We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mama's Galle Fort
Nearby Hotels
$230
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$198
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deco On 44(Galle)
$85
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amangalla(Galle)
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortaleza(Galle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lady Hill(Galle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
21
16
14
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
16
14
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurriesvegetarian currylonely planetcooking classgalle fortcalamarisri lankaguest housemamasquantitiesbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 62 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very clean and pleasant rooms, very friendly staff. Nice breakfast in the terrace, witch has a very nice view over Galle. We didn't have any meals in the place, so nothing to say regarding that.
Recomended, though a little overpriced (no TV, no Wifi).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I arrived with great expectations for Mama’s (based on their website and many reviews) for a five night stay. Some were well founded, but others were disappointing.
Mama’s is situated is in a peaceful area inside the old fort, with very little traffic noise in the narrow streets, but at 4.45am (and other times throughout the day) the nearby mosque loudly calls the faithful to prayer through the five loudspeakers on its roof.
Inside, we were greeted warmly by the manager, and all other staff were very pleasant. The only way up to the two rooms (first floor) and the restaurant (terrace) is via an extremely narrow and steep antique spiral staircase which could prove to be impossible for elderly or infirm guests. Our room was spacious and clean with a large comfortable bed, but the shower fluctuated dramatically in pressure and temperature. Our room was only serviced on our third day in residence.
The restaurant is on the terrace, but the photo on the website was possibly taken from the roof as the actual view of the ocean is much more restricted. Still, a very pleasant dining area with entertainment from the palm squirrels on the neighbouring roof. Breakfast was quite adequate with fruit, eggs and toast. The smallish dinner menu was very good on first acquaintance, but would become boring after two or three days.
We took the “cooking class” at US$25 each, and were treated to a demonstration of how to mix the base meat or vegetable with about 8 spices (and coconut milk) in remarkably similar quantities before cooking. At least we got a “free” lunch at the end.
A computer is available in the lobby for surfing, and I was loaned a G3 USB plug-in to access the net from my laptop. No TV or radio was available in the room or elsewhere.
Warning - do not ask Mama’s to do laundry for you, unless you really understand the currency. We filled in the laundry form, but didn’t properly compute the charges with the result that our four days of dirty clothes cost us about US$30. Comparison with other hotels showed that we had been overcharged by about 2½ times. The laundry had been done by the Sun House, an associated guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwijock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

After seeing the fabulous reviews I happened to drop in there for lunch during one of my visits to the fort. The service was terrible, may be because I was a Sri Lankan myself. We ordered a prawn dish but got chicken instead, and when we said that was not our order, we were then served a prawn curry 10 minutes later, and the prawns were almost raw. The okra curry served had sum-thing which looked like a geckos S... right on top in the dish. The food was tasteless.
it was a terrible experience and I will never site the place again. journo-ludo

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journoludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is situated in a quiet peaceful street inside the walls of galle.has a lovely roof top terrace with a.view to the sea.the night we ate there was very busy, which would seem good except for the layout of the place.waitstaff have to run up and down three floors to deliver food and as a result, service is slow and the food was not so good.the pasta ( mushroom and bacon)consisted of a small bowl of packet pasta with maybe two tiny spoons of chopped bacon and some tinned tomatoes.the fish of the day was ok but nothing special and overlooked.brushetta was chopped tomatoes and onions served on white squares of bread with an olive on top.mamas, maybe you should read an Italian cook book to make these basic recepies.one round of drinks was forgotten and people who had made reservations had to be turned away as there seem to be no one running the restaurant.with such a good location it was so let down by the standard of food and disorganisation.to the two wait staff who were trying to run around after thirty people as well as clear, do drinks, take orders and run up and down three flights of stairs well done.its a pity there was no one to back you up

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank propsgirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

In hindsight we should have left as soon as we arrived but didn't as we had already paid through agoda (who, I have since found out, do not publish bad reviews only good ones so be warned about relying on their reviews).

As soon as we checked in, I had a bad vibe about the place, I have never met more surly, unfriendly staff in my life. They only have two rooms, we checked into room number 2 which was quite pretty, however, after being out for 4hours, it was apparent that the AC that we had paid for was not working AT ALL. We switched to the other room where the AC was also pretty useless but made the temperature slightly more bearable. This room however, was part of the kitchen, with glass windows which looked down onto the cooking area, hence, you could hear and smell everything that was being cooked until midnight. The flimsy blinds provided for the windows did not block out the light so you also had the light from the kitchen streaming into your room until midnight.

The doors and windows in this old property do not close or lock properly and restaurant guests have to pass by your glass door to get to the restaurant leaving you feeling a little insecure and lacking in privacy.

I had to ask the management on a number of occasions to come and get the AC going again as it kept just packing up. In hindsight I should have just left but I would not have got back the money that I had already paid so we decided to stay.

As guests of the hotel, we wanted to sit on the roof in the evening with a bottle of wine, this was not allowed unless we ate dinner there and paid a corkage charge for the wine even though they did not sell wine and they were not full. We ended up drinking it in our room.

The people working here have never heard of guest relations and acted like it was a big inconvenience to have people staying. If that is the case then they should not rent out rooms.

Stay elsewhere, there are many guesthouses in the fort that are cheaper, where the owners at least treat you as a guest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews