We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, friendly hosts and a great swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Ranked #1 of 63 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is a fantastic guest house, with large airy rooms, a great shower and the swimming pool is absolutely lovely and a very nice temperature. The lovely sandy beach is a walkable distance away.

Both breakfast and lunch were of the best quality that we had during our trip to Sri Lanka.

Karen is a very friendly host, she was quick to reply to emails before we arrived, arranged a hassle free collection from the airport when we arrived late at night and also helped us with money changing and transport to our onward destination.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 493 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

An excellent place to spend a break on the south west coast of Sri Lanka.

The accommodation is great value and the rooms are immaculate. The balconies/terrace for each room are big, as are the rooms and the bathroom. 3 rooms share the pool/gardens so it is all very tranquil.

Shangri Lanka offer lunch and evening meals at a good price and the drinks available are very reasonable. I had a constant supply of Lion beer! Choose to have breakfast, lunch, dinner or afternoon tea on your balcony. For a change other restaurants in Bentota are a short tuk-tuk journey away (about £1) each way. They also offer massage/spa treatments.

The staff are very attentative without being intrusive.

Plenty of wildlife around. Water monitors, monkeys, birds. The Bentota turtle sanctuary is a 5 minute tuk-tuk journey where you can release turtles into the indian ocean in the evening.

They also offer tours which you can personally create - we organised a 4 night trip before we arrived there.

I can't fault the place. Apologies as I'm sure I've forgotten other good things about the place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23Becks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Spent a great week staying here. The rooms are lovely and we recieved a warm welcome. The owners were very friendly and we enjoyed staying here. Food in particular deserves a mention and we recommend trying the Lion lager.

We also stayed up the road at the Saman Villas which was also nice, but for the price and service this place is the winner.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adven2ure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We chose this location for our holiday and wedding. It excelled all our expectations and we had a truly wonderful time.
The accommodation is first class and unique. As we returned to the villa three times during our five week stay in Sri Lanka, we were fortunate to experience a stay in all three rooms. Each provided the same high quality accommodation with individual merits - from above the tree tops watching tropical birds fly by to sitting by the pool surrounded by tropical plants.
The staff were discreet yet 100% attentive to our every need. Nothing was too much trouble and their friendliness created a family atmosphere. Traditional home made food provided by them was delicious with complimentary tea and coffee on tap!
Karen and Rohan were the perfect hosts, approachable, flexible and most helpful. They organised everything for us, tailoring our stay to our specific needs. This included a delightful 6 day tour of the island with Hame as our driver and attentive guide.
The main purpose of our visit was our wedding. We left all the arrangements in the capable hands of our hosts giving us the luxury of a totally stress free, magical wedding day. Who could ask for more?
Sincere thanks to all for our wonderful wedding and holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrytose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We booked our trip in December 2009 and over the last 8 months I have exchanged many e-mails with Karen whilst we have been organising our stay and tour with Rohan whilst we were in Sri Lanka. All of my questions were always promptly and politely answered and Karen even organised a driver to pick us up at the airport so when we arrived in Sri Lanka we were not disappointed. Our flight was 1.5 hours delayed/late but Hamer was there to meet us and chauffeured us to Shangri-Lanka Villa. From the moment that we arrived there we were made feel at home and that nothing was too much trouble.
Our room, which we had booked in advance, was the top floor which is in my opinion is the room to have. We have travelled to many places and stayed in lots of very plush hotels and this is right up there with the best!! You will struggle to find anywhere that has such a large bedroom/living area (air conditioned + a large fan), huge en-suite bathroom, large dressing area, mini bar, tv & dvd player in the room along with a laptop with free internet access whilst being such high quality for a very reasonable price.
We ate out at a few local restaurants but to be fair Rohan's cooking was as good as any of the local competitors and very fairly priced. Breakfast was available whenever you woke up or indeed got up which helped you relax even more as there was not the concern or worry about setting the alarm to make sure you did not miss out.
We booked a tour in advance of our stay and we spent 5 days with Rohan being shown the delights of Sri Lanka which were truly amazing. Rohan is a true gentleman and even though we were well away from the villa nothing was too much trouble - thank you Rohan!
Whilst we had our stay it was my wife's birthday, after speaking with Karen & Rohan they organised fireworks, a spit roast suckling pig and even a birthday cake iced with my wife's name on it!! A very nice night!!
Some previous reviews have moaned about being charged for water and I now see that water will be complimentary going forward which is a bonus but to be fair I agree with "the travellingbioteacher" in the respect that tea and coffee were free along with dvd's, books, internet access, etc so we had no quibbles. At the end of the day, if you are going to moan about being charged the equivalent of £0.60 pence for a litre of water then you need to pinch yourself for a reality check and if 60 pence is too much then maybe you should go to Butlins or Alton Towers next year where you can pay £1 for a can of coke!!
We spent a few nights relaxing in our room watching dvd's and I found it very relaxing opening the mini bar, getting a cold beer and chilling out knowing that it was only going to cost me roughly 60 pence - some people have got their priorities wrong :-) This was all about relaxing.
Shangri-Lanka villa is an absolute paradise and with there only being a few apartments/rooms you really get that personal touch from Karen & Rohan and all their amazing staff. Also, you know that there is never any need to get up early to ensure that you get a sun lounger :-)
Overall, we had a wonderful time and would absolutely recommend Karen & Rohan’s villa to any one going to Sri Lanka – thank you for an amazing experience!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Shangri-Lanka Villa was everything we had hoped it would be! Beautiful big, airy room with very large lovely bathroom and good pool set in tropical gardens with monkeys swinging from the trees. Karen and Rohan were superb, friendly hosts with great staff and three lovely dogs. Plenty of things to do in the area, walk along the beach or through the friendly, tranquil villages, visit the Jeffrey Bawa Estate. Some good restaurants in the area and seafood to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandv888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed at Shangri-Lanka for 5 nights at the end of August after a 10 day tour of the country. We booked in April and organised to be picked up by Rohan (one of the owners) in Unawatuna and transported to the hotel. The e-mail correspondance was always quick and they were very helpful in giving us advice about our trip. We were allocated the bottom floor room which was simply amazing. Huge bed, impeccably clean room, very stylish aftwork on the walls, and enormous boutique bathroom. It was simply the best accomodation we have probably ever stayed in. Ignore the 'Morama' review about the hotel owners putting their 'friends' up in the best room. When we arrived we met some of the other guests, one family was a relation of Karen (the owner) and in no way whatsoever were they treated any better than we were. In fact they happily bought cakes for us to have with them with tea and coffee in the afternoon. That evening all the guests were seated to eat together so in no way was the relationship between Karen and her family expressed as more important than the relationship between Karen and Rohan and their guests.
At no point during the stay did we have to pay for tea or coffee. This is briiliant. Although I have read the earlier review complaining about water not being complimentary the tea and coffee is. And surely this is better. We bought several large water bottles in the local supermarket and stored them in the fridge in our room so buying water was actually much cheaper than if we'd had to pay for all the tea and coffee that we drank!
For most of our stay we relaxed by the pool soaking up the sun after the exhausting tour we had done. However on our last day the monsoon rains came and we were confined to our room. We were provided with a laptop to watch DVDs and surf the net (all for free) we were able to select books from a big selection to read (all for free).
We ate at the hotel for most of the stay. The meals were excellent. The best meals being the curry and the enormous prawns. Rohan was happy to explain how dishes were made so we could attempt to make them at home! If there is one improvement they could possibly make is to give a more thorough list of meal options for the evening meal. For a small establishment a large menu obviously means that all the guests may each choose something different which may make the cooking taks more difficult, however if it is stipulated to guests that all evening meals are pre-booked by lunchtime this should make it easy for them to cook what the guests would like. This is not a criticism however, as when we asked Rohan what we could have for evening meal he replied with 'I can make whatever you would like'! I simply think having a more detailed list of options could give the guests an idea of what they can ask for! On one night we were offered a meal of suckling pig, we were not told (and mistakenly did not ask) the price of the meal before we got our total bill on the day we left the hotel. When we were settling the bill we questioned the amount charged for the suckling pig as it was so much higher than all the other meals (even the seafood meals) we had eaten. Karen said it was the correct price and apologised for not telling us prior to agreeing to having suckling pig. After settling the final bill we only had a few rupees spare (as we had not anticipated the high price for the suckling pig) to pay for the meals at lunch and dinner that day (our flight was not until late evening). We offered to pay for the food that day in GBP(£) but Karen said that as we had not been told the price of the suckling pig meal and that obviously we were unhappy at the cost she would be happy for us to have food for the rest of the day on the house. That included water, omlettes and chips and salad for lunch, and chicken and prawn and veg curry with sambal and popadoms and chutneys as the evening meal. We were even offered cocktails and beer. ALL complimentary. Nowhere else have I experienced this hospitality and treatment of guests before. You can really see that they didn't want us to be unhappy with anything in our stay.
I want to say a huge thank you to Karen and Rohan for making our stay in Sri Lanka so memorable. In the future we really will be comparing all our other hotels to Shangri-Lanka, they'd have to be something really very special to beat it. This place cannot be beaten for price, service, hospitality, location. There are so many places in the world we still want to travel to but if we do return to Sri Lanka we will definitely stay at Shangri-Lanka again. If they have rooms available I advise you to snap them up. It simply is the best place to stay in Bentota. It is a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbioteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
0.9 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
881 reviews
7.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-Lanka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-Lanka Villa

Address: 23 De Alwis Road | Horanduwa, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: $72 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique guesthouse situated in the heart of a traditional Sri Lankan village. Surrounded by nature yet only minutes from the magnificent Bentota beach. We offer a holiday experience with a difference. No hotel receptions, standard packages, crowds, time restrictions. Just great hospitality and a genuinely personal service, with all the facilities you need. Experience the culture of authentic Sri Lankan village life where ancient customs and traditions blend with modern amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-Lanka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-Lanka Villa Boutique Guest House Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing