We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beauty and comfort in the Fort”
other travelers have booked this property
Livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Livingroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michaelmT...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty and comfort in the Fort”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

After a very busy week in polluted Colombo, I stayed a refreshing weekend (6 & 7 November) in Villa Aurora. Lovely place, superbly decorated, with a friendly Nalin who prepared breakfast. No better place to reset yourself! Lodewijk Wagenaar - author of 'Cinnamon & Elephants' (2016), Rijksmuseum/Vantilt Publishers.

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Dear Lodewijk,
Thank you for your positive comments on Villa Aurora, Galle Fort.
We would like to welcome you again in our villa!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2016
"Dear Deb and Marty, thank you for your comments on Villa Aurora, Galle Fort.
It is a misunderstanding that Nalin paid for your breakfast and food himself: Just he bought the retails from the money you given and he submitted the bills against your petty cash. We would like to welcome you again in our villa".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sanne M
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Absolutely Delightful”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

When we arrived, Nalin the friendly Villa Manager, welcomed us with a delicious fresh fruit drink. He prepared a different one for us every day. The breakfast was good, with plenty of exotic fruit and a choice of eggs. At our request, he prepared some tasty Sri Lankan dishes which you have to order the day before.

The beautiful courtyard was full of tropical plants which Nalin takes great care of. The house is airy and spacious, and colourfully decorated in the style of the Fort. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean, with good bathrooms. The air conditioning in the evening helps you to cool down. The roof terrace is simply amazing with its views of Galle Bay and the Indian Ocean. A perfect setting for evening drinks and a wonderful place to relax during the day.

Villa Aurora is very close to many good restaurants in different price categories, and it was fun to try them all out. In the mornings and evenings we went swimming at the local beach at the foot of the lighthouse, just across the road.

Our two-year-old son loved playing on the beach and there was plenty of space across the road for him to play ball games. A couple of times, we went to the beautiful Lighthouse Hotel (designed by Geoffrey Bawa). It takes 10 minutes by tuktuk and you can spend the whole day at their big pool and spa on a large lawn for LKR 1000 (€6) per person per day.

We had a wonderful time and Nalin treated us like royalty. An unforgettable stay. We’ll be back!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The trash on the beach
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
"Dear Sanne, Thank you for your comments on Villa Aurora, Galle Fort. We would like to welcome you again in our villa."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing