We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

The Villa kept us from an early departure to Thailand having been very disappointed with previous guest houses and Sri Lanka generally.It really is very good and has set the standard for others to follow.....if they can.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    32
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
297
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
228 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

On the 6th October 2010 our booking was confirmed for 2 nights the 22nd and 23rd February 2011 and paid in full by the 13th Oct. with acknowledgement from Karen.

We arrived at 2pm 22nd Feb. and were met by Karen who said she had no room for us. She told us they’d had plumbing problems and she had confused the bookings and over booked so she had booked us into another hotel. She also said most hotels were more expensive and that she had arranged an evening meal at her expense. (different to a report Aug 2010 )
My husband asked if the hotel was in a quiet position to which she replied all hotels are near the railway.
This was watched by a number of staff and two Europeans walked past laughing. We had not even reached the entrance of the establishment. We found the apology totally lacking in sincerity.

However the hotel was acceptable and we did not wish to waste time looking elsewhere but we did not feel welcome. The hotel also had trains thundering past which were very noisy when outside.

After our meal on the 2nd evening the manager introduced another Sri Lankan who sat at our table and made further apologies for the mix up at Shangri Lanka saying they had plumbing and computer problems. We had not heard about the computer problem before. Nor was it mentioned on emails.

On arrival home we had three emails 17th Feb 20th 24th the first two saying much the same as we have written. The third offers to refund our money if we think it appropriate.

I cannot understand how this mistake was made, surely Karen has a hard backup for her bookings. Furthermore telling us with an audience looking on was unacceptable. This whole experience soured what was otherwise an excellent holiday

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank screennamechalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
I understand how you feel and I am very sorry for the mix up that was entirely my fault and the reason I offered to refund your money as well as booking you in another hotel and paying for dinner.
I may not have appeared sincere to you because I was extremely embarrassed at my mistake that affected you and another guest who I managed to warn in time.

There was no computer problem only I had received no confirmation from you or contact at all since the 13th October . I emailed you when I realized there was a problem but realized by that time you may be travelling and not checking your emails.

It was unfortunate that some guests came to find me while I was speaking to you but they were not there when I was explaining to you and they were only laughing between themselves not at us as they were totally unaware of what was happening.

All the hotels in Bentota are on the internet and so you can see for yourself their prices are higher than ours. Almost all the hotels are close to the railway line as it runs along the whole beach. There were not many options open to me I just tried to do the best I could in the circumstances

We would welcome you here again and try to make amends but understand you may not feel this is appropriate

Karen Banister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray Leics
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Everything written by everone else tells you how good this place is.Wonderful rooms (ours was on the ground floor) and a lovely informal atmosphere ment we had a superb time during our 8 day stay.Karen, Rohan and the staff take great care of you.The grounds and pool are superb, We ate in half the time we were there and the food was very good and not prone to having to much salt in it, as is the case with a lot of Sri Lankan cooking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is the 2nd consecutive year that we have spent 3 weeks at the Villa – next year will be our 3rd ! Karen, Rohan and the house boys and girl go the extra mile to ensure that you want for nothing. We really enjoyed the company of the guests and made some very good friends. Having eaten in most of the restaurants that Bentota has to offer – you will not eat better than the home cooking at the Villa – you have the option of a meal in the privacy of your balcony or as we did – liaised with the other guests as to the menu for the evening . We walked for miles along the coast line – taking in the beautiful scenery and wildlife, getting to know the local people in the villages and most of all had a fantastic totally stress free relaxing holiday – what more could you wish for!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReahManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Such customer service - we sent lots of emails!! - in organising a really fantastic 7 day tour before villa stay. We saw all the great Island highlights accompanied by a really experienced and careful driver/guide, Hamar - train ride from Kandy to Haputale is a real must. Arrived at Villa to relaxation, friendship, service and beautiful accomodation/surroundings so well organised by such lovely owners

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnePhilipMachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2011

we stayed with Karen and Rohan at their wonderful villa for 4 days this month, the accommodation was fantastic and the food wonderful. Their hospitality is amazing, nothing is too much trouble and the cleanliness of the whole villa first class. Welll done to them both for providing such a fabulous service, I defy anyone to find a better guest/house villa in Sri Lanka, no wonder that guests re-book year after year, Stokesy

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The room was tastefully designed --really very lovely, with a great terrace looking down to the spotless pool-- and had a fascinating view over a mangrove wetland, with jurassic birds and bats. We were not in love with Bentota, and felt some hassle from Tuk Tuk drivers, and so were very happy the hotel has its own Tuk Tuk, and that it is quite a secluded refuge. We would only say that some work needs to be done on the menu and variety of food offered, which at times lacked imagination and freshness.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilanka, Owner at Shangri-Lanka Villa, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback.

We are glad you were satisfied with your accommodation, view and the lovely pool.

With regards to our food I must apologise for not communicating with you properly.
Your stay here was very short and as you ordered light meals from our room service menu we were unable to show what we can offer.

Our dinner menu is discussed daily as we are so small we can cater to individual needs. For this reason all our food is prepared and bought daily.

The mango you thought was old was actually perfectly ripe and although they do get black spots on the skin this usually mean the taste is the best. Under ripe mangoes look nice but the taste is not good. We were extremely sorry we didn't satisfy you with this and so didn't charge you for them.

I have taken on board the suggestion for a more structured menu for dinner and have put one in the rooms to give at least an idea of the food we can prepare. Of course this does not mean any future guests have to stick it they can ask for anything and if we can do it they can have it.

We are not a hotel but welcome guests into our home for a different experience altogether.

We have tried to communicate this through our website but are aware some people will choose us because of our rating without checking what we offer.

Thank you for staying with us and if you return we will try our best to satisfy you

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
2.2 mi away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Property: Shangri-Lanka Villa
Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing