We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable and beautifully renovated villa in...”
other travelers have booked this property
Livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Livingroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sonsolesd...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The worst human experience and accommodation in Sri Lanka (and expensive). The photos shown on booking make you mistakenly think of a clean, modern and luxurious home, nothing to do with reality. the house is large, colonial and very well located but without maintenance. our room dark, no view, small. the owner nothing careful, contemptuous treatment, his second question after a sad hello was that we paid in advance. It indicates that they accept payment by credit card, gave us a link to pay for internet, it did not work. we had to go get money (with the extra of the bank's commission to withdraw). We asked for a taxi for the next day to the airport and the rate was rather more expensive than the average we saw later in the city. if we had been able we would have left just arriving, bad vibrations from the beginning. In love with Sri Lanka except for this horrible memory.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Dear David,
We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at your one (1) day booking at Villa Aurora. But, this is the first negative review we heard about this villa with your comments. Because you can see we just have won an award from Trip Advisor (Certificate of Excellent 2017).
We have received this Award because the house manager is really good in hospitality and has good experience in the field. He is a very friendly and helpful guy who communicates courteously with the guests. Said all of our previous guests.
We have three different rooms with different rates based on the size of the room, views, and facilities. Master Bedroom with attached bathroom is the most expensive and the second room on the first floor has its own bathroom but NOT direct connected en-suit. The Third bedroom is on the Top floor and has an en-suite bathroom & direct access to the roof terrace. You have booked the cheapest & smallest room on the first floor with separate bathroom. Nalin has immediately offered you an upgrade “FOR FREE” where you could choose any of the rooms as we did not had another booking at the same time so Nalin wanted to make you happy with this offer of upgrade. You choose the same room as you booked and you did not want to have a free upgrade.
I have a feeling that the language barrier between you and Nalin, was more the reason to create an unpleasant stay at aurora Villa, as Nalin already mentioned to me that you did not speak very good English.
And regarding the payment system, the link automatically sends through the system. And clearly mentioned on booking.com we accept only Master cards and Visa cards. Actually, we never had complains regarding the online payment system before. Because, it is handling by a specialized company and is easy to work with payment system. It might be that because of the language barrier you might had also some problems with the online payment system or the Credit Card type as we accepted only Master cards and Visa cards.
The Villa is in our “point of view” a clean & good maintained villa with an excellent staff member called Nalin. But because we are not happy to have an unsatisfied guest, we will offer you again a free 1 day stay at our villa in the coming 6 months if we do not have already another booking on your requested date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B Z
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A comfortable and beautifully renovated villa in the heart of Galle Fort”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent two nights at Villa Aurora. It is well located in the heart of Galle Fort: 10 meters to the light house and just next to the former hospital (so the current place for our favorite crab restaurant, the tuna & the crab).

The house has been nicely renovated: the ground floor has been converted into a large living room and an open kitchen; rooms are located on the first floor; on the top a roof top. We stayed in the master room which has the view of the Indian Ocean.

The two days spent here were relaxing and comfortable. We did quite some walks in the early morning and late night in the fort, and if we did not stay in the fort, we would not be able to hang around so much in the fort.

We brought our own bottle of wine here and had a drink in the roof top for one of the nights .

Nalin was very helpful and happy to give us advice about our holiday here.

We did enjoy our holiday here. If we come back again to Galle, we would consider to stay at Villa Aurora again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Dear Gallien, Thank you for your positive comments on Villa Aurora, Galle Fort. We would like to welcome you again in our villa!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beauty and comfort in the Fort”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

After a very busy week in polluted Colombo, I stayed a refreshing weekend (6 & 7 November) in Villa Aurora. Lovely place, superbly decorated, with a friendly Nalin who prepared breakfast. No better place to reset yourself! Lodewijk Wagenaar - author of 'Cinnamon & Elephants' (2016), Rijksmuseum/Vantilt Publishers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Dear Lodewijk,
Thank you for your positive comments on Villa Aurora, Galle Fort.
We would like to welcome you again in our villa!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
"Dear Deb and Marty, thank you for your comments on Villa Aurora, Galle Fort.
It is a misunderstanding that Nalin paid for your breakfast and food himself: Just he bought the retails from the money you given and he submitted the bills against your petty cash. We would like to welcome you again in our villa".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sanne M
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Absolutely Delightful”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

When we arrived, Nalin the friendly Villa Manager, welcomed us with a delicious fresh fruit drink. He prepared a different one for us every day. The breakfast was good, with plenty of exotic fruit and a choice of eggs. At our request, he prepared some tasty Sri Lankan dishes which you have to order the day before.

The beautiful courtyard was full of tropical plants which Nalin takes great care of. The house is airy and spacious, and colourfully decorated in the style of the Fort. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean, with good bathrooms. The air conditioning in the evening helps you to cool down. The roof terrace is simply amazing with its views of Galle Bay and the Indian Ocean. A perfect setting for evening drinks and a wonderful place to relax during the day.

Villa Aurora is very close to many good restaurants in different price categories, and it was fun to try them all out. In the mornings and evenings we went swimming at the local beach at the foot of the lighthouse, just across the road.

Our two-year-old son loved playing on the beach and there was plenty of space across the road for him to play ball games. A couple of times, we went to the beautiful Lighthouse Hotel (designed by Geoffrey Bawa). It takes 10 minutes by tuktuk and you can spend the whole day at their big pool and spa on a large lawn for LKR 1000 (€6) per person per day.

We had a wonderful time and Nalin treated us like royalty. An unforgettable stay. We’ll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The trash on the beach
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
"Dear Sanne, Thank you for your comments on Villa Aurora, Galle Fort. We would like to welcome you again in our villa."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing