook for you). It was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose an air conditioned room with a sunset view (even though it is fractionally more expensive)- not only is the sunset great, but the bathroom is lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the annex as there were 4 of us. The room was easily big enough, with 4 single beds.
The room however had a samp problem and had mould on the walls and a musty smell, if you're allergic beware.
Otherwise, room was adequate. They don't allow alcohol in the public spaces either, although the view from the roof is awesome. I would however caution anyone with small kids not to go up there, there where no guard rails and a fair drop.
We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food however there is so much to eat nearby it didnt matter.
All in all, fair calue for money, but a little run down and the sraff werent exactly sparkly. They werent mean, just a bit meh.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RampartView, Owner at Rampart View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

It is most unfortunate that you did not raise these concerns during the course of your the stay so that we could have rectified these issues at the time.

The annex were you stayed is not actually part of Rampart View Guesthouse. It is in a neighbouring property which we allocate to guests when we are full. We have only recently taken on this room and are still in the processing of bringing it up to the same high standard as our other rooms in the main building.

We are grateful for the shortcomings you have raised and will endeavour to rectify them as quickly as possible.

In order to create a safe family environment for our guests and in accordance with our Islamic beliefs, we do not allow alcohol to be consumed in public areas. However, we always make it clear to guests that they are most welcome to consume alcohol in their own room.

We are most disappointed with your comments towards our hard-working staff. A brief look through our dozens of reviews will show that our staff are always on hand to assist guests in an efficient and friendly manner.

Sincerely,
Rampart View Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Galle Fort has emerged as a hot travel destination in recent years, and it's not hard to see why. Wandering its compact network of narrow lanes on foot, each rich in architectural heritage, is an enchanting experience. A night within the Fort itself is recommended, and Rampart View is enviably located by the ramparts near Flag Rock Bastion and within walking distance of the Fort's various attractions. Rampart View is certainly at the budget end of the spectrum of accommodation options in Galle Fort, but though simple and spartan, we found our room spacious, clean and comfortable, with an en-suite bathroom with shower, and providing a fine view of the ramparts and the Indian Ocean beyond. There was no TV, but the complimentary Wi-fi was strong enough for video streaming if visual entertainment was required. Nobody ever visited Galle to watch TV though. On our arrival we were given a brief tour of the property, which included some initially complicated sounding arrangements regarding the main door and its alarm, although none of this ultimately posed any practical difficulty for us. Owned by a Muslim family, a 'No Liquor Please' sign is prominently displayed on the first floor balcony. Nobody should be inconvenienced by this as there is an ample supply of places to eat, and drink if required, elsewhere in the Fort. Guests also have use of a rooftop garden area, a good vantage point for views of the ramparts and neighbouring streets. The traditional Sri Lankan breakfast, served on the balcony, although costing extra, was superb and filling, with hoppers, sambol, and curry. All in all, then, an inexpensive and well located guesthouse with much to recommend it as a base for exploring Galle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theroaringcataract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location, on the outer edge of the Galle fort with view on the ramparts and the sea (as its name suggests). Our room had sea view from the balcony and was a basic, clean and comfortable room. We didn't have breakfast or any other meal there, since Galle has many nice little restaurants and is easy to walk around, so can't comment on that.

Overall very good and affordable option given the outstanding location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews